SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    133
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Enable byte-range request on server

    How can I enable byte-range request on server? I'm using Amazon linux and Apache web-server.

    Purpose it to submit podcast to iTunes.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Foozle Reducer ServerStorm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Burlington, Canada
    Posts
    2,699
    Mentioned
    89 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Is a byte-range request something that iTunes requires? Who is saying that this is a requirement? Is this via an iTunes API?

    Likely, more info is needed. This is not a common request so as many details as possible will let us know if we can or cannot help.

    Regards,
    Steve
    ictus==""

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    133
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes! this is required for iTunes to submit podcast. When I'm trying to submit iTunes throws error.

    You can search for byte-range request for iTunes. Problem is mentioned everywhere but no solution.

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by aryandelhi View Post
    Yes! this is required for iTunes to submit podcast. When I'm trying to submit iTunes throws error.

    You can search for byte-range request for iTunes. Problem is mentioned everywhere but no solution.

    Thanks!
    Im having the same issue, though with asp.net and blogengine.net on hostgator.. I think byte range can be set in IIS settings.. but for a shared plan it doesnt help.

    There was this one post about forcing a 206 request http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...st-is-rejected But in terms of my situation I wasn't sure how to apply it.

  5. #5
    Twitter: @TimIgoe silver trophy TimIgoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Blackpool, UK
    Posts
    1,056
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    You need to support the "Range" header in Apache, it should be built in by default I believe.

    What version of Apache?

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TimIgoe View Post
    You need to support the "Range" header in Apache, it should be built in by default I believe.

    What version of Apache?
    Mine is asp.net (IIS) on a shared server and blogengine.net

  7. #7
    Twitter: @TimIgoe silver trophy TimIgoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Blackpool, UK
    Posts
    1,056
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Thinking about it again, http://h264.code-shop.com/trac gives a good start at settnig up streaming requests which I guess is what itunes is after. This can be added to both Apache and IIS.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •