SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Scripts Freezing

    At any time - and often - while using my PC, my computer becomes unresponsive in whatever program I am using. After anything up to 5 or more minutes I will get an error message saying that "a script on this page may be busy or have stopped responding etc... "
    The choice is to stop script or continue. Usually i select stop script and the computer becomes usable after about 10-30 seconds. It might become disable again with a minute or so or might run OK for say, 30 minutes.

    Some scripts mention Chrome. I have Chrome but it is seldom open when I get the error. Mostly for a browser I use Firefox.
    This may not be related but I have Adblock 2.51 enabled in FF
    Sometimes the Flash player does this, I have renewed it but it it still happens.
    Have run spybot and
    PC XP pro SP3

    SCREEN SHOTS OF SOME SCRIPTS ARE ATTACHED
    Many thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    5,000
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is there ant pattern to when it slows up?

    How much RAM does the computer have?

    What version of FF are you running?
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  3. #3
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    ronpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    2,469
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    rockerz, you must be using a very old PC. My browser, Firefox (the latest), freezes occasionally and eventually that "script" message appears in which it mentions "tidy" and gives me the same option to stop the script or continue. Activity resumes within a few short seconds after stopping the script. Nothing has ever extended into minutes. I have a fairly old PC, 4GB RAM, WinXP. The frequent Firefox freezes are very, VERY, frustrating, but not as lengthy as you describe. I'm looking into learning how to use Chrome. I am exasperated by the fact that FF simply cannot manage its memory. The laurels of "standards compliant Firefox" have withered.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PC has 2GB RAM
    FF version 27.0.1 (latest?)

    There is not, except to always do it when one is in a hurry

    thanks for the interest folks

  5. #5
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    5,000
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Next time it happens, use task manager and make a note of how much RAM FF is using and how many tabs and windows you've got open. Are all addons and extensions up to date?
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  6. #6
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    ronpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    2,469
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SpacePhoenix View Post
    Is there ant pattern to when it slows up?
    Yes, there is a pattern.

    It occurs when running Firefox and Firefox is accessing a site that uses JavaScript.

    To support the OP's claim, not long after my previous post, Firefox maxed out one of the 2 CPU cores, which effectively froze the active processes. I eventually killed the FF process to "unfreeze" things. This is not a new trick. Firefox has done that before, but I had forgotten about it.

    I'm convinced that it's one of those errant JavaScripts that cannot break out of its loop. I will echo again that it is VERY annoying.

    Firefox drags.

  7. #7
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    5,000
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Make a note of what site you're trying to access next time it happens, it could be a badly written script used by a site
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do the script paths (in the attachment ) give a hint as to what they are?

  9. #9
    #titanic {float:none} silver trophy
    molona's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    from Madrid to Heaven
    Posts
    8,183
    Mentioned
    234 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ronpat View Post
    I'm convinced that it's one of those errant JavaScripts that cannot break out of its loop. I will echo again that it is VERY annoying.

    Firefox drags.
    I have to say that's been ages since I've seen this in FF. I would assume that it is a case of bad programming habits more than FF itself although it may affect FF more than other browsers...

    In the rare occassions where I've seen this kind of behaviour was due to some kind of ad


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •