SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Adobe Photoshop CS6 Beta Released - Free!

    Check it out everyone!

    Adobe has released Photoshop CS6 as a beta for free. Good chance to grab a look at it and test, and also to sneak in some use for a current project if you don't already have it.

    I'm testing it now and I'll post a review soon (probs tomorrow).

    Have you downloaded it? Tried it? Thoughts?
    ~TehYoyo

  2. #2
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Photoshop CS6 Review
    ~TehYoyo

    I’d like to just hit on some points that sort of stuck out to me while going through the CS6 beta.

    The Good:

    The first thing that I notice (and, I imagine, is most apparent to anyone viewing the Beta is the aesthetical change. The entire workspace has been remade with a more modern black/gray color scheme, a welcome change from the drab gray that dominated CS5 and below. The color scheme and design is most comparable to Adobe After Effects CS5 (if you’ve ever used it). When I first opened up AFX, I was immediately impressed (having come from Photoshop). I am equally impressed (although accustomed to it as a user of AFX) now. All of the scrollbars now have rounded corners, the tool icons off to the left (in default) have been changed slightly, and the only color throughout the entire design is the blue, iconic Ps icon in the top left. They've also changed the default cross-hairs icon from CS5.




    KULER!!!!!!!!! has been brought into Photoshop! It is now integrated natively through a normal window just like any other. As a Kuler fanboy, I love this integration. Probably my most favorite Adobe tools/programs – in one. Yay! Full functionality of Kuler has been added.



    Info has been added right next to your cursor now. As you drag a layer w/ your move tool, an icon appears, displaying how far the layer has been moved. Similar information has been added to the marquee tool and other such tools. Think of it as the info panel/window, just right next to the cursor - very useful.

    InfoData.png

    The bad:

    In relation to integration, Adobe has also integrated a sort-of ‘mini-Bridge’. It is a default window/panel that launches Bridge inside of Photoshop. This may have been a response about annoyance in relation to Bridge launching an entirely new window – and slowing everything else down while doing so. Personally, I’m not a fan of Bridge. Never have been, never will be. To me, it’s just Windows Explorer – but in Adobe form. Not a fan. Not to mention it didn’t even work for me – dynamiclinkmanager.exe, a program that allows transfer between (in CS5) various video editing suites without rendering files. This, obviously, would make the program faster (if it works). A similar error occurs often and has been reported frequently when running After Effects CS5 and Premiere CS5. Obviously, this issue has not been resolved. If anything, it has been amplified as it is now a problem in Photoshop.



    Another change that is quite interesting are the various view items. Adobe has now added a full screen option (at least, added it to the main toolbar) and a fullscreen option w/ menu bars option. Full screen is typical fullscreen - just you and the canvas and that's all (plus rulers). To me, there's no change between full screen w/ menus and standard viewing...the panels and rulers are rearranged (everything undocked), but other than that, nothing doing. Kind of unnecessary. Also, full screen mode is something that I can't imagine being useful - the time it takes to slide your mouse over to the side to make the menus/panels show just wastes too much time. In a program where not a lot of time is spent using just one tool or just one effect, it's not very useful, in my opinion. The transition is also very sketchy and shaky, coming out slowly and fragmented.



    Ugh. The icon is ugly. Like the new Windows 8 logo, it has been simplified into two colors (that don't look very good together) and is just a plain symbol. Not a good change, in my opinion. After viewing the Bridge logo as well, it seems that this is the new theme for CS6.



    Go check it out! I like it (after 20 minutes ) and hope that you will too. For an easy way to catch the changes, change your workspace setting to 'New in CS6'. Upon clicking on any of the menu items, new features will be highlighted.

    ~TehYoyo

  3. #3
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    any idea about full version release!

  4. #4
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Nope. Adobe's also published PDFs detailing 'what's new' for their other products. I imagine they'll drop in a couple of months. Maybe a Christmas release?

    ~TehYoyo

  5. #5
    Non-Member rususorinvick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Iasi
    Posts
    24
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    does anybody know for how long CS6 beta will be active? I assume that once the retail version launches the beta will stop working, right?

  6. #6
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Yes - when the actual version is active, the Beta won't work. I'm sure that Adobe have something to stop it. (As well as it becoming illegal)

    ~TehYoyo

  7. #7
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Note: Just saw the release date - 5/7/2012.

    ~TehYoyo

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot coloradojaguar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Southwestern Mountains
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The release came out this week. Earlier than expected or false release date to intentionally just throw everyone for a loop. Adobe has done something extra creative with this release. You can actually get this version on subscription basis. So, if you only need it for a semester or for a project you only have to pay for that time frame. CS is out of the range of most people's budget so I'm glad to see that this option is available.
    Hosted solutions provider since 1998 - UK, Atlanta, L.A.,
    JaguarPC.com - Managed Hybrid Servers |
    Managed VPS Hosting | Dedicated Servers

  9. #9
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by coloradojaguar View Post
    The release came out this week. Earlier than expected or false release date to intentionally just throw everyone for a loop. Adobe has done something extra creative with this release. You can actually get this version on subscription basis. So, if you only need it for a semester or for a project you only have to pay for that time frame. CS is out of the range of most people's budget so I'm glad to see that this option is available.
    I think they did that for at least the Master Collection in CS5. Do you ever use that?

    Although, frankly, I think that most people who are using it are using it for a job or for life. Maybe it's to encourage extensive trying if the trial isn't long enough, especially for the Suites of multiple programs.

    ~TehYoyo

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I hope that CS6 is better than CS5. I feel like CS5 was performance heavy and slow. It had some great features, but decided to go back because of the speed issues.

  11. #11
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I'm wondering if I should even switch over at all - resetting my presets, etc. will be a hassle...oh well. Guess I just need to suck it up

    ~TehYoyo

  12. #12
    om nom nom nom Stomme poes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    10,233
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by tehyoyo
    To me, there's no change between full screen w/ menus and standard viewing...the panels and rulers are rearranged (everything undocked), but other than that, nothing doing. Kind of unnecessary. Also, full screen mode is something that I can't imagine being useful - the time it takes to slide your mouse over to the side to make the menus/panels show just wastes too much time. In a program where not a lot of time is spent using just one tool or just one effect, it's not very useful, in my opinion. The transition is also very sketchy and shaky, coming out slowly and fragmented.
    Gosh, that sounds a lot like... the GIMP!

    Undocked tools seems to be Photoshop peoples' biggest whinge about the GIMP (which, the 2.8 coming out of Gimp now has the option to dock everything to the canvas, kinda like GimpShop), and here it looks like they're letter people who like loose toolbars like Gimp to have that here too.

    I will admit though that because I like access to one toolbox while editing, that I almost never fullscreen my canvas... one exception is when making a path, where I want to be zoomed in as far as I can yet have access to as many pixels as I can... then I'll full-screen it. I can imagine it's similar with some other tools too.

    Quote Originally Posted by tehyoyo
    I'm wondering if I should even switch over at all - resetting my presets, etc. will be a hassle...oh well. Guess I just need to suck it up
    Is there some kind of upgrade option where as many of your settings are kept as possible? Like when browsers are updated?

  13. #13
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Stomme poes View Post
    Is there some kind of upgrade option where as many of your settings are kept as possible? Like when browsers are updated?
    Hmmmm...I don't know - I imagine that there should be...cross fingers and hope, eh?

  14. #14
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello TehYoyo
    Working with Adobe Photoshop is real fun , it brings magic to a file . Kuler is among one of my favorite application , so waiting eagerly for its release. Do you have any idea about its release date ?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •