SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 25 of 25
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    QUOTE MARKS CONFUSED

    In Word, sometimes when i type a quote mark ( " ) at the beginning or end of a word/phrase, nothing happens.
    If I try again, two quote marks appear ""Jolly Roger If I then delete one, one remains. "Jolly Roger
    A pretty slow way to get work done. This can happen even when i have typed a quote mark at the beginning of the phrase and go to the end of the phrase and have to go through the same ritual again.

    The other weird thing: if I type the quote mark at the beginning of the word and nothing happens, then go to the end and type a quote mark, two appear at the end!
    As Jolly Roger""

    Computers are strange...
    Any takers, please?

    XP Pro word 2003

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,176
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Maybe something to do with your preferences? I've not see this before, but sounds like something worth checking.

  3. #3
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's kinda weird. Try closing the program and open it again and see if this will happen again.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you
    Not solved in Preferences and not fixed by opening and closing programs.
    Only happens some of the time but problem still persists. :[

  5. #5
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,176
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by rockerz View Post
    Not solved in Preferences ...
    What did you try? I basically turn off everything in Word, as I'm happy to type in ye olde way, fixing my own mistakes as I go. Automated functions in programs tend to suck, IMHO. Like when I'm typing a text message and something I didn't type or want replaces what I did type and want. Grrr.

  6. #6
    From Italy with love silver trophybronze trophy
    guido2004's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    9,496
    Mentioned
    163 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    It has to be some kind of setting. It has to do with accented letters, like etc.
    I have them on my keyboard, but for those that don't Word has this feature. You type single quote and a letter, and if an accented version of that letter exists, it shows. Otherwise you'll see the single quote and the letter.

    For example, ' and e would give
    ' and s would give 's

    No idea where to find that setting though

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah that's when you hold down alt and type a certain number and it types for instance e with the accent.
    My problem is an intermittent one that happens exactly as I described it. : o )

  8. #8
    From Italy with love silver trophybronze trophy
    guido2004's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    9,496
    Mentioned
    163 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by rockerz View Post
    Yeah that's when you hold down alt and type a certain number and it types for instance e with the accent.
    My problem is an intermittent one that happens exactly as I described it. : o )
    It's not only when you hold down alt and type a certain number. It happens also as I described it, and as you described it too.

    I googled a bit and found this: http://www.studyspanish.com/accents/typing.htm
    It talks about using the alt key, and also about what is happening to you. It's not a Word setting as I thought, but a system configuration setting. And it explains how to set your keyboard to do that. It doesn't explain how to get rid of it I'm afraid.

    To get the double quotes, you have to do this (substitute 'single apostrophe' with 'double quotes'):
    To type the single apostrophe now, you must strike the single apostrophe key and then strike the space bar. When you strike the spacebar, the apostrophe will appear.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks a lot. What is weird - it only does it sometimes and no other keys are affected.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i still get this
    it comes and goes
    seems like nobody knows...

  11. #11
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Anyone?? : o )

  12. #12
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    ronpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    2,507
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Does it matter what you type *before* you type the first doublequote? Sounds like you might be hitting a prefix key.

    Do you have any program on your PC that allows you to change they keyboard or create your own application specific (Word) shortcuts?

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no, it can happen at any time : o (

  14. #14
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    ronpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    2,507
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Install OpenOffice. It's free. See if it happens with OpenOffice Writer.

  15. #15
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I still get this problem sometimes after all this time...
    Anyone know?

  16. #16
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    ronpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    2,507
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Did you try installing OpenOffice?

    What have you done during the year to try to find out what is causing the problem?

  17. #17
    SitePoint Evangelist silver trophybronze trophy
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Open Office is doing the same: its a keyboard matter!

    My experience is the following on Windows XP, keyboard US (international)

    The single quote can be used to get an accent, therefore the single quote is not immediately appearing on your screen, but gets a delay and is remembered by the Operating System. - It depends on the following key what will happen:
    1. The following key is a letter which can have a forward accent, like an e or an a. Then pressing the letter will give the accent letter: typing ' and after that the e will give the
    2. The following key is a letter which cannot have a forward accent, like the r or the s. Then pressing the letter is giving back the remembered quote and the letter: typing ' and after than the r is giving: 'r
    3. The following key is a sign which cannot have a forward accent, like the same ' quote mark. The pressing the second time on the ' will give two single ' signs: ''
    4. The following key is the space bar. Then pressing the spacebar is presenting only the remembered ' (not followed by a space!).
      This can be used if you want an ' followed by a normal e without accent. Then press ', press [space], press e, result: 'e

    Note: in this way there is a difference between typing straight forward a word between single quotes and adding the single quotes afterwards!
    • If you type 'Jolly Roger', on screen it will be: 'Jolly Roger
    • The last ' is still in the memory, and will appear after the following key press!
    • So if you type 'Jolly Roger'[space]is my name, the result is: 'Jolly Roger' is my name

    • But if you have already Jolly Roger typed, and you want single quotes around, you must do: set the pointer before the J, press ', then press the spacebar; go with pointer after the last r, press ' and again the spacebar. Result: 'Jolly Roger'
    • If you do this: set the pointer before the J, press ', go with pointer after the last r, press ', then the last ' is triggering the first one, and the result is: Jolly Roger''
    • And if you go by mouse/pointer to a completely other place in the document, the memory-' will appear there after the next keypress over there!

    =======
    The double quote does exactly the same, but now with a Umlaut/Diaeresis.
    • Type " then type open, result: pen
    • Type " then press spacebar, then type open: "open
    • Also here a J cannot have a , but the same procedure is followed.
    • Type "Jolly Roger" and do nothing, and there is: "Jolly Roger
    • Type "Jolly Roger"[space], and there is: "Jolly Roger"

    Afterwards:
    • Type Jolly Roger, go before J, type "[space], and the double quote is inserted before the J: "Jolly Roger
    • Then go after the last r, type "[space], and the second double quote is inserted after the r; together: "Jolly Roger"
    • But if you have Jolly Roger, go before J, type ", go after the last r, type "; then it will be: Jolly Roger""

    Probably the one time you are typing the quotes right when you are typing a sentence, and the other time afterwards.

    Computers are strange...
    I agree, but I don't know a clever way to get the accent letters in an other way, with use of the actual keyboards.
    A solution could be to add an new key, only for the accent matter, and use the quote key without the delay; but I'm afraid the keyboard manufacturers and/or Operating System builders aren't very eager to do this.
    _____________
    Note: Some other keys have the same mechanism: the backwards accent `, the ~ tilde and the caret/circonflexe ^.

  18. #18
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    ronpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    2,507
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Francky, you are amazing.

  19. #19
    SitePoint Evangelist silver trophybronze trophy
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Some 15 years ago the office where my colleagues and I where working with MS Word, changed keyboards, and I had to find out why the " key did no longer produce a ". (before that time we had strip glued above the Function keys on the keyboard with all the Alt-number combinations for the accent letters)

  20. #20
    #titanic {float:none} silver trophy
    molona's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    from Madrid to Heaven
    Posts
    8,222
    Mentioned
    237 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Francky View Post
    Some 15 years ago the office where my colleagues and I where working with MS Word, changed keyboards, and I had to find out why the " key did no longer produce a ". (before that time we had strip glued above the Function keys on the keyboard with all the Alt-number combinations for the accent letters)
    I used to go for the ALTernative.

    As an example for the "~", I used to press ALT and while it was pressed, keyed "126" with the numerical keyboard. Then release ALT and... Voil!, you could see the symbol

    Now I don't rember the numbers for those characters I used but basically were those with an accent

  21. #21
    SitePoint Evangelist silver trophybronze trophy
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    406
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yep, the paper strip with the ALT-numbers was laziness: not needed to learn them by head: Alt130=, Alt131=, etc.

  22. #22
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the problem still persists.
    Any help is appreciated.
    Happens out of the blue often enough to be annoying. Love to be able to turn it off/stop it.

  23. #23
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    ronpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    2,507
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by rockerz View Post
    the problem still persists.
    Any help is appreciated.
    Happens out of the blue often enough to be annoying. Love to be able to turn it off/stop it.
    In post #17, @Francky clearly described his research into this issue which explained exactly how and when it can happen. It seems to be a Microsoft design feature. Have you read his post thoroughly? It sounds like your responsibility to learn to avoid the "feature". It is hard to fix something that isn't broken.

  24. #24
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by rockerz View Post
    the problem still persists.
    Any help is appreciated.
    Happens out of the blue often enough to be annoying. Love to be able to turn it off/stop it.

    I don't know if you are still having this problem, but I have had this happening to me since I got my laptop nearly 2 years ago and finally got around to trying to find a solve for it online. I have figured it out, so in case it helps you too, here's what you'll need to do:

    In your Control Panel, find Languages (in mine Windows 7, I go under "Region and Language". Amazing by the way, that I was just able to type those quotes successfully!

    Then go to "Keyboards and Languages", and select "Change Keyboards". I bet you have English US - International for your keyboard. You need to add English US. You will see down below that now you have English US - International AND English US. You need to use the "Remove" button for the English US - International.

    When I first tried it, I didn't get do the "remove" step and my problem got worse! Started adding those extra umlauts above my vowels. Once I did the "remove" step, the entire issue was resolved. I hope this helps you!

  25. #25
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ronpat View Post
    In post #17, @Francky clearly described his research into this issue which explained exactly how and when it can happen. It seems to be a Microsoft design feature. Have you read his post thoroughly? It sounds like your responsibility to learn to avoid the "feature". It is hard to fix something that isn't broken.
    It's not necessarily "broken", you are correct! But in fact, there is a way to resolve the issue that is being experienced and that is what rockerz was attempting to do. I hope I've helped.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •