SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Localhost not working?

I am a complete newbie to PHP but not new to programming.

I set up PHPTriad yesterday, and ran it, and started writing PHP scripts and looking at them via http://localhost/documentname.php on my local machine
    (Windows XP).

Everything was fine.

Then, a few hours later, suddenly very weird things began to happen. Mainly, I couln't access any new or revised php pages in my local browser anymore. For example, when I try to access
    http://localhost/sun.php I get an error saying that the page cannot be viewed offline.

What was even more weird was that, after deleting a page named first.php, I could still access it at a location where it no longer existed. It's almost as if it's frozen in some sort of cache or something.

I checked the processes running in the Task Manager, and I see a few instances of Apache, and a few of mysqld-nt.exe. I tried restarting my machine and the same thing happens. Also, I cannot access any of the links on the control panel for PHPTriad...I get the same message--> "This page cannot be viewed offline".

It seems that there would be a simple answer to all of this...what's going on?

Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sounds like a browser configuration issue. Have you tried changing your connection settings or tried another browser?

Aaron
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When I try http://localhost in Netscape, it won't even let me enter anything while I am "offline". When I am online, it looks for this address on the web, to no avail , of course.