SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 32

Thread: Seo question

  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Seo question

    Hi

    I am learning web design and have been working really hard for sometime now. I was lucky enough to get some help with this site for sitepoint:
    http://www.bbasphaltcanberra.com/

    It's for my neighbor, and it's not really ranking in Google at all. Launched about two months ago. Here is what I have tried

    Meta updates
    Getting links online (I have created a facebook page for him), and asked him to ask to get links, but I can't control this too much)
    Keywords in content
    Update once in a while.

    I know it's not the best looking site, but it's pretty much my first one so lay off! haha

    Thanks guys.
    Get a little bit extra out of life with www.stakemyrep.com
    and stay motivated the easy way!

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru MikeBigg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Posts
    970
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What search phrases were you hoping to rank well on?

    I quite like the design - clean and simple. There isn't much text though.

    One thing I would do is change the gallery from just showing pictures to showing pictures with a description of the work done. Maybe 100 - 200 words for each.

    Regards,

    Mike

  3. #3
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,319
    Mentioned
    462 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    It takes a while for a site to start to look good in Google's eyes. It helps to have been online for a few years. A few months is too soon to be expecting good rankings, IMHO. You can read up on recommended SEO practices in the sticky threads in this forum. Just keep plugging away, and the site will work its way up the SERPs.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru MikeBigg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Posts
    970
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I googled "asphalt canberra".

    Interestingly, this page: http://www.mylifeisagarden.com/BnB/index.html was on the google's first page. Is that your development site? If so, I should remove it PDQ - Google doesn't like duplicate content.

    You might like to try registering at a website I developed a few years ago, but don't own anymore: http://www.onlinecount.com The googlebot passes by the site list daily.

    Regards,

    Mike

  5. #5
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,421
    Mentioned
    273 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Your major problem is the lack of text on your pages. There is very little there for Google to index. For example, under "Services", instead of just a list of services, add a descriptive paragraph or two about each. Use MikeBigg's suggestion and add descriptions to the gallery page, too.

    I also noticed that you've used the same text in your meta description tag on every page, but each page should be different, with content specific to that page. Google sometimes uses the content of the description tag to display in the search results, so it's worth making the most of it. You can write two or three sentences here, so be creative.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru MikeBigg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Posts
    970
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I googled "b&b asphalt canberra" expecting the site to come up on the first page. What came up in position 1 was the facebook page you made for them!

    Regards,

    Mike

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys! All very helpful. I was wonderinf about my dev site/blog. Perhaps I should just remove the page from my blog, I was not sure if it would still be there though (like some kind of ghost page).

    Will do re content. Any suggestions on how to implement a gallery with the descriptions (I am spending loads of time with bootstrap atm, so I have the media grid to use there, but this ain boot strap. Wait, Ic ould just pull the code I want and add the licence I suppose?
    Get a little bit extra out of life with www.stakemyrep.com
    and stay motivated the easy way!

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hehe that blog content is gone. How long before google stops ranking it?
    Get a little bit extra out of life with www.stakemyrep.com
    and stay motivated the easy way!

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could really use more content on your pages. Not just list items, but full on paragraphs. Going on about content, you can try to do some article marketing by writing useful articles and submitting them to places like ezinearticles and article dashboard. There are also plenty of free press release places to announce news for your website.

  10. #10
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,319
    Mentioned
    462 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by unconformed View Post
    hehe that blog content is gone. How long before google stops ranking it?
    You should redirect it to the real site by a .htaccess redirect.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks Ralph - but I have removed the directory completely so I guess it does not apply now?
    Get a little bit extra out of life with www.stakemyrep.com
    and stay motivated the easy way!

  12. #12
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks for this, I'll work on some more stuff. I suppose that is a big part of web design and I love writing, so I'll just make some content up and post it - he wont mind he wants business.

    The site is for my neighbour and he putting asphalt on the ground, is there much point writing articles about that? this site has been described as a glorified yellow pages entry, so I'm not sure how far I can push it content wise.

    What about 'link farms' someone mentioned one up above
    Get a little bit extra out of life with www.stakemyrep.com
    and stay motivated the easy way!

  13. #13
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi

    Is it free? Is it like a link farm? I can;t see it at work.
    Get a little bit extra out of life with www.stakemyrep.com
    and stay motivated the easy way!

  14. #14
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,421
    Mentioned
    273 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by unconformed View Post
    thanks Ralph - but I have removed the directory completely so I guess it does not apply now?
    You can still redirect it using the .htaccess file, so that anybody requesting one of the old development pages is automatically sent to the same page on the new site. Something like
    Code:
    Redirect 301 /page.html http://www.domain.com/page.html
    for each page.

  15. #15
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You should also include the canonical meta tag to indicate to Google where the content originated from. Although you have deleted the dev site Google have obviously already index it, by using the canonical tag Google will add weight to the actual site you are trying to optimise.

  16. #16
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi there thanks for bringing this up, that was a quite simple and nice design. We must just remember this fact in gaining for traffic we must consider the good and well organize web page to attract for visitors and this may cause in increase traffic.

  17. #17
    SitePoint Member Rachels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your design is neat, but you need more content. Yes the one commenter is right about your use of LIST , i.e. http://www.bbasphaltcanberra.com/services.html
    Cliche but its what works, "Technique may be Queen but Content is always King"

    Nice site, keep it up!
    Satellite Broadcast Services and Teleport Services ~ Transforming communication challenges to innovative solutions

  18. #18
    Wired Life GeraldNitram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    274
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I agree with adding some descriptions on the images. The site's cool, simple, and clean. It loads fast. That's what people are looking for. I took a look at your page source, by the way; if you're going to use those keywords, it's definitely going to be a hard battle to get to the top spot of the search results. Have you thought of ranking for the long-tail keywords?
    Last edited by GeraldNitram; Apr 23, 2012 at 02:43. Reason: Forgot my question at the end. :)
    Are you willing to become an SEO reseller?
    Work with a 100% white label SEO company today!

  19. #19
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks for the cred on the design, I really was not looking for that here but I am pleased the sitepoint peeps like, and I will keep it up! Infact I am launching a browser based game soon! Using bootstrap (and a programmer mate hehe)I love it!

    Anyway, I have tried to do some of the stuff here. I am getting my client to write some content for each service, a sentence or two.

    I have added some alt tags to the images, and I will get onto the descriptions, however this means I need to re look at the gallery I have. I may need to rebuild it. Any suggestions for some easy to implement css? I may just grab the bootstrap code (and add credit in licence).

    I will also try just get more content in general.

    I am going to quote per person.
    Get a little bit extra out of life with www.stakemyrep.com
    and stay motivated the easy way!

  20. #20
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TechnoBear View Post
    You can still redirect it using the .htaccess file, so that anybody requesting one of the old development pages is automatically sent to the same page on the new site. Something like
    Code:
    Redirect 301 /page.html http://www.domain.com/page.html
    for each page.
    I don't get it, t the directory for dev is gone, 100%, so where do I put it? Should I recreate a folder in my dev site and put the 301 ht access file. I hate ht access files btw!

    This goes for the canonical stuff too. Which I also don't get (even after reading three web pages.)

    I think it works like this. Page with duplicate content gets the tag to say - rank this page in the tag higer, it had more important stuff. I can;t see how I would apply that here?
    Get a little bit extra out of life with www.stakemyrep.com
    and stay motivated the easy way!

  21. #21
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by elbot View Post
    You should also include the canonical meta tag to indicate to Google where the content originated from. Although you have deleted the dev site Google have obviously already index it, by using the canonical tag Google will add weight to the actual site you are trying to optimise.
    So should I include that in the dev site? It is gone 100% I delted the diretory everything
    Get a little bit extra out of life with www.stakemyrep.com
    and stay motivated the easy way!

  22. #22
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,421
    Mentioned
    273 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by unconformed View Post
    I don't get it, t the directory for dev is gone, 100%, so where do I put it? Should I recreate a folder in my dev site and put the 301 ht access file. I hate ht access files btw!
    Add it to the .htaccess file in the root directory of the development site. You just need to change the code I gave above to include the old dev directory, so
    Code:
    Redirect 301 /directory/page.html http://www.newdomain.com/page.html

  23. #23
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    but the dev site is my blog - which means it not a dev site at all.

    I have this

    www.mylifeisagarden.com

    And I made a sub folder /BnB

    http://www.mylifeisagarden.com/bnb

    So If I add redirect to my blog root- well, will that redirect my whole blog?

    sorry I should have explained. I put the site there prior to having hosting, to test etc.
    Last edited by TechnoBear; Apr 25, 2012 at 06:37. Reason: URLs unlinked
    Get a little bit extra out of life with www.stakemyrep.com
    and stay motivated the easy way!

  24. #24
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,319
    Mentioned
    462 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by unconformed View Post
    So If I add redirect to my blog root- well, will that redirect my whole blog?
    No, not at all. Redirects like these operate on a page-by-page basis (although you can redirect folders, and even whole sites, too, with different code). You are just saying to the search engines—"Hey, you know that page that was here before? Well, if you want to find it, go to this other location instead". That keeps them happy.

    It's like if you are renting a house with a bunch of friends and one of them leaves to live somewhere else. You go to the post office and say—"So Ando has moved to a new house." Then they start to send So Andso's mail to another location. It doesn't mean everyone in your house stops getting mail.

  25. #25
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,421
    Mentioned
    273 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    No. As I said, include the directory in the redirect pathway.
    Code:
    Redirect 301 /BnB/page1.html http://www.newdomain.com/page1.html
    Redirect 301 /BnB/page2.html http://www.newdomain.com/page2.html
    Redirect 301 /BnB/page3.html http://www.newdomain.com/page3.html
    and so on for each page.

    That will only redirect the page matching that exact file path.

    N.B. Make sure you get the directory name exactly right. In your post above, you have it as both BnB and bnb. Linux is case-sensitive, so you need to use the correct version.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •