SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How do i create a stock market website ?

    Hi,

    how do i create a similar site like
    stockbank com sg


    what language do i use ?

    Stock portfolio management is a requirement

    Can anyone point me the right direction
    Thank you so much

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Immerse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,661
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    We have built a trading platform for physical bullion which kind of does the same as that website, as far as I can tell (although that website has a lot more products).

    We built the original site in PHP and MySQL, we're currently building a new version using the following technologies:
    PHP
    Lithium
    beanstalkd
    supervisord
    postgres
    Doctrine2
    Twig
    Bootstrap
    JenkinsCI

    As you can see, it takes a lot of software to run something like this. That's because there's a lot of real-time background processing involved in this kind of application. Do you have experience with real-time asynchronous processing?

    So far we've spent about 2 months developing the new site (the old one was in continual development, I think I've spent almost a full year developing it and updating/ expanding the functionality), and we need another 1,5 months before we can actually launch anything. That's with 2.5 FTEs working on it.

    Another important thing is your knowledge. Do you understand securities markets? Do you know the difference between a stop-loss and a regular limit order? What a straddle is? A bear market?

    And don't forget security ooh, and maintenance, it's a full-time job for things like this!

    As you can see, it's quite difficult to build something like this. Maybe there's software already available for this? I had a quick look on Google, and there's enough to find.

    Good luck!

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Immerse,

    Thank you for your reply, it was very insightful.
    I work as a stock broker so i do have a certain level of financial knowledge.
    Unfortunately, i do not know much about programming but i am very keen to learn.
    It started as a hobby and now i am looking to develop a very simple stock portfolio management system that is web based and local.
    Thinking of yahoo finance api, trying to learn how to use its data.

    Any idea what language does the website[the one i listed above] use ?
    Thank you for your time

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Immerse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,661
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    That website uses CodeIgniter, running on PHP and Apache on CentOS server.

    First thing to do is to set a new, somewhat simpler project for yourself, maybe something like 'building an online market-ticker' or something. That should keep you occupied for a bit, and quietly introduce you to the data management required for something like this.

    And Code Igniter might also be a good framework to look at. It may seem complicated at first, but using a framework will definitely help you in the long run.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How much have gone further in yahoo finance api...
    Even i have to work on similar project in college actually the same and i thought of using java and yql language..
    Please help..

  6. #6
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,653
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why would I use your stock market website when my broker has a better looking one that I can actually make trades in?

  7. #7
    Always A Novice bronze trophy
    K. Wolfe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    2,182
    Mentioned
    67 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wwb_99 View Post
    Why would I use your stock market website when my broker has a better looking one that I can actually make trades in?
    Cuz.

    Quote Originally Posted by samlim View Post
    It started as a hobby and now i am looking to develop a very simple stock portfolio management system that is web based and local.
    Does it matter anyway? Maybe he's not even looking to make it public for you. Maybe him or his firm has a need for something specific down the road. A comment like this could be thrown on literally every thread that comes into SP from a beginner eager to learn.

  8. #8
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,268
    Mentioned
    196 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Maybe a bit of a tangent, but I just started reading SitePoint's recent release Jump Start Node.JS.
    It's main focus is javascript, but it walks through the development of a stock market app so it might be of interest. You could always take a look at the free sample chapters to see if it's something you might like to try.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •