SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    My <strong> tags causing a line break?

    Code:
    <strong>MATERIALS:</strong>&nbsp; Outer 100% wool, Lined with black rayon<br />
    <strong>SIZE:</strong> 12<br />
    The above code is being rendered like this

    MATERIALS:
    Outer 100% wool, Lined with black rayon
    SIZE:
    12

    When I want it like this

    MATERIALS: Outer 100% wool, Lined with black rayon
    SIZE: 12

    Heres the html from viewing the source of the page,

    HTML Code:
    <strong>MATERIALS:</strong>
    &nbsp; Outer 100% wool, Lined with black rayon
    <br>
    <strong>SIZE:</strong>
    12
    <br>
    This is using a zencart template from template monster and the CKeditor text editor.
    I have the same issue on another zencart site also. I cant see any css that would cause it.
    the site is offline now so I cant show it to you but any help really appreciated.

  2. #2
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6,056
    Mentioned
    219 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Hi,
    If you can alter the CSS, add this:
    Code CSS:
    strong{display: inline;}
    and see if that makes a difference.

  3. #3
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,321
    Mentioned
    462 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Yes, Pullo's suggestion is worth trying. The HTML you posted should appear the way you want, so it seems there's a style in your CMS like

    Code:
    strong {display: block;}
    To override it, you may need

    Code:
    strong {display: inline !important}
    ... though it may mess up other parts of your site.

    It's a pretty rotten thing to do to you, though, to set <strong> to display: block.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I will be trying this today.
    Template monster do a lot of bad things, a lot of templates have the bullet points from ul missing for example, adding them in puts bullet points all over the site in the strangest places..
    Takes a bit to get it sorted.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Awesome thanks people, you pinpointed the issue. There was this in there

    .description strong{ color:#000; display:block;}

    Not sure why they would do that....

  6. #6
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6,056
    Mentioned
    219 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Glad to hear you got it sorted out.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast polyhedra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A basic cascading style sheet will make it look like this, used the unorded list which actually is the trick.

    Code:
    <html>
    <head>
    <style>
    p {
    display: inline;
    }
    
    ul{
    list-style: none;
    margin: 0;
    padding: 0;
    }
    
    li{
    margin: 0;
    padding: 0;
    }
    
    </style>
    <head>
    <body>
    <ul>
    <li><strong>MATERIALS:</strong><p>Outer 100% wool, Lined with black rayon</p></li>
    <li><strong>SIZE:</strong><p>12</p></li>
    </ul>
    </body>
    </html>
    Last edited by TechnoBear; Sep 13, 2012 at 03:09. Reason: Fixed code tags


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •