SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    740
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Gaps between Posts too large

    On my home page, the gap between posts is larger when viewed with IE9 than with Firefox (see diagram below). Any idea why?

    http://www.ibusinessbuzz.co.uk/

    IE9:

    IE9 screen.jpg

    Firefox:

    firefox screen.jpg

    Thanks,

    Jon

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    740
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just to be clear, this shows the excessive gap I am talking about:

    IE9 screen.jpg

  3. #3
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,177
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    The site looks the same in Chrome, Firefox, IE9 and IE8 to me.

    IE7 seems to have a gap. Perhaps it's caused by the empty clearing div between each entry. Try removing those and see if that stops the gap.

    As an <aside>, it's strange that you've got your main content inside an <aside> element. How did this come about? I know HTML5 is confusing, but I didn't expect to see that.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    740
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am using the Catalyst framework and the posts are inside an Excerpt Widget.

    Are you saying you don't see the gap like I do in the pic on the second post I made?

  5. #5
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,177
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    I'm saying I checked your site in IE9 and IE8, and the gap represented in your images wasn't there. Have you refreshed your browser/cleared your cache? Perhaps you're seeing an old version of the site. Anyhow, the gap isn't there in real life ... except in IE7, but that's irrelevant now, I'd say.

  6. #6
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,355
    Mentioned
    179 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Lawrance View Post

    Are you saying you don't see the gap like I do in the pic on the second post I made?
    That image you posted is not IE9 as the box shadow is missing from the image on the left unless you have clicked the compatibility button in error?

    The gap is as Ralph suggests formed by the empty clearer div you have in place which these days are unnecessary. Either remove them and just set each block to clear:both (if needed) or if you can't remove them at least set their height to 1px and hide the overflow.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    740
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Paul, you solved it for me - big thanks! I knew there was a compatability feature but it never occured to me. It looks like I've been surfing with it constantly switched on. Horrah!!

  8. #8
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,177
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Lawrance View Post
    It looks like I've been surfing with it constantly switched on.
    You surf with IE?

    O well, at least you are in for a pleasant surprise with IE9 (in its proper mode)—which is a big improvement over previous versions of IE.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    740
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use Firefox. But I have IE9 open for some stuff as Firefox doesn't always run some video etc.

  10. #10
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,177
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Lawrance View Post
    Firefox doesn't always run some video etc.
    Huh, I've never experienced that.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •