SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict aliqayyum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    303
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Exclamation Problem in header and footer at internet explorer

    hi friends, i need your help

    plz open http://smashinghub.com in IE, and check header and footer, things going vertically, i attached screenshot as reference

    error.pngfooter.png

    thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy chris.upjohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    2,197
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    The problem is that your using HTML5 elements that only work in IE9+ and modern browsers, to fix this you will need to use the HTML5 shiv and the below CSS which simulates the elements in older browsers.

    http://code.google.com/p/html5shiv/

    Code CSS:
    article,aside,details,figcaption,figure,
    footer,header,hgroup,menu,nav,section {
        display:block;
    }

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict aliqayyum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    303
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by chris.upjohn View Post
    The problem is that your using HTML5 elements that only work in IE9+ and modern browsers, to fix this you will need to use the HTML5 shiv and the below CSS which simulates the elements in older browsers.

    http://code.google.com/p/html5shiv/

    Code CSS:
    article,aside,details,figcaption,figure,
    footer,header,hgroup,menu,nav,section {
        display:block;
    }
    actually my developer did this, so i ve to request him to edit tags for lower browsers as well?

  4. #4
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,746
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, but you also need to add HTML shiv because IE8 and down doesn't recognize HTML5 tags. It ignores them.
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict aliqayyum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    303
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanReese View Post
    Yes, but you also need to add HTML shiv because IE8 and down doesn't recognize HTML5 tags. It ignores them.
    thanks, my developer fixed

  6. #6
    Non-Member bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Keene, NH
    Posts
    3,760
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanReese View Post
    Yes, but you also need to add HTML shiv because IE8 and down doesn't recognize HTML5 tags. It ignores them.
    Or tell your developer not to jump on the {omitting the expletive for now} bandwagon by NOT relying on some rubbish javascript idiocy and instead *SHOCK* use a RECOMMENDATION doctype since HTML 5 isn't just NOT ready for real world deployment, it offers ZERO REAL WORLD IMPROVEMENT OVER HTML 4.01 STRICT

    If anything, the loosening of the structural rules and nonsensical redundant tags set coding practices BACK a decade... which is why throwing some bloated scripted 'shiv' at it is stupid when the REAL answer is "Don't use HTML 5" -- problem solved.

    Of course, since the site in question appears to be a wordpress skin, about 60% of the markup belongs in the trash in the first place... like all those stupid pointless bloated classes it throws on EVERYTHING for no good reason.

    Here's a test for your "developer" -- if they don't know what's wrong with:
    <li id="menu-item-22411" class="menu-item menu-item-type-taxonomy menu-item-object-category menu-item-22411">

    It's time to find another developer.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict aliqayyum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    303
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks, i let him know

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy chris.upjohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    2,197
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by deathshadow60 View Post
    Here's a test for your "developer" -- if they don't know what's wrong with:
    <li id="menu-item-22411" class="menu-item menu-item-type-taxonomy menu-item-object-category menu-item-22411">
    That's just WordPress, there is no simple way to modify what it outputs for menus and such.

  9. #9
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,746
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by chris.upjohn View Post
    That's just WordPress, there is no simple way to modify what it outputs for menus and such.
    Doesn't mean it can't be a test.
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com

  10. #10
    Non-Member bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Keene, NH
    Posts
    3,760
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by chris.upjohn View Post
    That's just WordPress, there is no simple way to modify what it outputs for menus and such.
    ... and yet there's a sitepoint article on fixing it...
    http://www.sitepoint.com/wordpress-menu-html-tidy/

    ... and that's also one of the lame excuses isn't it? Why yes, it is...
    Donít just accept that your IDE/framework/CMS creates junk by default.
    ... and as mentioned, it's one really nice test, since if you don't know what's wrong with it, you probably shouldn't be writing site skins in the first place... which says a LOT about the people behind wordpress when it comes to the front end. (as opposed to the idiocy on the back end like putting the mysql un/pw in defines or near total lack of wrapping all code apart from the 'start' resulting in "security, what's that?")

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy chris.upjohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    2,197
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Off Topic:

    Quote Originally Posted by deathshadow60 View Post
    ... and yet there's a sitepoint article on fixing it...
    http://www.sitepoint.com/wordpress-menu-html-tidy/

    ... and that's also one of the lame excuses isn't it? Why yes, it is...
    That article proves my point exactly that it's not an easy way of removing the extra values from the markup, if it was an easy method for doing so everyone would be using it but i haven't seen one theme implement this thus far so i don't consider my comment to be a lame excuse.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •