SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 34
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Layout for a links page

    I got a very simple html/css website. Im trying to keep it simple plus i dont know a lot about php or scripts. Anyway im gonna be trading links with certain related sites and i need a links page. Can you guys suggest a site that has a links page so i can get some ideas?

    I dont know if theres a way to keep things organized without having to edit the page every time. and what if I get more then 1 page worth of links. I was thinking of figuring out how sites links little numbers at the botom of the page to another page like 1,2,3 ect.

    Idk I cant get my thoughts out clearly. If you understand me and can give me some ideas and help id appreciate it.

    And weres the seo on this site? This site seemed to change alot since i used to come on here.

  2. #2
    Mazel tov! bronze trophy kohoutek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    4,248
    Mentioned
    30 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The SEO forum's been axed. Questions pertaining to SEO can be posted in the Internet Marketing forum.

    To manage your content (or links in that case), you can use pretty much any simple off-the-shelf CMS. The numbers you're referring to are called pagination.
    Maleika E. A. | Rockatee | Twitter | Dribbble



  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yea i just went to a seo forum. I did like this site alot more the way it was some 5-6 years ago. Anyway so pagination is what i would do if i want to keep it html/css. CMS sounds like what im thinking as far as having a backend to just drop in content.

    what would you suggest? Considering I would have to learn how to set up a CMS? Im thinking about jsut doing it static to start cuz its so much work and im just trying to get on Google's first page. i rather focus my energy on getting back links. In order to get some of the back links im thinking about getting i need to add reciprocal links so i need a link page. I also will need to organize it some how. Im thinking about doing it by category rather then alphabetically.

  4. #4
    Mazel tov! bronze trophy kohoutek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    4,248
    Mentioned
    30 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'd suggest a CMS like Perch or MODx, the former being a commercial CMS, but pretty good code-wise.
    Maleika E. A. | Rockatee | Twitter | Dribbble



  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot mike.fro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Lewisville, Texas
    Posts
    132
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Wordpress? With their plugin/add-on system I can't imagine a link based directory is not possible. With the limited experience you seem to have, I would strongly suggest Wordpress. Depending on your host, the setup could be as simple as clicking a button.
    Michael John Froseth

  6. #6
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,721
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'd just make a PHP array and store each link in there. Count how many links are in the array, and limit it to 25 or so. Whatever number you wish. You can (if ?page=2 or something ilke that) display the links from [26]-[50] or whatever.

    Make use of the $_GET in the URL to determine what to display. Though there is no point reinventing the wheel, so you should find a premade script with pagination to control all your data . What I described above is how I would personally display the data.
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    http://www.phpjunkyard.com/php-link-manager.php how does that look to you guys?

    Im always afraid to downlaod stuff becuase of viruses. But that php or script seems good

  8. #8
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,721
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well I'm not going to download some random link, so I'm sorry . Could you post some scripts they give? Generally it's hard to screw up something like pagination with horrible code, and I doubt a website like that has it.

    I'd trust it on this one
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com

  9. #9
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    It gets 100% on webutation.net

    ~TehYoyo

  10. #10
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,721
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TehYoyo View Post
    It gets 100% on webutation.net

    ~TehYoyo
    It's the principle in the matter. I shouldn't have to download a script to help people, nor should I have to register an account on a website in order to access member pages which have issues .
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com

  11. #11
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanReese View Post
    It's the principle in the matter. I shouldn't have to download a script to help people, nor should I have to register an account on a website in order to access member pages which have issues .
    No i wouldn't expect all that. I was just wondering if anyone knew the rep of the site. I think im gonna try it out since it seems like the easy solution. and it does everything i want it to do as far as checking reciprocal links and adding and deleting links automatically. Thats sweet.

  12. #12
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,721
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well if you ever need help modifying the PHP script with anything, we have a PHP section of these forums which can surely solve any issues . Might also want to post there and see if there is a cleaner solution in the script. Just a suggestion .
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanReese View Post
    Well if you ever need help modifying the PHP script with anything, we have a PHP section of these forums which can surely solve any issues . Might also want to post there and see if there is a cleaner solution in the script. Just a suggestion .
    Thansk alot! and i prob will need it cuz i dont know jack about php and i could learn it but at this point i rather outsource somthing like that If i really need to.

    Im thinking I could jsut use that script. I was thinking about maybe i could take there logo off without paying. I know it sounds bad and maybe i should jsut pay the $19 maybe i will.

  14. #14
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I started a new thread related to this one at http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/show...php-links-page

    I basically downloaded the script and uploaded it to my server at http://ukratom.com/links Its a nice script as far as its function I just wish i could embed it into my design so that a user can click from that page to the home page. Also I think this page and all pages should be interconnected,
    Last edited by TechnoBear; Apr 5, 2012 at 05:17.

  15. #15
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,721
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If the script is copyrighted, they shouldn't have allowed it for download for public use . What are the terms and conditions to using it? You should be easily able to convert the script into your homepage. Are you just worried about copyright infringement?
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com

  16. #16
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanReese View Post
    If the script is copyrighted, they shouldn't have allowed it for download for public use . What are the terms and conditions to using it? You should be easily able to convert the script into your homepage. Are you just worried about copyright infringement?
    Worried? Yes and no. im sure its just code and you need to delete there name and stuff. Im just not good with php i looked at the files with word pad and couldn't find there copy right links i think they got it hidden some how. I have no clue how to integrate it into my design I hope someone can help me cuz i dont have money to invest right now.

    And im kinda eager to get this page done so i can work on backlinks. But i have no clue how to do it and im gonna get frustrated cuz i dont want to learn php

    Terms of use? Basically you can use it as long as you leave there logo and links or whatever. I have no prob with that and if you pay $20 they take it off which is worth it. I emailed them to see if they can tell me how to integrate it like i want.

    If I could just leave there copy right on there and jsut embed it in the body of my layout i would be pleased and later il pay them $20 for the license and im happy with that. Im not out to steal he deserves it since im php illiterate and need quick results

  17. #17
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok so i read the user terms and you can modify it or whatever as long as the copyright mark and links are left on there

  18. #18
    Mazel tov! bronze trophy kohoutek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    4,248
    Mentioned
    30 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There's no way getting around to either learning HTML, CSS, and PHP, if you intend to use that script—which is free, by the way, as long as you keep their "powered by" links—or paying someone to do the work for you. If you can't afford to pay someone, then you need to learn how to do it yourself.

    Nothing can ever get off the ground without some form of investment. As a monetary investment is not possible for you right now, I'd invest into learning the basics of HTML, CSS, and PHP first before trying to modify a third-party script.
    Maleika E. A. | Rockatee | Twitter | Dribbble



  19. #19
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    agreed. im just hoping someone will tell me how to put this script into my page some how. I do know simple css and html never learned php

  20. #20
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    do i do somthing like add some kinda php code inside my html web page? like <php lgrab this php file <php?

  21. #21
    Mazel tov! bronze trophy kohoutek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    4,248
    Mentioned
    30 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Someone will need to know that particular script, otherwise there's no way we can tell you what to do.

    Isn't there some form of documentation that comes with the script? You'll have to modify whatever files came with it.
    Maleika E. A. | Rockatee | Twitter | Dribbble



  22. #22
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,721
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's just like HTML . I don't know what the script is, but basically whatever you copy of the PHP script, and cut/paste elsewhere, that's where (upon page load) the stuff will show.

    In PHP, you don't show stuff up on the page with every single line of code. That stuff is done by echo() functions and print() functions (both of which are the same). I'm assuming hte script isn't long, but I'd hazard a guess that you could copy and paste the entire script into some part of your HTML page and it would show up just as you had it on your previous page.

    Due to the limited help we can give (being on a forum instead of manually working with it) we can only help so much. I'd take up kohouteks advice and definitely learn more about web development before attempting to do this. It's not hard by any means, but it will be a struggle for you to do it as a beginner starting out.
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com

  23. #23
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok thanks i guess its not gonna be that easy... il figure it out i mean i learned everything on my own. But il try copy paste see if that works lol il copy paste the links file

  24. #24
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,721
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Create a backup of the page first! Copy and paste the original source code somewhere and save it. If you do screw up, make it easy to revert back. It'll save you some headaches .
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com

  25. #25
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    beleive me i know that been through that so far i jsut copy/paste and it didnt work but il figure it out some how


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •