SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Install on local machine

    I am new with word press so I would like to install it on my local machine to practice on. I already have apache, mysql & php installed on my machine. My question is what directory do I put it in? do I put it in htdocs apache or elsewere? Thanks Pat

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict tom8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    310
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here is a nice tutorial may give you the answer:

    http://www.simplehelp.net/2008/08/25...ur-windows-pc/

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Tom8, but I installed apache & the lot individually. Don't have php admin (never could get it to work).

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict tom8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    310
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Instead of installing them individually, maybe it is better for you to install wampserver instead. This package will include everything you need to set up a localhost with Apache, MySQL, PHP, and PhpMyadmin.

    http://www.wampserver.com/en/

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard webcosmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,433
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Apache got a webroot folder, htdocs or something else. You can create a separate folder for the website.
    Create a database for the site using phpMyAdmin or by command line utility.
    Copy all wordpress upload folder content in the site folder. Change the config file.
    Run the site on browser, this should lead you to the install process.

    good luck.

  6. #6
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    16,445
    Mentioned
    160 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Yes, the "public root" folder for Apache is htdocs.

    I had XAMPP on my old machine and it worked fine. But for the one I have now I wanted APACHE, PHP, Perl, Python and MySQL separate so I could upgrade them individually. A bit more of a pain setting them up but good if you can manage IMHO. But if you get get frustrated don't let it stop you, go with a packaged bundle instead.

    Instead of phpMyAdmin, I installed MySQL Workbench, definitely a lot different from what I'm used to, but I'm getting the hang of it.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •