SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 58
  1. #26
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    SiteGrinder, the software I use to convert PSD to HTML also has a plug in that allows you to convert PSD to Wordpress. So in theory you can first go from PSD > HTML > Wordpress.

  2. #27
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Augusta, Georgia, United States
    Posts
    4,044
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cgacfox
    I know, it's just frustrating that there aren't more WP people on Sitepoint, not that I have anything against you, Ralph. You have bailed me out of trouble countless times!
    Thank god… those script kiddies are a breed of their own.

    Quote Originally Posted by konvicted
    SiteGrinder, the software I use to convert PSD to HTML also has a plug in that allows you to convert PSD to Wordpress. So in theory you can first go from PSD > HTML > Wordpress.
    Thanks, I needed a good laugh. PSD > Sitegrinder > Wordpress… lmfao. Like I said, breed of their own. Making every technical sacrifice under the sun to avoid learning some PHP, HTML and CSS. The way the designer mind works…
    The only code I hate more than my own is everyone else's.

  3. #28
    SitePoint Evangelist cgacfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Colorful Colorado
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well it's a little too late for SiteGrinder. The site is built and functions outside of the WP environment. I am trying to learn the proper way to add PHP to HTML in the WP environment. I don't want to sacrifice anything. However, even though my client is patient about me learning WP, I cannot take forever. So if there is anyone on Sitepoint that KNOWS WP and can help me learn it, please step forward. I have even posted my problem on the WP forums and am waiting for someone to step forward to help me learn quickly for this project.

  4. #29
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Augusta, Georgia, United States
    Posts
    4,044
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    One would think people on the WP forum would be eager to help out. There is a WP forum right.
    The only code I hate more than my own is everyone else's.

  5. #30
    SitePoint Evangelist cgacfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Colorful Colorado
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Anyone that is a WP expert willing to help me learn how to convert the HTML/CSS site into a WP site?

  6. #31
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    16,431
    Mentioned
    160 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I wouldn't call myself a WordPress expert but I know some.

    The more static pages you have the more work is ahead of you.

    First I would get WordPress, look for a suitable theme and tweak it.

    Considerations are what would be "content" and what would go in sidebars. AFAIK navigation should be fairly easy.

    Then it's a matter of entering the content into pages (not posts) and the "other stuff" into the sidebars.

    So it really depends on how many and how complex your static pages are.

  7. #32
    SitePoint Evangelist cgacfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Colorful Colorado
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you look at the beginning of this post, I am taking an HTML/CSS site and converting it over to WP. I really don't want to make a child theme as there is a lot of stuff I don't want in there. This is a business site that will be handled by the client after I do my stuff. I have watched a few video tutorials, read a few tutorials online, and have a few books (including one from Sitepoint). The problem I am currently having is in the original site there are left and right sidebars. They are not showing up in WP. I have tweaked the original code I posted at the beginning so here is the new code...

    header.php
    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html>
    <!--[if IE 6]>
    <html id="ie6" <?php language_attributes(); ?>>
    <![endif]-->
    <!--[if IE 7]>
    <html id="ie7" <?php language_attributes(); ?>>
    <![endif]-->
    <!--[if IE 8]>
    <html id="ie8" <?php language_attributes(); ?>>
    <![endif]-->
    <!--[if !(IE 6) | !(IE 7) | !(IE 8)  ]><!-->
    <html <?php language_attributes(); ?>>
    <!--<![endif]-->
    <head profile="http://gmpg.org/xfn/11">
    	<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="<?php bloginfo('html_type'); ?>; charset=<?php bloginfo('charset'); ?>" />
    	<title><?php if (is_single() || is_page() || is_archive()) { wp_title('',true); } else { bloginfo('description'); } ?>  <?php bloginfo('name'); ?></title>
    	<meta name="generator" content="WordPress <?php bloginfo('version'); ?>" />
    	<link rel="stylesheet" href="<?php bloginfo('stylesheet_url'); ?>" type="text/css" media="screen, projection, TV" />
    	<link rel="stylesheet" href="<?php bloginfo('template_url'); ?>/bigScreen.css" type="text/css" media="screen and (min-width:66em)"/>
    	<link rel="stylesheet" href="<?php bloginfo('template_url'); ?>/smallScreen.css" type="text/css" media="screen and (max-width:751px)"/>
        <link rel="stylesheet"href="<?php bloginfo('template_url'); ?>/css/flexslider.css">
    	<link rel="alternate" type="application/rss+xml" title="<?php bloginfo('name'); ?> RSS Feed" href="<?php bloginfo('rss2_url'); ?>" />
    	<link rel="pingback" href="<?php bloginfo('pingback_url'); ?>" />
        <script src="https://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.6.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
    <script src="<?php bloginfo('template_url'); ?>/js/jquery.flexslider.js"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript">
      $(window).load(function() {
        $('.flexslider').flexslider();
      });
    </script>
    <?php wp_head(); ?>
    </head>	
    <body>
    <div id="pageWrapper">
      <h1> Centennial Airport Community Noise Roundtable </h1>
      <ul id="mainMenu">
        <li><a href="index.php">Home</a></li>
        <li><a href="noise101.php">Noise 101</a></li>
        <li><a href="meeting.php">Meeting Recaps</a></li>
        <li><a href="workplan.php">Workplan</a></li>
        <li><a href="about.php">About Us</a></li>
        <li><a href="newsletter.php">Newsletter</a></li>
      </ul>
      <hr />
     <div class="flexslider">
      <ul class="slides">
        <li>
          <img src="wp-content/themes/cacnr/images/1.png" />
        </li>
        <li>
          <img src="wp-content/themes/cacnr/images/2.png" />
        </li>
        <li>
          <img src="wp-content/themes/cacnr/images/3.png" />
        </li>
         <li>
          <img src="wp-content/themes/cacnr/images/4.png" />
        </li>
         <li>
          <img src="wp-content/themes/cacnr/images/5.png" />
        </li>
         <li>
          <img src="wp-content/themes/cacnr/images/6.png" />
        </li>
        <li>
          <img src="wp-content/themes/cacnr/images/7.png" />
        </li>
        <li>
          <img src="wp-content/themes/cacnr/images/8.png" />
        </li>
      </ul>
    </div>
      <hr />
      <div id="columnWrapper">
        <div id="contentWrapper">
    index.php

    Code:
    <div id="columnWrapper">
        <div id="contentWrapper">
    <?php define('WP_USE_THEMES', false); get_header(); ?>
    
    <div id="columnWrapper">
        <div id="contentWrapper">
          <div id="content">
            <h2>Recent Posts</h2>
            <div class="post">
              <?php if ( have_posts() ) : while ( have_posts() ) : the_post(); ?>
              <?php endwhile; else: ?>
    <p><?php _e('Sorry, no posts matched your criteria.'); ?></p>
    <?php endif; ?>
              <!-- .post --></div>
            <!-- #content, #contentWrapper --></div>
        </div>
        	<?php get_sidebar(left); ?>
    	<?php get_sidebar(right); ?>
    	<?php get_footer(); ?>
    sidebar_left.php

    Code:
     <div id="sideBarWrapper">      
    <div id="sidebar_left">
          <?php if ( !function_exists('dynamic_sidebar')
            || !dynamic_sidebar() ) : ?>
          <h2>News</h2>
            <div class="subSection"> <img src="../images/placeHolder.png" alt="placeholder image" class="plate" />
              <p> Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. </p>
              <!-- .subSection --></div>
            <div class="subSection"> <img src="../images/placeHolder.png" alt="placeholder image" class="plate" />
              <p> Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. </p>
              <!-- .subSection --></div>
              <?php endif; ?>
            <!-- #sidebar_left --></div>
             <?php wp_sidebar(left); ?>
    sidebar_right.php

    Code:
     <div id="sidebar_right">
      <?php if ( !function_exists('dynamic_sidebar')
            || !dynamic_sidebar() ) : ?>
         (<?php _e('Search'); ?>
            <div id="sideLinks" class="subSection">
              <h2>Links</h2>
              <ul>
                <li><a href="http://webtrak.bksv.com/den" target="_blank">Track and view all aircraft in the metro area</a></li>
                <li><a href="http://www.centennialairport.com/Complaints" target="_blank">Homepage for Centennial Airport</a></li>
                <li><a href="http://www.centennialairport.com/" target="_blank">Centennial Airport Home Page</a></li>
                <li><a href="4.	http://aviation-noise.org/" target="_blank">National Organization to Insure a Sound Controlled Environment</a></li>
              </ul>
            </div>
            <div id="calendar">
              <h2>Calendar</h2> <!--this is where the calendar plugin will go-->
              <div id="RSS">
              <h2>RSS Feed</h2> <!--this is where the RSS feed plugin will go-->
              <!-- #RSS --></div>
            <!-- #sidebar_right --></div>
          <!-- #sideBarWrapper --></div>
          <?php endif; ?>
        <!-- #columnWrapper --></div>
    <?php wp_sidebar(right); ?>
      <hr />
    footer.php

    Code:
    <div id="footer">
        <ul>
           <li><a href="index.html">Home</a></li>
        <li><a href="noise101.html">Noise 101</a></li>
        <li><a href="meeting.html">Meeting Recaps</a></li>
        <li><a href="workplan.html">Workplan</a></li>
        <li><a href="about.html">About Us</a></li>
        <li><a href="newsletter.html">Newsletter</a></li>
        </ul>
        <hr />
        <div class="address"> Arapahoe County Public Airport Authority<br />
          7800 South Peoria Street, Box G-1<br />
          Englewood, CO 80112<br />
          (303) 790-0598 </div>
        <hr />
        <img src="wp-content/themes/cacnr/images/cacnr_logo.png" alt="CACNR Logo" /><br />
        &copy; 2012 Centennial Airport Community Noise Roundtable
        <hr />
        <div class="designBy"> Website Design By <a href="http://foxdenwebsolutions.com" target="_blank">Foxden Web Solutions</a> </div>
        <!-- #footer --></div>
      <!-- #pageWrapper --></div>
      <?php wp_footer(); ?>
    </body>
    </html>
    Now I don't know what is causing the sidebars not to show because I created a functions.php page and added this code

    Code:
    <?php
    if ( function_exists('register_sidebar') )
        register_sidebars(2);
    	(array(
           'before_widget' => '<div id="%1$s" class="widget %2$s">',
        'after_widget' => '</div>',
            'before_title' => '<div class="title">',
            'after_title' => '</div>',
        ));
    ?>
    I don't want the customary pages, archives, categories, and meta to be showing up at all. They are not anywhere in my code but yet they are there. You can see images of the problems in the attached image.

    bottom.jpg

  8. #33
    SitePoint Evangelist cgacfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Colorful Colorado
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well I have deleted WP from my computer and re-installed it. I have downloaded several theme templates to work with including one that has a left and right sidebar. Interesting thing about that one is it calls the left sidebar at the top of the index.php page and the right sidebar is called at the bottom of the index.php page. Now when this site was built in HTML, the content comes first and then the sidebars. maybe that was what was wrong. The only way to tell is find more left and right sidebar templates to see if this is a pattern.

  9. #34
    SitePoint Evangelist cgacfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Colorful Colorado
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Downloaded 4 different themes with left and right sidebars.....yup it's a pattern. I was supposed to call the left sidebar first, then have the main content section then call the right sidebar and then the footer. I was going off of the layout of the actual site so this is where I screwed up. Now I have to code everything again as I deleted what I did. Oh well, good learning experience.

  10. #35
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    23,592
    Mentioned
    411 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cgacfox View Post
    Interesting thing about that one is it calls the left sidebar at the top of the index.php page and the right sidebar is called at the bottom of the index.php page.
    You can switch the order around any way you like.

  11. #36
    SitePoint Evangelist cgacfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Colorful Colorado
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well unfortunately what I tried did not work. I called the sidebar_left at the top of the index.php page and called sidebar_right at the bottom of the index.php page. Now the default sidebar crap is at the top of the content area and the content section for recent posts is at the bottom of the content area. Now the right sidebar will hold SOME widgets, such as the search section, a simple calendar, and RSS feed but I also want the clients links over there. The left sidebar will hold news items that he adds. Why can't this be as straightforward as an HTML/CSS site?!?!?

  12. #37
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    23,592
    Mentioned
    411 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cgacfox View Post
    Why can't this be as straightforward as an HTML/CSS site?
    It can be, if you use a better CMS.

    Anyhow, once you've moved those bits around, you can go into those files begin called in and swap bits around there as well. It is all a bit mess, though, so I feel your pain. This is the reason I don't use WP. I prefer a CMS wehre you start with a blank slate, or your own HTML page, and just plug things in straight where they belong. Even if you pay a bit for the CMS, if you think of how much time you are spending trying to get WP into shape, it's actually a considerable saving ... at least of time, but also chargeable time.

  13. #38
    SitePoint Evangelist cgacfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Colorful Colorado
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There has to be something wrong with my code....either in the php or how I "sliced" it or in the CSS. Something is wrong and I need someone to really look at the code and tell me what is wrong because I have no clue. Maybe it is in how Jason put it all together. It doesn't like to play with Wordpress.

  14. #39
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    23,592
    Mentioned
    411 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cgacfox View Post
    Maybe it is in how Jason put it all together. It doesn't like to play with Wordpress.
    No, it's nothing to do with the HTML and CSS. It's to do with WP being a mongrel of a CMS to theme.

  15. #40
    SitePoint Evangelist cgacfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Colorful Colorado
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok I think I have figured it out. I have found what is called a Text Widget. This is used in the "widgetized" sidebars. You can add anything you want to them. I have to look into this further because I was able to get "text" in the left sidebar but it is not in the format that I need nor is it to the left, it is still above the content section. I think I still need to do something with the sidebar_left.php and sidebar_right.php pages and possibly the CSS. If there are any WP gurus on this forum, please let me know if I am on the right track!

  16. #41
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    16,431
    Mentioned
    160 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    It took me a while to find it, but the "sandbox" theme has the main content first in the mark-up. It uses CSS to put the one or two sidebars both left, both right, or one each side.

    index.php calls get_sidebar and sidebar.php is where 1 + 2 (or in your case left and right) are marked-up. eg. (very stripped)
    index.php
    PHP Code:
    <?php get_header(); ?>
    <?php next_posts_link
    (__
    <?
    php previous_posts_link(__
    <?
    php while ( have_posts() ) : the_post() ?>
    <?php the_content
    __(
    <?
    php comments_template() ?>
    <?php 
    endwhile; ?>
    <?php next_posts_link
    (__(
    <?
    php previous_posts_link(__(
    <?
    php get_sidebar() ?>
    <?php get_footer
    () ?>
    sidebar.php
    PHP Code:
        <div id="primary" class="sidebar">
    <?php if ( !function_exists('dynamic_sidebar') || !dynamic_sidebar(1) ) :
    <?
    php endif;
        </
    div><!-- #primary .sidebar -->
        
    <div id="secondary" class="sidebar">
    <?
    php if ( !function_exists('dynamic_sidebar') || !dynamic_sidebar(2) ) :
    <?
    php endif;
        </
    div><!-- #secondary .sidebar -->

  17. #42
    SitePoint Evangelist cgacfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Colorful Colorado
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Got my sidebar to finally show up last night. I changed the code in the sidebar_left.php and sidebar_right.php pages and registered with a different piece of code in the functions.php page.

    Now working on styling the calendar, which Firebug shows as #wp-calendar. Not having much luck.

  18. #43
    SitePoint Evangelist cgacfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Colorful Colorado
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have been able to set up a testing environment on my business site.

    I just noticed that IE 8 and 9 have completely broken the theme. I don't understand what is going on. Can someone look at it and tell me what is going on? It works just fine in other browsers and works in IE when in HTML/CSS

    You may view it at http://foxdenwebsolutions.com/test
    The HTML/CSS version is at http://foxdenwebsolutions.com/CACNR/index.html

  19. #44
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cgacfox,

    I'm not a coder (also a newbie here). I went through a similar situation. I had a 350 page static html site. To make things worse, the site was created with absolute positioning html. When I tried to hire a coder to convert it to Wordpress, each one looked at the code and told me I was on my own (it was a mess). I tried similar processes like the ones you outlined above. I was unsuccessful. I ended up starting over (pretty much from scratch).

    First, I bought a copy of Artisteer (I'm not an affiliate) to create a duplicate of the static html layout. I was able to output it as a Wordpress theme. After that, I manually entered the page names and copy and pasted each page's content/images etc. It took me 3 long weeks to convert everything. The result was exactly as I wanted, although it was labor-intensive.

    It's likely that your code is better than mine was (I designed my original site in WebEasy), so you may be able to accomplish this task much faster than I did.

    One piece of advice: as soon as you convert to WP (even if you have blocked search engines etc.), activate some type of security plugins immediately (I like "Better WP Security"); I was hacked a few days after completing the conversion.

    Good luck to you.

    John

  20. #45
    SitePoint Evangelist cgacfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Colorful Colorado
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I found the problem. I had a comment at the beginning of index.php, which caused IE 8 & 9 to into, what I think was quirks mode. I took the comment out and now IE7 through IE9 show it as it should be.

  21. #46
    SitePoint Evangelist cgacfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Colorful Colorado
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Now I just need to fix the header for the calendar as it does not match the header for the links, which was easy to style being a text widget. GRRRRR

  22. #47
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    23,592
    Mentioned
    411 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    This isn't online yet, is it? Otherwise it's almost impossible to help with this, as we can't see the problem.

  23. #48
    SitePoint Evangelist cgacfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Colorful Colorado
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Its up, Ralph. Go to http://foxdenwebsolutions.com/test

  24. #49
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    23,592
    Mentioned
    411 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cgacfox View Post
    I just need to fix the header for the calendar as it does not match the header for the links
    Hm, they look the same to me. What browser are you using?

  25. #50
    SitePoint Evangelist cgacfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Colorful Colorado
    Posts
    412
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am viewing in IE9, FF, Chrome, etc. The header for calendar sits higher than the header for links. I can see rounded corners at the top on calendar. There shouldn't be.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •