SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 25 of 25
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    LeanSoftware.Net - take me to the cleaners!

    Ok,
    please be tough but constructive..

    http://leansoftware.net

    Thanks
    Richard

  2. #2
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi brigzy I will be reviewing your site today,
    Overall the logo is good and so is the design but the domain would not be ideal for potential customers to remember.
    I also like how you have a community forum which is a good way for you to interact with your customers.
    It is also a "easy to use" website and I think it should be good enough for you to get customers.

    -MCG

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello,

    Your site was pretty good, I very like it especially you add the adjust function of font and layout.
    Just one thing I want to suggest you that if you only have one product, you need not add the drop-down menu of the "Product".
    Users can directly visit the product introduction page when they click the "Product" menu.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by lighting000 View Post
    Hello,

    Your site was pretty good, I very like it especially you add the adjust function of font and layout.
    Just one thing I want to suggest you that if you only have one product, you need not add the drop-down menu of the "Product".
    Users can directly visit the product introduction page when they click the "Product" menu.
    Thanks for this - I agree, I do have other products to add later - but one product did look daft in a drop down.
    I have changed it now - perhaps have a nother look and see if you like it.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MinecraftGeek View Post
    Hi brigzy I will be reviewing your site today,
    Overall the logo is good and so is the design but the domain would not be ideal for potential customers to remember.
    I also like how you have a community forum which is a good way for you to interact with your customers.
    It is also a "easy to use" website and I think it should be good enough for you to get customers.

    -MCG
    Thanks for this, the domain name I am a bit stuck with (my company is Lean Software Limited).

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ah ok now the domain would make sense

  7. #7
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,319
    Mentioned
    462 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    I say this like a broken record, but I don't like it when I land on a site and can't tell up front what it's for. Don't forget that new visitors won't know what the site is for or what it offers, so make it really clear up front. The first thing I read on your site is a thankyou for something or other ... so I feel left out, like the site is not for me ... like some kind of club I don't belong to. I really appreciate a site that says in big, clear type on the home page what it's for and why I should stay.

    Instead of that meaningless, slow-loading series of stock photos on the home page that tell me nothing about the site, fill that space with a clear precis of what the company offers, with linked words to relevant sections.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok I have just made changes to try and address the comments - please could you tell me if things are better - or if I still need to make improvements..
    Thanks

  9. #9
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,319
    Mentioned
    462 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    I like the fact that you've got an intro now, but the first sentence or so would best be in big font in place of the slideshow, which really adds nothing to the site for me. Also, your call to action ...

    Please register on our the site to be informed of new software releases.
    ... is not very inspiring. Why would I want to do that? I guess the question to be asking is whom this site is trying to target. Are you looking for new clients who might want software written for them? In that case, the call to action should be something like

    Let us talk about your software needs ...
    ... with a direct link. OK, that's lamely worded, but you can think of something better, I'm sure.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    I like the fact that you've got an intro now, but the first sentence or so would best be in big font in place of the slideshow, which really adds nothing to the site for me. Also, your call to action ...



    ... is not very inspiring. Why would I want to do that? I guess the question to be asking is whom this site is trying to target. Are you looking for new clients who might want software written for them? In that case, the call to action should be something like



    ... with a direct link. OK, that's lamely worded, but you can think of something better, I'm sure.
    Thanks Ralph - I will will wrok on this..

    Question!
    I released a new version of my software tool 'Excel-to-Database' this evening.
    What is the best way to tell the world about it?

    Richard

  11. #11
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,319
    Mentioned
    462 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by brigzy View Post
    Question!
    I released a new version of my software tool 'Excel-to-Database' this evening.
    What is the best way to tell the world about it?
    I guess that's really a marketing question—not my speciality! Of course, you put it on your site, tweet about it (including relevant keywords so that people searching for those terms will see it), Facebook etc. You can also do something like Google Adwords (though that can get costly).

  12. #12
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There are a number of cacheable resources on the homepage with a short freshness lifetime. You could extend that to speed up the site for some users.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don;t really understand the last comment fully but thanks though/

    How long does this page take to load?
    http://leansoftware.net/en-us/produc...odatabase.aspx

    I am worried as I am seeing a high bounce rate.

  14. #14
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by brigzy View Post
    I don;t really understand the last comment fully but thanks though/

    How long does this page take to load?
    http://leansoftware.net/en-us/produc...odatabase.aspx

    I am worried as I am seeing a high bounce rate.
    Check out http://websiteoptimization.com/services/analyze/ -- put in your URL and click analyze.

    10 seconds or below on a t1 is considered acceptable (10 seconds sounds like a long time but you can layer your page so that the user experiences a much faster load time for important page elements)

    Your site unfortunately underperforms in terms of download speed (39 seconds on T1). Increasing page speed can be a long process with lots of little details to track down. I'd be happy to help you find more resources to improve your speed if you're interested.

  15. #15
    Mouse catcher silver trophy Stevie D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,892
    Mentioned
    123 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Tanya77 View Post
    There are a number of cacheable resources on the homepage with a short freshness lifetime. You could extend that to speed up the site for some users.
    Quote Originally Posted by brigzy View Post
    I don;t really understand the last comment fully but thanks though
    In non-technical terms ... resources like stylesheets and script files should be cached when you first visit a page on the site, in other words the visitor's computer will keep a copy of them so that when that person next loads a page, the computer thinks "Aha, I've already got that stylesheet saved somewhere, I don't need to download it again", which means the page loads quicker.

    While computers used to do that for web pages as well – and webmasters could set the interval after which a visitor's computer should check for a new version of the page – with the majority of sites these days using PHP, ASP or any number of other systems to generate the pages, these tend to be presented as "new pages" every time, so people will usually still have to download the actual content page regardless of whether they've already visited.

    What you've got is a short lifetime on these cacheable files, so that people keep having to download the latest version regularly instead of using the cached version. For stylesheets and scripts, that isn't necessary because they are unlikely to be changing regularly. If you change the 'lifetime' of those resources so that they don't need to be downloaded so often, that could speed things up when people come back to your site.

    It won't necessarily help your initial bounce rate though...

  16. #16
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    39 seconds OMG
    It loads in like 3 seconds on my PC - I suppose the images are cached ?
    This a bit of a shock, I might have to loose the images at the top of the page - what do you think?
    I would be interested in learning more most certainly ..

    Did it take 30 odd seconds to load on everyone's PC?
    I would be very interested to know, and thanks for helping me.

  17. #17
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think you're nearly there with this one but it could do with a bit of improvement in a couple of areas.

    Have you tested This in many browsers, I've just been looking at it on an iPad and there is a large white area of empty space to the left of the screen which doesn't look intentional. I would also suggest that you take a look at some of the margins and padding as some elements are butted right up against the left of the screen, a bit of care over spacings and alignment could make this site look a lot better.

    It's also not clear what you do and what sort of software you specialise in, there is just a list of clients you have worked with without saying what you have down for them. I think a bit more about you on the home page will help to keep clients.

  18. #18
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    To be honest, I really didn't like the "cool" animation on your homepage main banner and the message it gives. Instead, make it a simple, clean-cut, "visitor friendly" banner with no animation and publish your UVP there. You have 8 seconds to keep me on your website

  19. #19
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for this feedback.
    IPad:
    I tried using an ipad emulator site - but it looked ok - do you know of a good site to test multi browsers on?

    HomePage:
    Sounds like my home page is crap.
    If I change the banner to be a single static image - the 'software development' one, would that be ok?

    Download speed:
    This page is probably important to me on download speed:
    http://leansoftware.net/en-us/produc...odatabase.aspx
    Can I ask if you can tell me the new download speed : I have removed 5 images from the banner.

    Other changes:
    I have made the software download 'Instant' i.e. no registration required - perhaps this will help with the bounce rate.

    Many many thanks so far
    Brigzy

  20. #20
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok I have changed the front page, hope it is better !
    http://leansoftware.net
    Briggle

  21. #21
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,319
    Mentioned
    462 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Hm, I still think the intro is too far down and too small, but I guess there's no right answer.

  22. #22
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi
    I have reduced image sizes and changed Cache settings in DNN, so hopefully the site loads faster now:

    Product page:http://leansoftware.net/forum/en-us/...odatabase.aspx
    Home page:http://leansoftware.net/forum/en-us/home.aspx

  23. #23
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Looks pretty good I'm not a huge fan of permanently underlined links, I think a different colour is sufficient and they can go underlined once you mouse over them. Not sure it's necessary to have the facebook and twitter stuff on there twice, it's cut off the second time as well.

  24. #24
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you very much for looking.
    I have gotten rid of the hyperlink permanent underlines, and the additional 'community facebook / twitter' module.
    Looks a bit cleaner?

  25. #25
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Brigzy,

    Your site is working superbly, i realy like and learn new about how to deisgn and well inter linking with proper anchor tags.
    I feel your site will reach on top easilly.

    Best of Luck!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •