SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 36 of 36
  1. #26
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mittineague View Post
    What I mean is what you see in view-source of the page's generated output.
    Hello
    What I see is long text that i dont understand !
    I dont know which part should I edit ?

  2. #27
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,147
    Mentioned
    190 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Sorry, but the page still won't load for me and I waited for 5 minutes. IMHO most people won't wait anywhere near as long and if people can't see the page you have more to worry about than a border they'll never see. (try clearing your browser cache and see how long it takes for the page to load in for you).

    If you don't have a fairly good grasp of HTML then I advise you to not edit any .html and even moreso not any .php files.

    So we seem to be at a standstill. I can't get at the mark-up, and you don't understand what I need to see.

    I'll give it one more shot and if you still don't know what I mean try browsing http://reference.sitepoint.com/html until you get a feel for the terminology and then try to find in the view-source the sections that look like
    HTML Code:
    <div id="leftContent">
    <div id="smallwidgets">
    <div id="smallwidgetsRight">
    HTML Code:
    <div id="smallwidgetsleft">
    HTML Code:
    <div id="widgets">
    and post the mark-up for the one that has your problem widget in it.

  3. #28
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mittineague View Post
    Sorry, but the page still won't load for me and I waited for 5 minutes. IMHO most people won't wait anywhere near as long and if people can't see the page you have more to worry about than a border they'll never see. (try clearing your browser cache and see how long it takes for the page to load in for you).

    If you don't have a fairly good grasp of HTML then I advise you to not edit any .html and even moreso not any .php files.

    So we seem to be at a standstill. I can't get at the mark-up, and you don't understand what I need to see.

    I'll give it one more shot and if you still don't know what I mean try browsing http://reference.sitepoint.com/html until you get a feel for the terminology and then try to find in the view-source the sections that look like
    HTML Code:
    <div id="leftContent">
    <div id="smallwidgets">
    <div id="smallwidgetsRight">
    HTML Code:
    <div id="smallwidgetsleft">
    HTML Code:
    <div id="widgets">
    and post the mark-up for the one that has your problem widget in it.
    I found this
    </div><!--End largWidgetCenter -->
    <div class="largWidgetBottom">
    </div><!--End largWidgetBottom -->
    </div><!--End Widget --><div class="widget">
    <div class="topWedgit"><h2>اعلانات</h2></div><!--End top widget -->
    <div class="largWidgetCenter"> <div class="textwidget"><p><script type="text/javascript"><!--
    google_ad_client = "ca-pub-6533543319570699";
    /* Special Posts */
    google_ad_slot = "1512753854";
    google_ad_width = 300;
    google_ad_height = 250;
    //-->
    </script><br />
    <script type="text/javascript"
    src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">

    Now what should I do ?
    and where do I need to edit ?
    </script></p>
    </div>
    </div><!--End largWidgetCenter -->
    <div class="largWidgetBottom">
    </div><!--End largWidgetBottom -->
    </div><!--End Widget -->

  4. #29
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,147
    Mentioned
    190 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    OK, thanks, that's a good start.

    First, add this to your CSS file and see if the selector targets exactly what you want and nothing else.

    Code CSS:
    div#leftContent div#widgets div.widget div.largWidgetCenter + div.textWidget + p {
      border: 2px solid #0ff ;
     }

    ** might need to add
    + ins + ins#aswift_1_anchor + iframe
    after the p

  5. #30
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello Mittineague
    There is another problem happened recently

    this error appears
    Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/hamooz10/public_html/arabjailbreak.com/wp-content/themes/Arabjailbreak/functions.php:1) in /home/hamooz10/public_html/arabjailbreak.com/wp-includes/pluggable.php on line 881
    it appears when I try to activate any plugins and when I try to add the code you gave me to the CSS file ?
    I am worried , I hope nothing went wrong
    Can you help me to get rid of that error message ?

  6. #31
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok I fixed that problem
    anyway , I added that code to the css file and nothing changed !
    div#leftContent div#widgets div.widget div.largWidgetCenter + div.textWidget + p {
    border: 2px solid #0ff ;
    }

  7. #32
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,147
    Mentioned
    190 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Sorry, the inconsistent naming format threw me. It should be lowercase w. Try this
    Code CSS:
    div#leftContent div#widgets div:first-child div.largWidgetCenter div.textwidget p {
    border: 2px solid #0ff ;
    }
    If that isn't the border you're targeting, try without the ending p

  8. #33
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mittineague View Post
    Sorry, the inconsistent naming format threw me. It should be lowercase w. Try this
    Code CSS:
    div#leftContent div#widgets div:first-child div.largWidgetCenter div.textwidget p {
    border: 2px solid #0ff ;
    }
    If that isn't the border you're targeting, try without the ending p
    this code didnt work with me to remove the border of the widget !

  9. #34
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,147
    Mentioned
    190 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    It isn't meant to. It should put a 2 pixel blue-green border around the elememt the CSS selector is targeting.

    In order to have any chance at removing the border, you first need to know how to pinpoint it, and it alone.

  10. #35
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am disappointed that i couldnt fix this problem
    Can I give you access to the site to help me fix this problem ?

    and I also have got another problem I dont know what forum should I put it
    this problem is I cant preview any pages before i publish , when i try to preview a page this error appears
    Fatal error: Cannot redeclare register_my_menus() (previously declared in /home/hamooz10/public_html/arabjailbreak.com/wp-content/themes/Arabjailbreak/functions.php:32) in /home/hamooz10/public_html/arabjailbreak.com/wp-content/themes/Arabjailbreak/functions.php on line 36
    Can someone help me to fix this problem ? and why it suddenly happened ?

  11. #36
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi everyone
    I just made it
    after long time searching in the web I could make the ad appear without the frame behind it
    I will tell you how to do that
    1- make new widget ( register new widget in functions.php )
    2- make it appear in the sidebar by putting some code in sidebar.php file
    3- drag a text to the new widget and thats it . this widget will appear with no frame behind it


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •