SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Posts rarely lloydi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Swindon UK
    Posts
    620
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    MAMP problem: Since Mountain Lion, all I'm seeing is "It works!"

    I just upgraded to Mountain Lion and have 2 problems:

    1) Any web site that I'm running simply shows this:



    When obviously it isn't working

    2) Virtual directories that I previously set up to be in a Dropbox folder (so that I can keep developing sites across different machines) are being flagged as invalid directories:



    I am running the latest version of MAMP (2.1.1)

    I've seen some posts about various config options that I might need to change in Mountain Lion, but I always thought that the key benefit of running MAMP was that it protected you from significant changes that happen in the shipped versions of Apache/MySql/PHP; everything should be self-contained, right?

    Anyway, would appreciate some advice on this. Cos at the moment, my dev environment is not working one bit.

    [I have a backup plan - I have a second laptop that is set up to run MAMP using these Dropbox locations, and that machine is still on Lion, deliberately, as I knew this might be an issue!]
    Build Your Own Web Site the Right Way!
    A beginners' HTML/CSS book with web standards at its heart
    The Ultimate HTML Reference
    A complete reference, in glorious hardback

  2. #2
    Certified Ethical Hacker silver trophybronze trophy dklynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    14,671
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    lloydi,

    WinDoze has a server configuration file named httpd.conf and a virtual host configuration file named extras/httpd-vhosts.conf (both in Apache's config directory) and WinDoze uses its hosts (extensionless) file to point to the httpd-vhosts.conf so you can use some local directory (other than Apache's htdocs). While I'm not a fan of "canned programmes," I'd recommend that you check your equivalent of those three files. If this is a new install, you'll likely have to deal with the httpd-vhosts.conf and hosts files to setup your local domain directories (use the sample code in those files as guidelines).

    If you still have a problem, go ask Kevin as I understand that he's now recommending "canned programmes" in the latest edition of his book and is, from what I understand, a Mac user (I'm not).

    Regards,

    DK
    David K. Lynn - Data Koncepts is a long-time WebHostingBuzz (US/UK)
    Client and (unpaid) WHB Ambassador
    mod_rewrite Tutorial Article (setup, config, test & write
    mod_rewrite regex w/sample code) and Code Generator

  3. #3
    Posts rarely lloydi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Swindon UK
    Posts
    620
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dklynn View Post
    lloydi,

    If you still have a problem, go ask Kevin as I understand that he's now recommending "canned programmes" in the latest edition of his book and is, from what I understand, a Mac user (I'm not).

    DK
    He is a Mac user and so I shall go bother him

    I haven't seen too many people reporting problems with MAMP. Might be a 'just me' thing
    Build Your Own Web Site the Right Way!
    A beginners' HTML/CSS book with web standards at its heart
    The Ultimate HTML Reference
    A complete reference, in glorious hardback

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Scarborough, North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by lloydi View Post
    He is a Mac user and so I shall go bother him

    I haven't seen too many people reporting problems with MAMP. Might be a 'just me' thing
    Hi

    Pretty much just had the same problem, I disabled the in-built apache:

    sudo apachectl stop

    Works for me
    @richaskew

  5. #5
    Certified Ethical Hacker silver trophybronze trophy dklynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    14,671
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    RA,

    First, WELCOME to SitePoint!

    Mac uses a built-in Apache? Well, they certainly got that right! Not sure about being able to actually load/start duplicate Apache services, though, nor which will actually get stopped with that line.

    Regards,

    DK
    David K. Lynn - Data Koncepts is a long-time WebHostingBuzz (US/UK)
    Client and (unpaid) WHB Ambassador
    mod_rewrite Tutorial Article (setup, config, test & write
    mod_rewrite regex w/sample code) and Code Generator

  6. #6
    padawan silver trophybronze trophy markbrown4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    4,113
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Hi Ian,

    As @richaskew said,
    It sounds like it's the default Apache server is enabled and hijacking the requests to localhost.
    You can disable "Web Sharing" under system preferences to disable the Apache server that ships with mac os.

  7. #7
    Posts rarely lloydi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Swindon UK
    Posts
    620
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by RichardAskew View Post
    Hi

    Pretty much just had the same problem, I disabled the in-built apache:

    sudo apachectl stop

    Works for me
    @richaskew
    By jove, I think he's got it ...

    That worked for me too, although I had to mess around with the port settings. Annoyingly I can't remember exactly which change sorted *all* the problems, because after running the sudo command it didn't work straight away. Weird. Anyway, all working now. Thanks Rich.
    Build Your Own Web Site the Right Way!
    A beginners' HTML/CSS book with web standards at its heart
    The Ultimate HTML Reference
    A complete reference, in glorious hardback

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Scarborough, North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by lloydi View Post
    By jove, I think he's got it ...

    That worked for me too, although I had to mess around with the port settings. Annoyingly I can't remember exactly which change sorted *all* the problems, because after running the sudo command it didn't work straight away. Weird. Anyway, all working now. Thanks Rich.
    No problem, and they've removed Web Sharing from the Mountain Lion system preferences which doesn't help.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •