SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Is this possible for a domain?

    Hey folks,

    I recently purchased an addition domain for my website to be used for its blog.

    What I really want are two separate identities, mysite.com and myblog.com, not mysite.com and mysite.com/blog (if that makes sense :P)

    Anyway, I've purchased the blog domain and when I try to set it up, all its doing right now is redirecting, but in reality, I want it to redirect, but show the same url at the top.

    Right now if I were to go to myblog.com for example, it would go to mysite.com/blog/wordpress/index.php as a redirect, and that is all messy. Yes, I still want the blog to go to that subfolder of my original site, but I want it to instead of showing the mess seen above, I want it to stay as "myblog.com" when it goes to the index.

    Would this be possible, and if so how would I go about doing it?

    Thanks a ton,

    Elementax

    Update: The best I can seem to get is something along the lines of myblog.com/blog/wordpres/index.php, which is better, but still not what I'm trying to do

  2. #2
    Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    16,869
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    When you set up an add-on domain you specify the folder you want it to use as its home folder. Simply point that at the WordPress folder and you should get what you want - no redirect required.
    Stephen J Chapman

    javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by felgall View Post
    When you set up an add-on domain you specify the folder you want it to use as its home folder. Simply point that at the WordPress folder and you should get what you want - no redirect required.
    I'm not quite sure what you mean. What I'm currently doing is editing a file named default.asp in my main website directory, and basically telling it that whenever myblog.com is typed, go to mysite.com/blog/wordpress/index.php, but again, it will just show all that junk with it, when I really want that path to be seen as simply "myblog.com" ;/

    Elementax

  4. #4
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,319
    Mentioned
    462 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    For what it's worth, none of this seems like a very good idea to me. I would go for mysite.com/blog as your blog URL. It's straightforward and perfectly fine, and saves you all this trouble.

    It looks like you've put your WP files in a /blog/ folder and then in a /wordpress/ folder, which is inefficient, by the way. All you need to do is dump the wp files in the /blog/ folder, so that you can access it with mysite.com/blog.

  5. #5
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,411
    Mentioned
    273 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    It looks like you've put your WP files in a /blog/ folder and then in a /wordpress/ folder, which is inefficient, by the way. All you need to do is dump the wp files in the /blog/ folder, so that you can access it with mysite.com/blog.
    As I understand it, Elementax wants a completely separate domain (myblog.com) for the blog, not a subdomain of mysite.com.

    To access it from myblog.com, you need to install the files directly into the root directory for that domain. You mentioned default.asp, which makes me think you're using a Windows server, and I have no experience there. (I have almost no experience with WP, either. ) Using Softaculous to install it via cPanel, you get a dialogue like this:
    wp-install.png
    and just leave the box empty to install to the domain root.

  6. #6
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,255
    Mentioned
    196 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    @Elementax ; I can't help but wonder if by "purchased an addition domain" you mean you've paid the host for it - but - you have not paid for and registered the second domain name or set up the DNS mapping.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mittineague View Post
    @Elementax ; I can't help but wonder if by "purchased an addition domain" you mean you've paid the host for it - but - you have not paid for and registered the second domain name or set up the DNS mapping.
    I purchased it through the hosting provider (who uses an additional site to manage it) and basically just added an if statement to the default.asp file indicating when myblog.com is typed, go to mysite.com/blog directory. That work's fine, people can access the site, but the issue is, it is basically a redirect because after I type in myblog.com, it sends me to the site, but instead of showing myblog.com in the address bar like it should, it shows myblog.com/blog, it's basically just masking mysite.com, lol

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    For what it's worth, none of this seems like a very good idea to me. I would go for mysite.com/blog as your blog URL. It's straightforward and perfectly fine, and saves you all this trouble.

    It looks like you've put your WP files in a /blog/ folder and then in a /wordpress/ folder, which is inefficient, by the way. All you need to do is dump the wp files in the /blog/ folder, so that you can access it with mysite.com/blog.
    +1 to that, it will keep things simple.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I did end up dumping all the files into /blog/ folder as suggested, but in terms of URL, it really needs its own domain for the way I would like to brand it, hence why I don't want the simplistic mysite.com/blog :P

    Elementax

  10. #10
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,411
    Mentioned
    273 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Elementax View Post
    I did end up dumping all the files into /blog/ folder as suggested, but in terms of URL, it really needs its own domain for the way I would like to brand it, hence why I don't want the simplistic mysite.com/blog :P
    In that case, as I said earlier, install WordPress directly into the root directory/folder for the domain, not into a sub-directory like /blog/.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TechnoBear View Post
    In that case, as I said earlier, install WordPress directly into the root directory/folder for the domain, not into a sub-directory like /blog/.
    I'm not entirely sure I know what you mean? My current site is in the root directly right now, with it's own domain, and I'm adding an additional directory full of the wordpress files because I want it to be separate in terms of domain names, not just a mysite.com/blog setup.

    Elementax

  12. #12
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,411
    Mentioned
    273 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Elementax View Post
    I'm not entirely sure I know what you mean? My current site is in the root directly right now, with it's own domain, and I'm adding an additional directory full of the wordpress files because I want it to be separate in terms of domain names, not just a mysite.com/blog setup.
    You need to add it in the root directory of the new domain. If that's hosted as mysitedomain.com/myblogdomain.com, then put it in the folder for myblogdomain.com


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •