SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 34
  1. #1
    Galactic Overlord gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    HAWK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,499
    Mentioned
    944 Post(s)
    Tagged
    14 Thread(s)

    Some More Forum Changes

    You'll notice a new 'Home' link in the orange nav bar. That link takes you to the new Featured Threads homepage, and the 'Forum' link now takes you to the original vBulletin homepage (for those of you that missed it).

    I believe the cropped images/lines issue has also been fixed.

    Thanks again to @TimIgoe ; for all his hard work.

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,117
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Great work, Sarah. Having both pages is really handy. Well done to all involved.

    EDIT: @HAWK ; one minor bug, though: when you are in the What's New section (and a few other places), the Home link still has the "selected" class on it, making it orange. Should be a simple fix.
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."

  3. #3
    Non-Member bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Keene, NH
    Posts
    3,760
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yay, I can now navigate in a useful manner again.

  4. #4
    Robert Wellock silver trophybronze trophy xhtmlcoder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    A Maze of Twisty Little Passages
    Posts
    6,316
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There is an erroneous --> from a rogue --> on the SPF home page.

  5. #5
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Awesome, thank you .

    Was the issue of mobile users having overlapping menu bars fixed?
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  6. #6
    Foozle Reducer ServerStorm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Burlington, Canada
    Posts
    2,699
    Mentioned
    89 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Thanks for your and TimIgoe's work on this. For such an undertaking it for the most part has gone very smooth. Great job!
    ictus==""

  7. #7
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Yeah thanks a lot for workin' on it! I love having the old forum page!

    ~TehYoyo

  8. #8
    Twitter: @TimIgoe silver trophy TimIgoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Blackpool, UK
    Posts
    1,056
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by xhtmlcoder View Post
    There is an erroneous --> from a rogue --&gt; on the SPF home page.
    This should be resolved, a rogue template didn't get updated properly

  9. #9
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Problems:

    Capture.JPG

    The sidebar is showing through.

  10. #10
    Galactic Overlord gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    HAWK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,499
    Mentioned
    944 Post(s)
    Tagged
    14 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TehYoyo View Post
    Problems:

    Capture.JPG

    The sidebar is showing through.
    What page is that?

  11. #11
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Just the main forum page: http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/forum.php

    ~TehYoyo

  12. #12
    Twitter: @TimIgoe silver trophy TimIgoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Blackpool, UK
    Posts
    1,056
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Interesting - is that in a specific browser / on a phone? The window looks small for a start

  13. #13
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,088
    Mentioned
    256 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TimIgoe View Post
    Interesting - is that in a specific browser / on a phone? The window looks small for a start
    It's doing that in FF on my 17" desktop monitor, but only on Community Centre and Content. Other sections are fine. (Haven't checked other browsers.)
    Take plenty of exercise walk round and round the garden
    or
    sign up now for the Isle of Jura 10K or Half Marathon!

  14. #14
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,088
    Mentioned
    256 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TimIgoe View Post
    Interesting - is that in a specific browser / on a phone? The window looks small for a start
    Update - I've tried it on Chromium and Epiphany (both Webkit) and Firefox on Windows and it happens on all of them. Could it be the remains of the old "Most recent posts" and "Most recent threads" sections? They're certainly active links to something. In most cases, all I could get was the user-profile, because the only visible part was the avatar, but on one occasion I managed to get a link to an actual post.

    I think I'm seeing it because, since the latest upgrade, I've increased the font-size for the forum to make it legible. If I view it at "normal" size, the extra text is not visible, although there is an edge of an avatar showing, if I look hard enough.
    Take plenty of exercise walk round and round the garden
    or
    sign up now for the Isle of Jura 10K or Half Marathon!

  15. #15
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,088
    Mentioned
    256 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Since the upgrade, with my font size increased slightly, I've found the "Unanswered threads" link is hidden behind the search box. (As I don't use it, it doesn't affect me.) I'm currently using a friend's computer with a smaller screen (15") than mine, and the "Unanswered threads" link is wrapping onto the next line, covering part of the breadcrumb navigation and rendering it unusable. As I do use that quite a lot, it's a real pain in the bahookey. (If I can't use the breadcrumbs to return to the forum menu, then the forum doesn't get marked as read and I have to return to it again just to sort that out, etc.)
    navigation.png
    Take plenty of exercise walk round and round the garden
    or
    sign up now for the Isle of Jura 10K or Half Marathon!

  16. #16
    Foozle Reducer ServerStorm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Burlington, Canada
    Posts
    2,699
    Mentioned
    89 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TechnoBear View Post
    Since the upgrade, with my font size increased slightly, I've found the "Unanswered threads" link is hidden behind the search box. (As I don't use it, it doesn't affect me.) I'm currently using a friend's computer with a smaller screen (15") than mine, and the "Unanswered threads" link is wrapping onto the next line, covering part of the breadcrumb navigation and rendering it unusable. As I do use that quite a lot, it's a real pain in the bahookey. (If I can't use the breadcrumbs to return to the forum menu, then the forum doesn't get marked as read and I have to return to it again just to sort that out, etc.)
    navigation.png
    Hi,

    I think I fixed this using a custom stylesheet. I know that this thread is about more permanent fixes; however for now you can do this and it cleaned this issue up for me:

    Code:
     
    body { 
      line-height: 1.25 !important; 
    }
    .globalsearch {
      margin: 40px 0 20px 0 !important;	
    }
    .prev_next, .first_last {
      margin: 1px 0 0 0 !important;	
    }
    ictus==""

  17. #17
    Twitter: @TimIgoe silver trophy TimIgoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Blackpool, UK
    Posts
    1,056
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Right, it looks like its an issue relating to using the site in a small window / screen size - I'll see what can be done to reduce the issue there

  18. #18
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,088
    Mentioned
    256 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Oddly enough, I've managed to "solve" the problem (for myself) by enabling my friend's wireless connection and using my own laptop. I'm sure my laptop and her monitor have the same resolution (1024x768px), but there's no problem on my laptop. Weird.
    Take plenty of exercise walk round and round the garden
    or
    sign up now for the Isle of Jura 10K or Half Marathon!

  19. #19
    SitePoint Guru bronze trophy TheRaptor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    710
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I found a bug. If you click on the handle to the left of the forum index to bring out the sidebar, it does nothing. It's linking to '#".
    TheRaptor - Joe

  20. #20
    Twitter: @TimIgoe silver trophy TimIgoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Blackpool, UK
    Posts
    1,056
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TheRaptor View Post
    I found a bug. If you click on the handle to the left of the forum index to bring out the sidebar, it does nothing. It's linking to '#".
    Not quite sure what you are clicking on there?

  21. #21
    Twitter: @TimIgoe silver trophy TimIgoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Blackpool, UK
    Posts
    1,056
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TechnoBear View Post
    Oddly enough, I've managed to "solve" the problem (for myself) by enabling my friend's wireless connection and using my own laptop. I'm sure my laptop and her monitor have the same resolution (1024x768px), but there's no problem on my laptop. Weird.
    Very odd - something eating a little more space on your friends pc that isn't installed on yours? Toolbar or osmething

  22. #22
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,088
    Mentioned
    256 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TimIgoe View Post
    Very odd - something eating a little more space on your friends pc that isn't installed on yours? Toolbar or osmething
    No - I have more things installed on mine. She's using Xubuntu Linux and I'm using Ubuntu. Her Firefox defaults are set the same as mine (I know, because I set them ).

  23. #23
    Twitter: @TimIgoe silver trophy TimIgoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Blackpool, UK
    Posts
    1,056
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TechnoBear View Post
    No - I have more things installed on mine. She's using Xubuntu Linux and I'm using Ubuntu. Her Firefox defaults are set the same as mine (I know, because I set them ).
    Let me take a stab in the dark and say "fonts" then I remember the HELL i had on my Ubuntu laptop with fonts
    Nothing looked right, not matter which fonts i put on and I do remember vastly different sizes being shown on sites I did at work.

  24. #24
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,088
    Mentioned
    256 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TimIgoe View Post
    Let me take a stab in the dark and say "fonts" then I remember the HELL i had on my Ubuntu laptop with fonts
    Nothing looked right, not matter which fonts i put on and I do remember vastly different sizes being shown on sites I did at work.
    That's a thought. I have MS Core Fonts installed, but I suspect she may not. I can't remember installing them for her and I set her system up. I'll check in the morning.

    Any progress on the issue in posts #9-#14?

  25. #25
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,088
    Mentioned
    256 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TimIgoe View Post
    Let me take a stab in the dark and say "fonts" then
    Good call, Tim - that's what it was. She didn't have MS core fonts installed. Sorry, I should have thought of that.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •