SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    The disadvantages of changing the location of the server ?

    Recently, the speed of my website is incredibly slow, thus I want to change the location from singapore to us, I just want to know are there some disadvantages?
    If it is not the problem of the location of the server, then what's wrong with my website? I just couldn't work it out, any one can help me ?

  2. #2
    Barefoot on the Moon! silver trophy Force Flow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Northeastern USA
    Posts
    4,606
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    As long as your customers and the hosting company are on the same continent, there isn't usually a latency issue.

    If the issue appears to be more than just a few seconds of latency, it's possible that the server has been stressed to capacity.

    As long as you are moving to a reasonably well-known hosting company and not a server in someone's basement, you should be fine.
    Visit The Blog | Follow On Twitter
    301tool 1.1.5 - URL redirector & shortener (PHP/MySQL)
    Can be hosted on and utilize your own domain

  3. #3
    SitePoint Mentor silver trophybronze trophy
    Mikl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Posts
    1,552
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Before you change hosting company, you should make sure that the slowdown is caused by the server. There might be some other reason for it. Have you added anything to your site recently (such as a script or some embedded content) that might be slowing things down? Are you sure the problem is with the site itself rather than on your own computer (try viewing the site from another computer and/or another IP address)? And so on.

    If none of that gets you anywhere, by all means try a different hosting company. But you don't necessarily need to move to the US. If you are in Singapore, you might be better with a different Singaporean company.

    Mike

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    We bought a dedicated virtual server from godaddy, and we planed to put the server in Texas, but Godaddy moved our server to Singapore because we located in China.
    I have contacted its customer service, but to remove the server back to US, I have to cancel the current one and buy a new one. And I can't get access to my server. The customer service said that our server is in high load. What should i do now?

  5. #5
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,165
    Mentioned
    453 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    I would say move to a better host. GoDaddy is not a good web host. You can do much better than them, with a hosting company that has its servers just in the US.

  6. #6
    Foozle Reducer ServerStorm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Burlington, Canada
    Posts
    2,699
    Mentioned
    89 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Hi lonking,

    The bare-bones OS that runs on a VS normally has to share a number of VS spreading the tick cycles between the allocated processors and the total volume of RAM in the bare bones OS. This means that your site could be getting dragged down by the overall number of VS's that run on the system; eventually the shared resources may run tight.

    Have you asked if GoDaddy will provide what aspect of your site is high capacity? Can you validate the Apache logs to see (depending on how the logs are configured) what load exists on Apache. Maybe your running out of Memory? It is important to know why your site is 'over-capacity', how else are you going to know what the appropriate configuration RAM/Space/# of processors, RAID configuration, Controller... that you need if you do decide to move it?

    Maybe think about using one of the 'Pay per use' options that Amazon EC2 (free for 1 year promotion currently running) or Windows Azure. Theses services you can tune with growth and don't have to think about it in terms of having to move servers as you grow the cloud platform is more flexible that the traditional blade VPS configurations and can grow and be tweaked to your site needs.

    Regards,
    Steve
    ictus==""

  7. #7
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    According to my knowledge if the servers/ applications are hosted in-house, most of the users can access them via the high speed LAN network which enables them to access the applications much faster.But when they have to access the same application from the co-location service providers via the Internet (WAN) connectivity, users might find the application access slower/ sluggish.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •