SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru GamerZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    617
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    phpinfo() : Server API : CGI And Server API : Apache

    Can i know what is the difference between the both? Which one runs faster Apache or CGI?

  2. #2
    No. Phil.Roberts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    1,142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The Apache module is integrated with Apache, whereas the CGI API is a seperate executable. The module version is a lot faster as it runs as part of the server process rather than spawning a new process for each request.
    THE INSTRUCTIONS BELOW ARE OLD AND MAY BE INACCURATE.
    THIS INSTALL METHOD IS NOT RECOMMENDED, IT MAY RUN
    OVER YOUR DOG. <-- MediaWiki installation guide

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru GamerZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    617
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Phil, that is bad

    i got 2 hosts

    1 with php 4.0.6 with Apache API
    1 with php 4.2.3 with CGI API

    LOL

  4. #4
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's terrible, the really old one is setup the best way!

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  5. #5
    FreeBSD The Power to Serve silver trophy pippo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    4,514
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm curios which is the version of Apache...?



    pippo
    Mr Andrea
    Former Hosting Team Advisor
    Former Advisor of '03

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru GamerZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    617
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by pippo
    I'm curios which is the version of Apache...?



    pippo
    Sure, np man, think i need to ask my host to upgrade their php version, 4.0.6 is like way to low man.

    4.0.6 Sever
    ---------------
    Apache Version is 1.3.22
    MYSQL Version is 3.23.41


    4.2.3 Server
    ------------
    Apache Version is 2.0.40
    MYSQL Version is 3.23.51

  7. #7
    ********* wombat firepages's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Perth Australia
    Posts
    1,717
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    "Apache Version is 2.0.40 "

    then (and I guess this is what pippo was fishing for ?)

    the apache2 PHP server module is still experimental and bent/broken in several places, I just tried the latest RC3 with apache 2.0.43 and it crashes less but its still not stable.

  8. #8
    FreeBSD The Power to Serve silver trophy pippo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    4,514
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I totally agree with what firepages said.

    GamerZ,
    your hosting administrator is a bit lazy...Apache 1.3.22 is archeologic too!

    In the past even if I paid a lot at a month,
    I had a lazy hosting me too...

    The NetBSD project used Apache 2 for some months,
    but then they switched back again:
    http://uptime.netcraft.com/up/graph/...www.netbsd.org

    I read about a recent hole in mysql server too,
    (so they did 3.23.53 to repeair that).



    pippo
    Mr Andrea
    Former Hosting Team Advisor
    Former Advisor of '03

  9. #9
    SitePoint Guru GamerZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    617
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yap, my web host is a bit lz, time to bug them. Hehe

    Thanks for the advice guys.

  10. #10
    No. Phil.Roberts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    1,142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your host are more than likely running an "out of the box" server such as a Cobalt RaQ. People who run THOSE junk servers almost NEVER upgrade, simply because the software has usually been customised by Cobalt. And Cobalt produce upgrades at a glacial pace. I dont think they've actually produced a PHP version for their servers higher than 4.0.6 yet.

    Plus folk usually run RaQ's because they're a: cheap, and b: can be administered by people with zilch unix knowledge.
    THE INSTRUCTIONS BELOW ARE OLD AND MAY BE INACCURATE.
    THIS INSTALL METHOD IS NOT RECOMMENDED, IT MAY RUN
    OVER YOUR DOG. <-- MediaWiki installation guide

  11. #11
    SitePoint Guru GamerZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    617
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Phil.Roberts
    Your host are more than likely running an "out of the box" server such as a Cobalt RaQ. People who run THOSE junk servers almost NEVER upgrade, simply because the software has usually been customised by Cobalt. And Cobalt produce upgrades at a glacial pace. I dont think they've actually produced a PHP version for their servers higher than 4.0.6 yet.

    Plus folk usually run RaQ's because they're a: cheap, and b: can be administered by people with zilch unix knowledge.
    I see, but my host I don't think is running Cobalt, maybe unix. Hehe

  12. #12
    No. Phil.Roberts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    1,142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cobalt isnt an operating system, its a company that manufactures web servers.
    THE INSTRUCTIONS BELOW ARE OLD AND MAY BE INACCURATE.
    THIS INSTALL METHOD IS NOT RECOMMENDED, IT MAY RUN
    OVER YOUR DOG. <-- MediaWiki installation guide

  13. #13
    SitePoint Guru GamerZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    617
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Phil.Roberts
    Cobalt isnt an operating system, its a company that manufactures web servers.
    ops sorry abt tt, don't really know theses server stuffs, anyway to check besides contacting them?

  14. #14
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What operating system does your phpinfo() say? Should be the first thing listed.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  15. #15
    SitePoint Guru GamerZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    617
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by W. Luke
    What operating system does your phpinfo() say? Should be the first thing listed.
    Oh ya, saw it thanks, both are linux


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •