SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Need some serious suggestion

    We started hosting services with a dedicated server on .com domain. We want to provide our services in UK as well and for that we purchased .co.uk domain. But, creating a new website and purchasing a different server is not feasible at the moment. We want to use same server for some of our UK customers. I heard that using IP method is not SEO friendly, it detects IP of specific country and redirects the visitor to that country page.

    What will be the best way to use similar website on .co.uk domain with same server? We just want to show prices in local currency. We don't want to harm seo at all because we are new in business and willing to grow in rankings.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Use a new ones?how about that? I think use new domain is the best, because the address of your request is different.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As I mentioned, we already purchased a new domain (.co.uk)

    Quote Originally Posted by riomukti21 View Post
    Use a new ones?how about that? I think use new domain is the best, because the address of your request is different.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you're going to just change prices but keep the content the same you would likely have problems with duplicate content. The normal practice is to use subdomains (i.e. us.yoursite.com and uk.yoursite.com) and use rel="canonical" to avoid the penalty. I don't know if it would work for completely different domains though but you can try. Here's a link about rel="canonical".

    http://googlewebmastercentral.blogsp...canonical.html

  5. #5
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    240
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    IP location does matter, but its not the only ranking factor.
    You have a country specific domain... Along with that set your target location in webmaster tools. With this, your server location won't effect much on your rankings and traffic.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by vilcot44 View Post
    If you're going to just change prices but keep the content the same you would likely have problems with duplicate content. The normal practice is to use subdomains (i.e. us.yoursite.com and uk.yoursite.com) and use rel="canonical" to avoid the penalty. I don't know if it would work for completely different domains though but you can try. Here's a link about rel="canonical".

    http://googlewebmastercentral.blogsp...canonical.html
    We just added country selection option just like fatcow.com and we will also show different content when someone select any country other than US. I hope this will be fine. Please guide us little more.


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •