SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    198
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Header height broken in IE8, IE7

    Hi,

    I'm using HTML 5 and the Google HTML5 shiv for this:

    http://carecolumbus.com/home-care/overview

    Code:
        <!-- [if lt IE 9]>
            <script src="http://html5shiv.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/html5.js"></script>
        <![endif] -->
    But my header height is not correct. Do I need to put a real #header div inside <header>?

    Thx,

    Ben
    :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
    Versa Studio
    ExpressionEngine experts
    bas (at) versa studio dot com

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    It looks like your conditional comment is not kicking in. Try it without the gaps:

    Code:
    <!--[if lt IE 9]>
      <script src="http://html5shiv.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/html5.js"></script>
    <![endif]-->

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    198
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks. That worked - but any idea why jQuery cycle slides are not working in IE7?

    Thx.
    :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
    Versa Studio
    ExpressionEngine experts
    bas (at) versa studio dot com

  4. #4
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    I don't see any on the page you linked to. On the home page, there is a slider that's not working properly, though, in any browser, as far as I can see. It's set to height: 15px for some reason.

  5. #5
    Ripe Tomatos silver trophybronze trophy Rayzur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    4,174
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by 4midori View Post
    ... any idea why jQuery cycle slides are not working in IE7?
    Hi,

    If I remember correctly IE7 has problems with the script if there is a comma after the last rule.
    Remove the comma below (in red) and see if that resolves the problem.

    Code:
            <script> 
                $(document).ready(function() {
                    //slideshow
                    $('#slides').cycle({ 
                        fx:    'scrollHorz', 
                        speed:  750,
                        timeout: 5000,
                    });    
            });    
            </script>

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    198
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That was it, thank you! You guys are incredibly helpful, can I buy you a coffee or something?

    Ben
    :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
    Versa Studio
    ExpressionEngine experts
    bas (at) versa studio dot com


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •