SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Karkala, India
    Posts
    79
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How to connect to fetched datbase and display results

    Hi,
    I have colleted the data from web page and stored it in the sqlite file now tell me how to use it in rails application and display results should i create any model for it or can be displayed directly in controller and view i had parse with nokogiri to stor in datbase i am newbie to ruby could you hel me how and where to use this database file.

  2. #2
    padawan silver trophybronze trophy markbrown4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    4,113
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    You'll need a config/database.yml file with the right config e.g.
    Code yaml:
    development:
      adapter: sqlite3
      database: db/development.sqlite3
      pool: 5
      timeout: 5000
    A model file in app/models/telephone_record.rb
    Code ruby:
    class TelephoneRecord < ActiveRecord::Base
    end
    Then within a controller action you can get all the records like so
    Code ruby:
    def index
      @telephone_records = TelephoneRecord.all
    end
    And render them in your views.

    If this isn't making sense I'd suggest reading through http://guides.rubyonrails.org/getting_started.html which explains all the basics.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Karkala, India
    Posts
    79
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by markbrown4 View Post
    You'll need a config/database.yml file with the right config e.g.
    Code yaml:
    development:
      adapter: sqlite3
      database: db/development.sqlite3
      pool: 5
      timeout: 5000
    A model file in app/models/telephone_record.rb
    Code ruby:
    class TelephoneRecord < ActiveRecord::Base
    end
    Then within a controller action you can get all the records like so
    Code ruby:
    def index
      @telephone_records = TelephoneRecord.all
    end
    And render them in your views.

    If this isn't making sense I'd suggest reading through http://guides.rubyonrails.org/getting_started.html which explains all the basics.
    thank you mark you have be helping me a lot thank you

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Karkala, India
    Posts
    79
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by bhatpajju13 View Post
    thank you mark you have be helping me a lot thank you
    should i connect to the databse using the model and what to give inside migrate as this is already created database

  5. #5
    padawan silver trophybronze trophy markbrown4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    4,113
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    If you have that config file setup Rails will connect to the db when you start up the server.

    This line is all that is need to fetch all the records from the database.
    Code ruby:
    @telephone_records = TelephoneRecord.all

    A migration is only used to change the database schema(add columns, create tables etc.), you don't need a migration if your database already exists.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Karkala, India
    Posts
    79
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by markbrown4 View Post
    If you have that config file setup Rails will connect to the db when you start up the server.

    This line is all that is need to fetch all the records from the database.
    Code ruby:
    @telephone_records = TelephoneRecord.all

    A migration is only used to change the database schema(add columns, create tables etc.), you don't need a migration if your database already exists.
    i have database file name tel-directory.sqlite and its text file in db folder so i went to config/database.yaml changed it to db/tel-directory.sqlite in development then create a model telephone_record migration will be automatically generated here then i configured controller and its view but i get something like ----[] like no records in database i used sqlite manager i get records tough when i go and check tel-directory file.sqlite with 0kb is created what is going wrong i am not getting it.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Karkala, India
    Posts
    79
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    development:
    adapter: sqlite3
    database: db/tel-directory.sqlite3
    pool: 5
    timeout: 5000

    model

    class TelephoneRecord < ActiveRecord::Base
    # attr_accessible :title, :body
    end

    controller
    class TelephoneRecordController < ApplicationController
    def index
    @telephone_records = TelephoneRecord.find_by_sql("SELECT * FROM telephone_records")
    end
    end

    view
    <%= debug(@telephone_records)%>

  8. #8
    padawan silver trophybronze trophy markbrown4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    4,113
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Try 'rails c' in the Terminal and enter this
    Code:
    TelephoneRecord.all
    If that doesn't return your data you know either something in the config or the database is wrong.
    That should narrow down the problem.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Karkala, India
    Posts
    79
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How to connect to fetched datbase and display results

    i have a database with tablename telephone records consisting of field select city ,match,phone_no,name,address... i want to create form which uses selectcity and match and textarea with submit button on clicking display phone_no name and address to above selected values can you get me some ideas i am newbie.

  10. #10
    padawan silver trophybronze trophy markbrown4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    4,113
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    You'll find it easier if you work through all of the RailsGuides http://guides.rubyonrails.org/ before trying to solve problems like this.
    I read them multiple times when I was starting out, it will give you a solid understanding of all of the major components of Rails.

    Forms and responding to different actions are covered in the Getting Started section
    http://guides.rubyonrails.org/getting_started.html

    The more advanced form helpers are covered here.
    http://guides.rubyonrails.org/form_helpers.html

  11. #11
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Karkala, India
    Posts
    79
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How to connect to fetched datbase and display results

    how to display the exact results by selecting the values in form selectcity and match and print matching phone_no,name and address in table. these is what i have done so far newbie in rails any help would be great.........



    1.controller

    class TelephoneController < ApplicationController
    def index
    end

    def AreaWiseSearch
    @telephone_records = TelephoneRecords.findall)
    end
    end

    2.created a form with this action index.html.erb

    <form name="form1" method="post" action="AreaWiseSearch.aspx?Area=04" id="form1">
    <table width ="100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0" align="center">
    <tr>
    <td>

    <table border="1" style="border-collapse:collapse" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="2" bordercolor="green" width ="90%">
    <tr class="txt2">
    <td align="left" colspan="1" style="width: 97px; height: 26px;">Select City</td>
    <td align="left" colspan="4" style=" height: 26px;">
    <select name="DropDownList2" id="DropDownList2">
    <option value="BAGBAHARA">BAGBAHARA</option>
    <option value="BALODABAZAR">BALODABAZAR</option>
    <option value="BASNA">BASNA</option>
    <option value="BHATARPARA">BHATARPARA</option>
    <option value="BILAIGARH">BILAIGARH</option>
    <option value="DEOBHOG">DEOBHOG</option>
    <option value="DHAMTARI">DHAMTARI</option>
    <option value="FIGESHWAR">FIGESHWAR</option>
    <option value="gariyaband">gariyaband</option>
    <option value="KASDOL">KASDOL</option>
    <option value="KURUD">KURUD</option>
    <option value="MAHASAMUND">MAHASAMUND</option>
    <option value="MAINPUR">MAINPUR</option>
    <option value="MANPUR">MANPUR</option>
    <option value="Nagri">Nagri</option>
    <option value="NEORA">NEORA</option>
    <option value="RAIPUR">RAIPUR</option>
    <option value="SARAIPALI">SARAIPALI</option>

    </select></td>
    </tr>
    <tr class="txt2">
    <td align="left" colspan="2" style="width: 85px;">Search By</td>
    <td align="left" style="width: 100px" class="txt2">
    <input id="rdbName" type="radio" name="Search" value="rdbName" checked="checked" /><label for="rdbName">Name</label></td>
    <td align="left" style="width: 100px" class="txt2">
    <input id="rdbAddress" type="radio" name="Search" value="rdbAddress" /><label for="rdbAddress">Address</label></td>
    <td align="left" style="width: 125px" class="txt2">
    <input id="rdbPhoneNo" type="radio" name="Search" value="rdbPhoneNo" /><label for="rdbPhoneNo">Telephone No.</label></td>
    </tr>
    <tr class="txt2">
    <td align="left" colspan="2" style="width: 85px;">Search Key</td>
    <td align="left" colspan="3" style="height: 22px">
    <input name="txtSearch" type="text" id="txtSearch" /></td>
    </tr>
    <tr class="txt2">
    <td align="left" colspan="2" style="width: 85px;">Match</td>
    <td align="left" colspan="3" style="height: 26px">
    <select name="drpMatch" id="drpMatch" style="width:126px;">
    <option value="Exactly">Exactly</option>
    <option value="Starting With">Starting With</option>

    </select></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td align="center" colspan="5" style="height: 26px">
    <input type="submit" name="Button1" value="Search" id="Button1" style="color:FloralWhite;background-color:#804040;font-weight:bold;" /></td>
    </tr>
    </table>
    <br />

    <table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%">
    <tr>
    <td align="center" colspan="5" style="height: 26px">

    <span id="lblerror" style="color:Red;font-weight:bold;"></span>
    </td>
    </tr>
    </table>

    </td>
    </tr>
    </table>
    </tr>
    </table>



    3.areawise.html.erb

    <html>
    <head>
    <title></title>
    </head>
    <body>
    <% for telephonerecords in @telephone_records-%>
    Phoneno%=telephonerecords.phone_no%> - Name%=telephonerecords.name%> -Address: <%=telephonerecords.address%></br>
    <%end-%>
    </body>
    </html>


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •