SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: UPS for Server

  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru Jason__C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Racoon City
    Posts
    660
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    UPS for Server

    Does anyone have a recommendation for a UPS for a Server box?
    Chuck Norris is so tough,
    mosquitos ask for permission before they bite him

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard Pedro Monteiro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Lisbon
    Posts
    1,393
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What kind of server are you running Jason? is it a single machine, a rack, etc...

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru Jason__C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Racoon City
    Posts
    660
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Pedro Monteiro View Post
    What kind of server are you running Jason? is it a single machine, a rack, etc...

    My bad, should have been more specific. It's a single desktop turned into a public-facing server. I'm looking for a quality, and this is very important, so price is not a factor. Thanks man.
    Chuck Norris is so tough,
    mosquitos ask for permission before they bite him

  4. #4
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    APC. http://www.apc.com/site/apc/?ISOCountryCode=US
    Top rated, quality UPS, if a bit pricey.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard Pedro Monteiro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Lisbon
    Posts
    1,393
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by logic_earth View Post
    APC. http://www.apc.com/site/apc/?ISOCountryCode=US
    Top rated, quality UPS, if a bit pricey.
    This is a great product.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru Jason__C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Racoon City
    Posts
    660
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by logic_earth View Post
    APC. http://www.apc.com/site/apc/?ISOCountryCode=US
    Top rated, quality UPS, if a bit pricey.
    Nice. If I buy from APC I would definitely go for the lower-end 1 1/2 hours. Should suffice. Thanks
    Chuck Norris is so tough,
    mosquitos ask for permission before they bite him

  7. #7
    Community Advisor silver trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,547
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jason__C View Post
    It's a single desktop turned into a public-facing server. I'm looking for a quality, and this is very important, so price is not a factor.
    Does the server also have a second redundant network connection, raid hard drives, off server back up etc?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Personally owning 4 UPS's I can safely say that even the cheap UPS's do their job fairly well. The most important thing you have to consider is the load you will be placing on it and what sort of run time you want from it. A typical desktop turned into a server will draw around 200w at most, so a 500VA (425w) and higher should do the job just fine. However you'll find the cheaper units contain a single small battery which is enough for just 5-10 minutes uptime, less at full load. If this is enough and all you want to do is cleanly shut down then these should be fine. If you want a longer sustained uptime then you're looking at more expensive units with extended runtime boxes for them.

    I have a 1200VA UPS with 2x7Ah 12v batteries and it runs my server for 1 hour (it draws about 150w) which is plenty. I did however do my research before buying as I wanted that dual battery setup.

    If you want quality, definitely go APC. They have a good UPS selector wizard on their site, but you'll have to be prepared to pay the high prices. Since you don't have an expensive front facing server I wouldn't expect you would go for a high end UPS either.

    Hope this helps.

    Andy
    <snip>
    Last edited by TechnoBear; Jul 2, 2012 at 06:57. Reason: Please wait 90 days for a real signature


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •