SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Karachi
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Site isn't working

    My site doesn't work. Returns only a black page. Can anyone help with trouble shooting?

  2. #2
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,088
    Mentioned
    256 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    There appears to be nothing there. Are you sure you uploaded your files to the correct directory?
    Take plenty of exercise walk round and round the garden
    or
    sign up now for the Isle of Jura 10K or Half Marathon!

  3. #3
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,121
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by opportunist86 View Post
    Returns only a black page.
    Hm, it's a white page for me.

    There's absolutely nothing in there—no HTML or anything—so we need to know a bit more about what you are doing to be any use to you.
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Karachi
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    Hm, it's a white page for me.

    There's absolutely nothing in there—no HTML or anything—so we need to know a bit more about what you are doing to be any use to you.
    I changed the hosting account yesterday and copied and pasted all the files. Its not working after that. All the files are placed in public_html folder
    Yes, its blank page. Could you please help me with the solution?

  5. #5
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,088
    Mentioned
    256 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by opportunist86 View Post
    I changed the hosting account yesterday and copied and pasted all the files.
    How did you copy and paste them? Do you mean you downloaded them from your old host and then uploaded them to the new host? Can you check that the public_html folder contains all the files you think should be there?
    Take plenty of exercise walk round and round the garden
    or
    sign up now for the Isle of Jura 10K or Half Marathon!

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Karachi
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TechnoBear View Post
    How did you copy and paste them? Do you mean you downloaded them from your old host and then uploaded them to the new host? Can you check that the public_html folder contains all the files you think should be there?
    Exactly! I copied all the folder including public_html and uploaded them.
    There's no index file in the root folder but its in public_html folder.

  7. #7
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,088
    Mentioned
    256 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by opportunist86 View Post
    There's no index file in the root folder but its in public_html folder.
    I'm not sure what you mean by that. Which folder are you referring to as the "root folder", because I would expect that to be the public_html folder. Which folder did your new hosting company tell you to upload your files to?

    Take plenty of exercise walk round and round the garden
    or
    sign up now for the Isle of Jura 10K or Half Marathon!

  8. #8
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,121
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Have you redirected your domain name to the new host?
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."

  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Karachi
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TechnoBear View Post
    I'm not sure what you mean by that. Which folder are you referring to as the "root folder", because I would expect that to be the public_html folder. Which folder did your new hosting company tell you to upload your files to?

    the index files is located at /public_html/index.html and not in "/". Hope you get it now. And I didn't ask my hosting company about uploading new files.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Karachi
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    Have you redirected your domain name to the new host?
    Yes, I guess you are talking about updating nameservers. I did it.

  11. #11
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,121
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by opportunist86 View Post
    Yes, I guess you are talking about updating nameservers. I did it.
    OK, just needed to check. They can sometimes take a while to update, but I guess that's not likey the problem. Hmmm, very odd. If you look in your online control panel (if you have one) do you see the files in place, and if you open them, is the code there?
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."

  12. #12
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That happened to me, too. My problem was that I capitalized the "i" when naming the index file. It was in the right place but it needed to be "index.html" not "Index.html". the I needed to change all my linked page references too.

    Could that be it?

  13. #13
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Karachi
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My mistake eventually! Thanks for making me pay attention to that. My files were not copied properly. They were there but were 0kb(incomplete).
    Thanks a lot for helping with this.

  14. #14
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,088
    Mentioned
    256 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Glad you got it sorted.
    Take plenty of exercise walk round and round the garden
    or
    sign up now for the Isle of Jura 10K or Half Marathon!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •