SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Google Sites

  1. #1
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Google Sites

    Hey all. If I create a website for free on Google Sites, can I use an ftp client to upload to there?

    ~TehYoyo

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,167
    Mentioned
    453 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Seems not at the moment, though there are some partial solutions for that. GWYPF

  3. #3
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    What I really meant was can I upload my personal webpage to the site...or is that the same thing and I'm just dumb?

    ~TehYoyo

  4. #4
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,167
    Mentioned
    453 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    I presume it's the same thing ... but I'm not familiar with Google Sites. I don't trust free hosting anyway. You can get decent hosting for a few $$$ per month, so why not do that?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would like to suggest you to use a paid hosting service for your website.

  6. #6
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    You can get decent hosting for a few $$$ per month, so why not do that?
    Quote Originally Posted by richardfranklin View Post
    I would like to suggest you to use a paid hosting service for your website.
    I would suggest the same thing, but it's only really for testing...when I shoot up my personal site, I'll use that.

    I don't trust free hosting anyway.
    But I do trust Google

    ~TehYoyo

  7. #7
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,167
    Mentioned
    453 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TehYoyo View Post
    it's only really for testing
    For testing what? Because it's different from having real hosting, I'm not sure what you will learn. You can set up your own domain and a cheap hosting account and experiment on that—whether or not your proper site is up yet. Just sayin'.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru bronze trophy TheRaptor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    710
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why not test locally?
    TheRaptor - Joe

  9. #9
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TheRaptor View Post
    Why not test locally?
    I mean, that's what I do now - if I need to share w/ SPF, I put it in my Dropbox.

    I guess that's working fine.

    ~TehYoyo

    Ralph - testing websites and mainly sharing them w/ SPF.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Google doesn't support ftp.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Guru bronze trophy TheRaptor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    710
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TehYoyo View Post
    I mean, that's what I do now - if I need to share w/ SPF, I put it in my Dropbox.
    Ah, gotcha. Your probably best to go with a hosting plan like Ralph said then.
    TheRaptor - Joe

  12. #12
    Mouse catcher silver trophy Stevie D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,888
    Mentioned
    122 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TheRaptor View Post
    Why not test locally?
    There are lots of things that work differently locally compared with over http – testing locally is a good first step, but you really do need to test on a live site to make sure you've covered all bases.

  13. #13
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,151
    Mentioned
    262 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    For testing what? Because it's different from having real hosting, I'm not sure what you will learn. You can set up your own domain and a cheap hosting account and experiment on that—whether or not your proper site is up yet. Just sayin'.
    I'd agree with ralph.m. Set up your own domain on a cheap hosting account, and you can post your "proper" site to it when you're ready. Set up a folder/subdomain/whatever on that domain, use robots.txt to exclude it so it doesn't appear on the search engines, and use that for testing/playing/experimenting to your hearts content.

  14. #14
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    That'll all come later. Just a temporary solution, really.

    ~TehYoyo

  15. #15
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,151
    Mentioned
    262 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    I think the point we're all trying to make is that, for the sake of about $25 p.a., you could have a simple, straight-forward solution that doesn't require any jiggery-pokery to make it work. Why do things the hard way?

  16. #16
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TechnoBear View Post
    I think the point we're all trying to make is that, for the sake of about $25 p.a., you could have a simple, straight-forward solution that doesn't require any jiggery-pokery to make it work. Why do things the hard way?
    Yeah. I gotcha guys. Was only wondering.

    ~TehYoyo

  17. #17
    SitePoint Zealot coloradojaguar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Southwestern Mountains
    Posts
    151
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is cPanel even offered with Google hosting? I never like it when a host doesn't provide a good control panel or peppers their own version with advertising and such.
    Hosted solutions provider since 1998 - UK, Atlanta, L.A.,
    JaguarPC.com - Managed Hybrid Servers |
    Managed VPS Hosting | Dedicated Servers

  18. #18
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    They have a small one - it's mostly a weebly-esque online WYSIWYG editor.

    ~TehYoyo


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •