SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Community Advisor silver trophybronze trophy
    dresden_phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,802
    Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Include HTML OUTPUT of another page into a PHP variable?

    How can I set the value of a PHP variable to be the HTML OUTPUT of another page into a PHP variable?

    For example I can get TWEETS directly as a JSON object from Twitter by going to a user's URL. But rater than use AJAX, I would like to just include the data directly into my page as it's being built by my PHP script. This would be a piece of cake if I could get the output of said URL directly into a PHP variable,in other words:

    $JSONobj= whatever URL returns;
    $tweets= (json_decode($JSONobj);

    ...I there a way to do this or something like it directly in PHP?

    All help greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    From Italy with love silver trophybronze trophy
    guido2004's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    9,500
    Mentioned
    163 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Maybe with curl?

  3. #3
    Community Advisor silver trophybronze trophy
    dresden_phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,802
    Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Is there any other method? I am not transferring a file, or replacing HTML.. am merely getting a stringified object

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy Cups's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    France, deep rural.
    Posts
    6,869
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Is the targeted "other page" actually a file on the same server then?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict kduv's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Maui, HI
    Posts
    211
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PHP Code:
    $json file_get_contents('http://www.site.com/path/to/json/feed'); 
    Don't forget to add http(s):// so that file_get_contents knows you're pulling a webpage's source.

  6. #6
    Community Advisor silver trophybronze trophy
    dresden_phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,802
    Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    That's the function i was trying to remember!!! Thanks Kduv.

    cURL .. also worked,as guido suggested, but ,for this, it seemed like overkill.

  7. #7
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,136
    Mentioned
    152 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dresden_phoenix View Post
    That's the function i was trying to remember!!! Thanks Kduv.

    cURL .. also worked,as guido suggested, but ,for this, it seemed like overkill.
    Maybe, but cURL always works, and file_get_contents can be locked down to not get external content on some web servers. So it is always good to recommend either

  8. #8
    ♪♪ ♪ ♪ ♪ ♪♪ ♪ ♪♪ Markdidj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Bournemouth, South UK
    Posts
    1,551
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I found simplexml_load_file the other day after a search. It's also another way. Use libxml_use_internal_errors() to supress the errror (although worth looking at. Saves going to w3c validator!)
    If you're used to a bit of XML it's quite useful.

    http://www.php.net/manual/en/functio...-load-file.php
    LiveScript: Putting the "Live" Back into JavaScript
    if live output_as_javascript else output_as_html end if


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •