SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Woodinville, WA, USA
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How do I code a page in order to get it to force a viewers browser to display in a certain resolution.

    i.e They type in our address, it makes their browser open full screen. I know how to code that into a new link, just not for example, my home page.

    Big thanks in advance (I hope)

    -Robyn

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard jumpthru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    1,008
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also remember, that the code wluke mentioned is will only resize the window -- NOT change the resolution of the users monitor.

    ------------------
    Nate - nate@jumpthru.com
    ICQ 70944023
    http://www.jumpthru.com - Unbelievable Website design!
    http://www.jumpthru.com/christian - Learn, live, love, jesus christ...

  3. #3
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can use the ResizeTo method of the window object. As an example you can look at this [urlhttp://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex8/window3.htm]Script[/url]. Keep in mind that this script is an Internet Explorer only demonstration but can be modified to handle Netscape as well.

    ------------------
    Wayne Luke - Sitepoint Forums Administrator
    Digital Magician Magazine - MetaQuark Creations (Coming Soon)
    wayne@sitepoint.com

  4. #4
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am sorry.. You can not change a user's monitor resolution without ActiveX or some other embedded program running on the user's machine.

    ------------------
    Wayne Luke - Sitepoint Forums Administrator
    Digital Magician Magazine - MetaQuark Creations (Coming Soon)
    wayne@sitepoint.com

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also: do you really think people want their resolution to be changed? Probably not. They set the resolution because it suits them best. Why would they want that it is changed?

    Also some smaller screens can't run in high resolutions (1024x768+).

    I guess you have to design for all resolutions...

    Christophe

    ------------------
    Freesources.net - the ultimate webmaster resources site
    WebmasterCJ design - opening new worlds for small prices
    Visit the SitePoint Chat!!!

  6. #6
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't think they meant to truly change the resolution. If you read the entire post they want the browser to expand to full screen when someone enters their site as stating in the example.

    Please take into consideration that not everyone knows English and are often times translating on the fly. Also consider the fact that this forum is for Newcomers who may or may not know computers very well.

    ------------------
    Wayne Luke - Sitepoint Forums Administrator
    Digital Magician Magazine - MetaQuark Creations (Coming Soon)
    wayne@sitepoint.com

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've found sites opening in full window mode being mostly annoying because the only way to get out of if there's no close.window() the only thing you can do is CTRL+ALT+DEL.

    Also a lot of people have ICQ running and other programs which you're not able to access when a site is running in full screen mode.

    Christophe

    ------------------
    Freesources.net - the ultimate webmaster resources site
    WebmasterCJ design - opening new worlds for small prices
    Visit the SitePoint Chat!!!

  8. #8
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If a Web browser is in full window mode it is System Modal. To get around this all you have to do is press the "Windows" key and your Start Menu, Taskbar and everything else pops up.

    ------------------
    Wayne Luke - Sitepoint Forums Administrator
    Digital Magician Magazine - MetaQuark Creations (Coming Soon)
    wayne@sitepoint.com

  9. #9
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The old keyboard which was with the Win95 computers we bought 3 years ago did not have a Win key...

    Christophe

    ------------------
    Freesources.net - the ultimate webmaster resources site
    WebmasterCJ design - opening new worlds for small prices
    Visit the SitePoint Chat!!!

  10. #10
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Use CTRL-ESC then... Same key combination.

    ------------------
    Wayne Luke - Sitepoint Forums Administrator
    Digital Magician Magazine - MetaQuark Creations (Coming Soon)
    wayne@sitepoint.com

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    With a fullscreen window, you can hit ALT+TAB to switch between windows, and ALT+F4 to close the window. WIN+D will minimize all windows if you have the Windows Key.

    Still, fullscreen mode is veryannoying anoying.

    ------------------
    Aidan Bahta
    abahta@activewm.com

    ActiveWM.com - The place for the Active Webmaster.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'll put in my opinion...

    Fullscreen mode on browsers is like making all the cars stop at every bilboard. The cars are the other tasks you're doing, the billboard is the Web site. Obviously this would not be good.

    When I'm browsing just for fun and a Web site does something like this, I just ALT-F4/CMD-W/CTRL-OPT-X it. It disrupts my normal computer habits, good or bad, and I don't like that (no more mr. nice guy..)


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •