SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    psycho
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    London
    Posts
    283
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Red face

    OK, I am re-launching my site today or tommorrow. It is almost totally dynamic, and all the information comes from a database. I am of course wondering about search engines, and whether they will still find my site. I used to get about 25% of my hits from search engines, and to lose all that would be a shame. I'm asking because people have told me 'oh yeah, they will index them no problem', yet I have NEVER come across a search engine result which had a URL indicating dynamic content.

    Cheers
    -James

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Whether or not you're using PHP this article poses some great ideas. Read it!!!

    http://phpbuilder.com/columns/tim19990117.php3
    and the second part...
    http://phpbuilder.com/columns/tim20000526.php3

    If you're using ASP then the concepts still apply.

    Hope this helps..

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard TWTCommish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,910
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Interesting links Quinn, thanks very much.

  4. #4
    Destiny Manager Plebius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    682
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Depending on how you do it, you can set it up so that even your dynamically generated pages are indexed. For example, my site at http://www.plebius.org/ is almost 100% dynamically generated (with the exception of .txt, .rdf, .xml, and .zip files) but since I have written my perl scripts in a certain way, passing variables in the URL rather than in the query string for most purposes, all the search engines will index my pages without knowing the difference.

    There was a post in these forums a while back regarding removing the '?' from dynamic pages, you might want to look for that to help you out.


  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Anybody...correct me if I'm wrong...

    But, my understanding with the major search engines is that, they do not index the 'dynamic content' of your dynamic generated page.

    What it means is that, SE would still index your page, meta tags AND the 'static area' of your page but not the dynamic content. There's simply no way for them to index your data base.

    This would mean a drastic effect in your ranking, especially in topics where there's a lot of competition. Between two pages, Static vs. Dynamic, Static page will have a better ranking anytime.

    Remember most SE algorithm has specific requirement as to the size of the 'text in the body area' of your page (any script are ignored).

    In fact from SE people itself, has recommended that either;

    1. Break the page into two, if you have a good amount of static information on that page or

    2. Create a seperate static page for SE and have a link pointing to your dynamic page.

    This is just my understanding and I could be wrong :-)
    The questions are tough. The answer is simple. Find someone who's done it. Learn from all his trials, tribulations and successes.
    -Web Development Tools-

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by web42net
    Anybody...correct me if I'm wrong...

    But, my understanding with the major search engines is that, they do not index the 'dynamic content' of your dynamic generated page.
    There is no steadfast rule that SEs don't index dynamic content. The real trick is just to know that search engine spiders will index anything they can get a hold on, including dynamic pages, especially if they don't have any idea whatsoever that the pages ARE in fact dynamic.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    20
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I joined an egroup that has lessons on search engines (Search engine school).

    It had a part about a database site and search engines.

    Search engines don't like to go into databases, for fear of endlessly trying to index the same page under slightly different URLs. But they have no way of knowing that
    a page is dynamically served rather than being static. So, they instead look for the ? symbol in a URL as a clue. When they see it, they won't read anything past the symbol.

    So, if your site has URLs like this:
    http://www.yoursite.com/cgi-bin/getpage.cgi?name=sitemap

    The search engine reads it, sees the ? symbol, then tries instead to get this:
    http://www.yoursite.com/cgi-bin/getpage.cgi
    That won't retrieve a page, so nothing gets listed.

    Basically, if you have a dynamic site, you'll either need to somehow eliminate the ? symbol from your URLs or construct a series of static pages that the search engines can index. Xbuilder, http://www.xbuilder.net, is one tool that can help you with this.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •