SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Exclamation Problem Installing Php!!

I am a beginner and I am reading your book and walking step by step with it but i got stuck where there is how to install the php binary.

Can anyone of the team explain to me in a more simplified way than there is in www.umesd.k12.or.us/php/win32install.html??

Pls help
    Always keeping cool in what i say

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    firepages has a program that will install Apache/MySQL/PHP without any configuration (alomst)

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I have that prog

I have that prog but can u pls tell me what to do with that??
    Always keeping cool in what i say

SitePoint Wizard dragonfly_7456's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had the same exact problem, and I fixed it through fire pages... I know what you're going through!

Ok, in your http.conf file in the apache folder scroll down to I think line 236 or search for ServerAdmin

change that to your email address

Next, ServerName on line 254 , that should be the url of your site (note- without http://) for example mine is www.crimsonangel.dynu.com

Just incase you DID change your document root, change DocumentRoot on line 262

Next, somewhere around the 300's look for this:

Order allow,deny
    Allow from all
    </Directory>

<Directory "C:/phpdev/www">
    Order allow,deny
    Allow from all
    </Directory>

make sure that "Allow from' is set to "all" . This is a very overlooked part, and unless you are just going to use apache for personal testing, change it to all. Otherwise, leave "allow from YOUR_IP_ADDRESS"

Around line 350 you should see this:

<IfModule mod_dir.c>
    DirectoryIndex index.php index.html
    </IfModule>