SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict Chris Roane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Helena, MT
    Posts
    287
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    I read somewhere that it was possible to have two graphic/video cards in one computer. Is this true and if it is, does it help out much?

    I am just wondering because I have a Voodoo 3 card that I can't add to my new cpu (because the graphics card that is in there, is built into the the system and can't be easily replaced with another card, or atleast that is what the people at Staples told me).

    Thanks!

    Chris Roane

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Eugene, OR
    Posts
    178
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you want to use dual monitors, then you need to have (and can have) two video/graphic cards(Or you can get on of the new Matrox cards which allows dual monitors from one video card). Then you can use two monitors as if they were joined together. You know, you can drag things from one to the other.

    Its really great if you want to use something like photoshop and keep all the pallettes on one monitor and the canvas on the other.

    Of course you need to have a motherboard that has room for two cards.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict Chris Roane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Helena, MT
    Posts
    287
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ohhhh....so two people can play against each other in Unreal Tournament or Quake 3 on one computer, but with two monitors and two graphic cards?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast GodFather's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    oh, and wsresource, you can disable the onboard video very easily, there is either a jumper on the motherboard, or a bios setting, it depends on the board, and usually if you put another graphics card in, the bios will detect it and use that card rather than the built on video card. I would highly suggest doing this because the built on video always sucks.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict Chris Roane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Helena, MT
    Posts
    287
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So I don't actually have to pull out the old graphics card and insert a new one, for my computer to use the new one? I can just put in the new graphics card and it will automatically use that card instead of the old one?

    Thanks!

    Chris Roane

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I didnt have to disable anything. I just put my voodoo3 in an open PCI slot on my mobo and everything worked perfectly.

    Dual Monitors would be great

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict Chris Roane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Helena, MT
    Posts
    287
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I gais I will install my new video card now. I am happy the new card won't go to waste now.

    Chris Roane

  8. #8
    Hi there! Owen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    1,165
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can install 2 graphics cards but you can't play 2 games at once one it:

    1. Your computer simply isn't powerful enough to handle it. The CPU still does quite a bit of work.
    2. Software doesn't support it.
    3. It's hard to get 2 keyboards hooked up.

    What you can do is share your Windows desktop between the graphic cards and drag windows between them. Ie) keep sitepoint open on one, have photoshop full-screen on the other with extra palletes on the other monitor. and so on.

    Owen

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict Chris Roane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Helena, MT
    Posts
    287
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I fully understand now.

    Thanks for clarifying that with me, Owen. I really appreciate it.

    Chris Roane

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    At a computer store (such as Best Buy, CompUSA, etc) you'll probably find a system with multiple monitors on one computer. I believe the maximum is 9 monitors, but I have never seen a computer with 9 free PCI slots.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •