SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    TEXT BECOMES CRAZY - GOBBLEDEGOOK PC

    Probably the weirdest query I have ever had.
    After using a program for a while my text becomes crazy. It is as if i have a new keyboard with all the characters (consistently) in a different place. The only way to reclaim my keyboard is to close and restart the program. It can be any program, Firefox, word, Outlook Express, anything. Can't tell whether it is after a certain amount of time or number of keystrokes... no idea.
    VIRUS
    If it is a virus I scan the whole computer every 3 days with AFG free.
    SPYWARE/MALWARE
    I run Spybot regularly.

    System
    is XP Pro
    Can anyone help
    Is there some way the PC cn be virus checked as a one off by something stronger than AVG free.
    Help is appreciated.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Mentor silver trophybronze trophy
    Mikl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Posts
    1,552
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is it possible that you have added a language to your Regional Settings?

    To check that (in XP), go to Control Panel / Regional and Language Options / Languages. Click the Details button. You should see a list of your installed keyboards.

    Normally, you would expect to see just one item in this list, this being the keyboard for your language and/or region (probably "English (Australia)".) But if there is more than one entry there, that could explain the problem. If so, delete the one you don't want.

    I used to have both a UK and USA English keyboard installed, with USA being the default. Like you, my applications would randomly switch to the UK layout every so often, and I had to close and restart the program to get back to normal. In my case, the issue only affected four or five characters, but with other languages (or with other layouts, such as Dvorak), it could be much worse.

    I know this is a bit of a long shot, but it's something that would be worth checking.

    Mike

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello Mike,
    Under regional options, only English (Australia) is selected.
    : O )

  4. #4
    SitePoint Mentor silver trophybronze trophy
    Mikl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Posts
    1,552
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, I said it was a long shot. Sorry I can't suggest anything else.

    Mike

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    PROBLEM STILL PERSISTS

    Need a genius here. Problem still persists.
    )

  6. #6
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    5,014
    Mentioned
    103 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Does the computer have a language setting in it's BIOS? If it does and the BIOS battery is getting old it might be forgetting settings sometimes
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Knew this would be tough. I am thinking a virus that hides from the Virus killer (AVG) ???

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    i think every bios is different and my expertise is lacking here but i would say the

    Quote Originally Posted by SpacePhoenix View Post
    Does the computer have a language setting in it's BIOS? If it does and the BIOS battery is getting old it might be forgetting settings sometimes
    i think every bios is different and my expertise is lacking here but the pc did not start this behaviour till probably three years after I got it.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There was a reply from gtopawb here a minute ago . now...? wha!!!

  10. #10
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,165
    Mentioned
    453 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by rockerz View Post
    There was a reply from gtopawb here a minute ago . now...? wha!!!
    He was a naughty boy and got his bot spanked.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    PROBLEM STILL PERSISITS

    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    He was a naughty boy and got his bot spanked.
    ouch!
    Something like masquerading as a helper but with "wannabuyawatch" under the overcoat perhaps...


    Anyways can somebody offer any clues as to my little irritation...? pls )

    and me other one: http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/show...MARKS-CONFUSED

    thanks all...
    Ralph

  12. #12
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Anyone pls ?? : o )

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast rajeev13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    New Delhi,India
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by rockerz View Post
    Anyone pls ?? : o )
    i have also face the same problem. the avg free version work fine for some few day after that it get inflated itself.use other anivirus like zonealarm or kespersky.
    you may use advance system care pro.

  14. #14
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    ronpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    2,507
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Agree with rajeev13. Best bet if you think your PC might be infected is to boot from a cd or flash drive with a good virus killer on it, instead of booting from your HD.

  15. #15
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    357
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Maybe it's a hardware problem, try a different keyboard & see if the problem persists.
    Doug G
    =====
    "If you ain't the lead dog, the view is always the same - Anon

  16. #16
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Now use Avira antiviurus and Commodo firewall.

    Unplugging the keyboard and putting back in (after 20 secs) does not solve this, so am satisfied it is not the keyboard.
    Anyone?

  17. #17
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    5,014
    Mentioned
    103 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try uninstalling and then reinstalling the driver for the keyboard, maybe the driver has become corrupted. btw if you're still running XP you should consider upgrading to at least Win7 as I believe that Microsoft will shortly (if they've not already done so) be ending all support for XP.
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  18. #18
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    ronpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    2,507
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Off Topic:

    Quote Originally Posted by SpacePhoenix View Post
    ...btw if you're still running XP you should consider upgrading to at least Win7 as I believe that Microsoft will shortly (if they've not already done so) be ending all support for XP.
    Support for WinXP ends April 8.

  19. #19
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,151
    Mentioned
    262 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by rockerz View Post
    Unplugging the keyboard and putting back in (after 20 secs) does not solve this, so am satisfied it is not the keyboard.
    Did you try Doug G's suggestion of testing with a different keyboard? That would seem to be a more reliable way to rule out a hardware problem there.

  20. #20
    #titanic {float:none} silver trophy
    molona's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    from Madrid to Heaven
    Posts
    8,216
    Mentioned
    236 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I think I'm closing this thread... we're trying to sort out a problem that was posted in 2012!


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •