SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Best ways to make money from website?

Best ways to make money from website? I have been making money with Google adsense for a few years and that works quite well, but now I am looking for other ways to make money from my websites.
    In general what’s the best method for generating revenue from your websites? Do you think making & selling your own products and services is more profitable than selling other peoples products and services and taking a small cut?

Mouse catcher silver trophy Stevie D's Avatar
    Mentioned
    122 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    It's difficult, and there is no one right answer that works for everybody.

I've heard it said that producing and selling off-the-shelf software is a better tactic than physical products, website design or other bespoke services, because that way you have a one-off investment to create the software and then you can sell it again and again for almost no extra cost to yourself ... whereas any physical product, design or other service will require investment or production costs for each and every sale, which obviously means you have to recoup those costs in each and every sale rather than amortising them over the aggregated sales of a single software product.

On the other hand, it may be that you can only sell software to a limited market at a fairly low price – people often aren't willing to pay much for software, which they see as having next-to-zero production costs – whereas for a physical product or bespoke service, you may be able to charge much more, with higher margins, and more profit across the whole production run.