SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,107
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post How do i make my code works in other browser

    Hi, Can i ask to you all sitepoint people or to all masters here,when you are making your design or layout for your website what will you do in order your codes works in any browser, do you all guys install all the browser
    in your p.c like the firefox,opera ,I.E,safari,etc.. and open the pages in every browser that you have design to see to it's working?is this how you test your codes in any browser?....if not, please let me know because i am still beginner in making design and layout and i want to know how you test your codes that works in every browser.I hope you can share me your idea.Thank you in advance and more power to you always.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jemz View Post
    Hi, Can i ask to you all sitepoint people or to all masters here,when you are making your design or layout for your website what will you do in order your codes works in any browser, do you all guys install all the browser
    in your p.c like the firefox,opera ,I.E,safari,etc.. and open the pages in every browser that you have design to see to it's working?is this how you test your codes in any browser?....if not, please let me know because i am still beginner in making design and layout and i want to know how you test your codes that works in every browser.I hope you can share me your idea.Thank you in advance and more power to you always.
    You only need to set rules to others browsers if you are using CSS3, because each browser have a different rendering processes.
    So if u need CSS3 you need use that :

    -webkit-rule:value; --> Safari and Chrome
    -moz-rule:value; --> Mozilla Firefox
    -o--rule:value; --> Opera

    For olders IE versions you need use :
    <!--[If IE 6]>
    <link href="css/*.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
    <!--[endif]-->

    <!--[If IE 7]>
    <link href="css/*.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
    <!--[endif]-->

    <!--[If IE 8]>
    <link href="css/*.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
    <!--[endif]-->

    This is all I know, if you have more questions leave here
    Good Lucky.

  3. #3
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,200
    Mentioned
    456 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    I tend to install as many browsers as I can and test the real thing. That's the most reliable method. There are lots of ways to test, though. Here are some tips:

    http://pageaffairs.com/web/design/browser-testing/

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,107
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @Ralph @Thavo, Thank you for the reply...about those if statement how to put that in header section?..@Ralph what if the codes works in firefox and does not work in internet explorer 6-8,how can we trace this?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,107
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    I tend to install as many browsers as I can and test the real thing. That's the most reliable method. There are lots of ways to test, though. Here are some tips:

    http://pageaffairs.com/web/design/browser-testing/
    Thank you for this link,i will read this.and i will write back if there are things that i could not understand.

  6. #6
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,200
    Mentioned
    456 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jemz View Post
    about those if statement how to put that in header section?
    Just as you see them in Thavo's post.

    what if the codes works in firefox and does not work in internet explorer 6-8,how can we trace this?
    The best way is to check them in those browsers—whether you use the actual browser or some kind of testing tool as listed in my link above.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,107
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    Just as you see them in Thavo's post.



    The best way is to check them in those browsers—whether you use the actual browser or some kind of testing tool as listed in my link above.
    Hi Ralph i tried now to test my code in I.E8 and i see there is a difference in firefox,firefox looks okay while the I.E8 does not,the border bottom has no color in I.E8 while the firefox has.

    but this is only i know how to put color in my border.and i don't know how to put border color in I.E8,how can i work this in I.E?
    Code:
    #top #active a {
        background-position: 0 0;
        border-bottom:solid 1px #DCDEE2;
    	
    }
    
    This is what i put in my HTML,i put if statement but nothing happened.
    
    
    Code:
     <!DOCTYPE html> 
       <meta charset = "UTF-8" />
    
      <head><title>First Page</title>
           
    	   
    <!--[If IE 8]>
    <link href="css/tabs.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
    <![endif]-->
    	   
    	   
         <link href="tabs.css" rel="stylesheet" style="text/css"/>
          <style type="text/css">

  8. #8
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,200
    Mentioned
    456 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    You don't need conditional comments for basic things like colors. If you do your CSS right, all browsers will understand your style sheet. Conditional comments are only for where IE is being a pain because it's buggy.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,107
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    You don't need conditional comments for basic things like colors. If you do your CSS right, all browsers will understand your style sheet. Conditional comments are only for where IE is being a pain because it's buggy.
    Thank you ralph.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •