SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 27
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict kvnwpts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Helsingborg, Sweden
    Posts
    267
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    I wanna be a professionall webdesigner but wanna know some things

    Hello everyone here on sitepoint!

    I wanna be a professionall wedesigner and I can start by saying that I have some experience, not long but some in dreamweaver and photoshop.
    I know some PHP and CSS but that's it. So basically I use dreamweaver connected to FileZilla wich is applying it to my website.

    When I drag my website folder with all my contents into FileZilla I also have to drag all my either .php or .html files into the root folder in Filezilla.
    So when I'm creating a new page in my dreamweaver, it comes up in FileZilla but i have to drag it over to the root folder, is there any way to get it directly to there so when i apply it from dreamweaver it comes to root folder and after on my website directly. (The root name in filezilla is "/")

    So let's move on to another question and I hope you can answer the first one. Let's say I wanna be able to update pictures and text without opening dreamweaver. What should I use for program? (Maybe wordpress?)

    And to the last question. Lets say I have a pagination (jQuery) for my news on the index. How does it work, I'm totally lost, do I have to open it up and write news in dreamweaver and it automatically like moves the old new into page 2.....? I have no idea.

    Hope someone can help me.

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kvnwpts View Post
    is there any way to get it directly to there so when i apply it from dreamweaver it comes to root folder and after on my website directly.
    There's no point in using Filezilla if you have Dreamweaver, as Dw can do all the uploading for you, and it keeps all files in their rightful place without you having to do anything except upload.

    Let's say I wanna be able to update pictures and text without opening dreamweaver. What should I use for program? (Maybe wordpress?)
    Yes, WordPress or any CMS (content management system). There are lots and lots out there, so make sure to choose the right one.

    Lets say I have a pagination (jQuery) for my news on the index. How does it work, I'm totally lost, do I have to open it up and write news in dreamweaver and it automatically like moves the old new into page 2.....? I have no idea.
    Most CMSes have paginination built in as an automatic feature, so if using a CMS, you won't have to worry about how this works. Most CMSes are powered by PHP.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict kvnwpts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Helsingborg, Sweden
    Posts
    267
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Whoop, Awesome, I didn't knew that was possible.

    But to use for example pagination you have to use any CMS program right?
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    There's no point in using Filezilla if you have Dreamweaver, as Dw can do all the uploading for you, and it keeps all files in their rightful place without you having to do anything except upload.



    Yes, WordPress or any CMS (content management system). There are lots and lots out there, so make sure to choose the right one.



    Most CMSes have paginination built in as an automatic feature, so if using a CMS, you won't have to worry about how this works. Most CMSes are powered by PHP.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict kvnwpts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Helsingborg, Sweden
    Posts
    267
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Would this guide of yours be the best to follow?

    http://dev.mysql.com/tech-resources/articles/ddws/

  5. #5
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Well, that certainly is a road to follow if you are up for a challenge. There's a book that goes with that article. I am working through that book now, but building your own CMS is a lot more work that using one that's off the shelf—and which is likely to have lots more features and functionality than you can expect to create for yourself (at least in the short term). (It's kind of like deciding to build your own car instead of buying one ready made. A few people can do it, but it's a labor of love and not very efficient timewise.)

    Many CMSes include the facility for pagination, so at most it takes a few minutes to set up. You can do it manually/statically with HTML, of course, but it's a bit of a clunky way to go these days, as it's a lot of work to maintain/update a setup like this.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict kvnwpts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Helsingborg, Sweden
    Posts
    267
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh, I see. I get the idea of it now and i guess Ill start and try to become better in HTML and CSS and after that I've build a good website I'll get wordpress and Ill learn some PHP and Javascript. Would that be a good idea to be good at CSS and HTML first wich is basically the best thing to know?
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    Well, that certainly is a road to follow if you are up for a challenge. There's a book that goes with that article. I am working through that book now, but building your own CMS is a lot more work that using one that's off the shelf—and which is likely to have lots more features and functionality than you can expect to create for yourself (at least in the short term). (It's kind of like deciding to build your own car instead of buying one ready made. A few people can do it, but it's a labor of love and not very efficient timewise.)

    Many CMSes include the facility for pagination, so at most it takes a few minutes to set up. You can do it manually/statically with HTML, of course, but it's a bit of a clunky way to go these days, as it's a lot of work to maintain/update a setup like this.

  7. #7
    Error 404: Life not found silver trophybronze trophy
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    UK Nr Manchester
    Posts
    3,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    There's no point in using Filezilla if you have Dreamweaver, as Dw can do all the uploading for you,
    I don't agree. I've been using both for years because Filezilla is much faster than DW's built in FTP client. Setting up 'sites' in DW is also a pain in the ass, Filezilla is much better and it's free.
    It's 530 people, but do you really get it?
    ImgWebDesign - Web design in Buxton, High Peak, Derbyshire UK.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict kvnwpts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Helsingborg, Sweden
    Posts
    267
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    But isnt it annoying if u ad a page to ur site and you have to drag the page into the root folder in FileZilla all the time or is there any way so the page comes into the root folder itself in FileZilla?
    Quote Originally Posted by JJMcClure View Post
    I don't agree. I've been using both for years because Filezilla is much faster than DW's built in FTP client. Setting up 'sites' in DW is also a pain in the ass, Filezilla is much better and it's free.

  9. #9
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    I find that Filezilla and its ilk (Transmit for Mac, for example) are a bit dumb about where they place files, unless I've missed something fundamental. If you have a bunch of files in various folders, they seem to get confused over where to place them, whereas Dw has no problem. However, I admit that Dw is a lot slower, and I don't use it much any more.

    Also, it takes me only a few seconds to set up a site in Dw.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Addict kvnwpts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Helsingborg, Sweden
    Posts
    267
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is really javascript that necessery since you can copy most of the work, I mean jquery has it all.

  11. #11
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kvnwpts View Post
    Is really javascript that necessery since you can copy most of the work, I mean jquery has it all.
    I don't understand your question.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Addict kvnwpts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Helsingborg, Sweden
    Posts
    267
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I mean that javascript is used to setup for example pagination and that would be pretty pointless to learn JAVASCRIPT except if you are pro on HTML and CSS.

    So I couldnt care less about javascript these days since I'm average on HTML and CSS.
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    I don't understand your question.

  13. #13
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    You will probably find—like I have—that you will get very few website requests that don't involve something fancy. That seems to be the way it's going. So jQuery can be very handy, as it allows you to add fancy stuff without having to know much (or anything) about JavaScript. JS is not as reliable as something like PHP, though, so I prefer not to have functionality (or at least content) that relies on it. (If pagination links are only served up by JS, will people be able to access some content if pagination is off?)

  14. #14
    SitePoint Addict kvnwpts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Helsingborg, Sweden
    Posts
    267
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    (If pagination links are only served up by JS, will people be able to access some content if pagination is off?)
    I'm not sure what you mean by that.

  15. #15
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Because JavaScript depends on the end user's browser to run, it's not as reliable as something like PHP, which sends the finished code to all browsers. Users can turn off JavaScript; some have browsers that don't support it properly; some are blind and use screen readers that may not understand what the JS is trying to do. Some people use JS in such a way that, if JS does not work properly for the end user, the content is not accessible at all, which is a bit of a disaster. So it needs to be used with care. I would think that pagination controlled by JS is likely to suffer from that in some way—and even if not, is more likely to fail in some devices more easily that if the pagination is controlled on the server by PHP.

  16. #16
    SitePoint Addict kvnwpts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Helsingborg, Sweden
    Posts
    267
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the great explanation, I get it
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    Because JavaScript depends on the end user's browser to run, it's not as reliable as something like PHP, which sends the finished code to all browsers. Users can turn off JavaScript; some have browsers that don't support it properly; some are blind and use screen readers that may not understand what the JS is trying to do. Some people use JS in such a way that, if JS does not work properly for the end user, the content is not accessible at all, which is a bit of a disaster. So it needs to be used with care. I would thank that pagination controlled by JS is likely to suffer from that in some way—and even if not, is more likely to fail in some devices more easily that if the pagination is controlled on the server by PHP.

  17. #17
    SitePoint Addict kvnwpts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Helsingborg, Sweden
    Posts
    267
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I come up with different small questions sometimes, for example now. if someone could answer this. I've made an unorderd list with listed items and display:inline. How would I add space between the words.

    Should i make a new thread for small questions like that or just keep asking in a thread thats active like this?

  18. #18
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    I've made an unorderd list with listed items and display:inline. How would I add space between the words.
    You could give them left or right padding, but my suggestion would be to use float: left or display: inline-block instead of display: inline. I've never liked display: inline for this job.

    Quote Originally Posted by kvnwpts View Post
    Should i make a new thread for small questions like that or just keep asking in a thread thats active like this?
    Either is OK.

  19. #19
    SitePoint Addict kvnwpts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Helsingborg, Sweden
    Posts
    267
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Great I used float:left and display: inline-block, but whats the difference between display:inline and display:inline block and float:left at the same time. I feel like I'm asking questions all the time -.-.



    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    You could give them left or right padding, but my suggestion would be to use float: left or display: inline-block instead of display: inline. I've never liked display: inline for this job.

  20. #20
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kvnwpts View Post
    Great I used float:left and display: inline-block, but whats the difference between display:inline and display:inline block and float:left at the same time. I feel like I'm asking questions all the time -.-.
    You should only really use one or the other, as they won't all apply at once. inline-block allows the element to sit inline (next to other elements) without it losing the qualities of being a block element (padding/margins etc still work as expected).

  21. #21
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,721
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kvnwpts View Post
    Great I used float:left and display: inline-block, but whats the difference between display:inline and display:inline block and float:left at the same time. I feel like I'm asking questions all the time -.-.
    You can use float:left and a display at the same time, however besides possible bug fixes (for example, the IE6 double float margin bug is fixed by putting display:inline; on a floated element), it's really just stupid.

    That's the only use of it really . The order of what takes effect over others is this.

    Position(absolute, fixed, etc)
    Float
    Display
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com

  22. #22
    SitePoint Addict kvnwpts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Helsingborg, Sweden
    Posts
    267
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I really appriciate your answer guys!

    I'm so happy I found this forum for the fast and good help and the oragnized sections and someday in about some months I hope I can give back to the people out there when I'm hopefully a bit better .
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanReese View Post
    You can use float:left and a display at the same time, however besides possible bug fixes (for example, the IE6 double float margin bug is fixed by putting display:inline; on a floated element), it's really just stupid.

    That's the only use of it really . The order of what takes effect over others is this.

    Position(absolute, fixed, etc)
    Float
    Display

  23. #23
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,721
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kvnwpts View Post
    I really appriciate your answer guys!

    I'm so happy I found this forum for the fast and good help and the oragnized sections and someday in about some months I hope I can give back to the people out there when I'm hopefully a bit better .
    Glad we were able to help you. Due to the fact many of us probably have no life, you can almost always expect a speedy reply. Keep viewing threads in the CSS forum about issues. Read what I said in the other thread and you'll be on the fast track to guru-status in no time.

    You're welcome .
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com

  24. #24
    <title class="lol"> bronze trophy TehYoyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northeast Chicago Suburbs
    Posts
    806
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanReese View Post
    Glad we were able to help you. Due to the fact many of us probably have no life, you can almost always expect a speedy reply. Keep viewing threads in the CSS forum about issues. Read what I said in the other thread and you'll be on the fast track to guru-status in no time.

    You're welcome .
    Hey! Not true! I have a life! I...code...and...go out...to..ahhh...well...ahh..ok fine. I don't have a life!

    ~TehYoyo

  25. #25
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,721
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TehYoyo View Post
    Hey! Not true! I have a life! I...code...and...go out...to..ahhh...well...ahh..ok fine. I don't have a life!

    ~TehYoyo
    Acceptance is the first stage .

    You know you're bad when you hide in the bathroom at work to go on Sitepoint...
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •