SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    278
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Has this site been blacklisted

    When I type in site:adomain.co.uk there is a listing of the site's pages. However, when I type in link:adomain.co.uk the page is blank.
    adomain.co.uk is the site I am checking.

    Does this mean that the site is blacklisted?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    278
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I should have said that previously link:adomain.co.uk revealed dozens of results

  3. #3
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,478
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ignore the link: operator. It provides meaningless results.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    278
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    But why would it suddenly start showing no results?

  5. #5
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,478
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No idea, but as its a meaningless search, spend your time worrying about something else.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    278
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This isn't an isolated problem - the site has also dropped out of the sky for all but 1 search term in the past week or so
    I suspect that automated backlinking was used previously.

  7. #7
    Mouse catcher silver trophy Stevie D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,888
    Mentioned
    122 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Hlforr View Post
    When I type in site:adomain.co.uk there is a listing of the site's pages. However, when I type in link:adomain.co.uk the page is blank.
    adomain.co.uk is the site I am checking.

    Does this mean that the site is blacklisted?
    No, what it means is that Google doesn't actually give you anything useful with the link: operator any more (and hasn't done for a little while). Whether it was partly a security measure, or wholly a way to drive people towards Google Webmaster Tools I'm not sure, but doing a link: search rarely gives many results, if any. GWT should give you the full list.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •