SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    231
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Problem with image transparency

    Hello all,

    I am back trying to figure out how to get these PNG transparencies fixed for my website. The images are still showing up as black transparency and don't know how to fix it. It looks like the link that slicemee posted has been updated to 3.0.4 WP however I don't know how to implement that fix?

    Any suggestions on how to move forward? I really am trying to get these PNGs working properly so I only have to create one t-shirt that shows the color in a div behind it so with PHP i can change the color of the div and the user can see different color shirts.

    This will help both the user/visitors experience and my productivity as I only have to export one image and not 30 different ones of the same shirt and different colors.

    Thanks,
    Lorne

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    231
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can anyone help me with this? Still no solutions and I've scoured the internet.

    I tried uploading my image as full-size so wordpress doesn't make a black background while compressing. maybe it's the template file changing the background when compressing, but I don't know how to find out what code is compressing the image?

    The image here shows up transparent (http://activestatedesigns.com/wp-con...-Std-navy2.png), but the theme I think is making it have a black background http://activestatedesigns.com/flagsi...ier01-coflag01. The second to last is a .gif and the last is a .png. Both are transparent when viewing full size image. Any ideas?

  3. #3
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,331
    Mentioned
    463 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Those links you posted all point to 404 error pages. I can't see any problem images by looking at your site. Could you point out exactly which ones are causing an issue?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    231
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So sorry, my mistake here are the links. I'm moving stuff around trying to solve this.

    Page with problem images (last two in the gallery): http://activestatedesigns.com/flagsi...ier01-coflag01
    gif image: http://activestatedesigns.com/wp-con...-Std-navy3.gif
    png image: http://activestatedesigns.com/wp-con...-Std-navy2.png

    Thanks,
    Lorne

  5. #5
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,331
    Mentioned
    463 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Hi Lorne. Hmm, this is odd. I don't have enough understanding of graphics like this, but I've moved your issue to the Graphics forum, where it should get more expert attention.

    By the way, what's the back story on these images? How were they created?

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    231
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Ralph.

    They were created in Photoshop and saved for web and devices as .png or .gif.

  7. #7
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,331
    Mentioned
    463 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Can you say more about how they were created? Did you start with a transparent image of the shirts, or cut out the background? etc. If you have control over the image like this, there must be some simple reason why it's gone wrong.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Mentor silver trophy
    Rubble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cambridge, England
    Posts
    2,438
    Mentioned
    82 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Can you resize the images to the correct size before uploading them so wordpress will not do it?

    Is there an option to set the resizing software - I assume it is GD, could you set it to Imagemagick.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    231
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m
    Can you say more about how they were created? Did you start with a transparent image of the shirts, or cut out the background? etc. If you have control over the image like this, there must be some simple reason why it's gone wrong.
    Sure Ralph, i created them in photoshop and the shirt highlights and shadows (to make the texture) is a translucent layer that is a screen and/or multiplied. Then I have a layer that is just a plain color that turns on below the shirt and is masked to the appropriate shape of the shirt. That shows the color of shirt. Then there is a spotlight layer (which I have tried to turn off and on in various png uploads) that adds a nice highlight to the 3D shirt image. Then the background is trans parent as I turn the grey cotton layer off. My goal is to create a php script that changes a bottom layer div to allow for users to see the different color shirts. Then again I use "save for web & Devices" in photoshop to create the .png and .gif.

    Does that help explain the image creation process?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rubble View Post
    Can you resize the images to the correct size before uploading them so wordpress will not do it?

    Is there an option to set the resizing software - I assume it is GD, could you set it to Imagemagick.
    Rubble, I can resize the image if needed, I tried that here: http://activestatedesigns.com/wp-con...-no-resize.gif. You can see that image is the last one in the thumbnail gallery and still it's not transparent when loaded into the preview. This was not compressed it was the right size to begin with.

    Where can I find the option to set the resizing software? I don't know what GD or Imagemagick is? I create my photos in Photoshop then load them to my uploads folder in wordpress.



    As a side note, I have also cleared my uploads cache but to no avail.

    Thanks all,
    Lorne


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •