SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Apache error loading PHP

    I too am getting an error launching apache 2.0.43 with the php 4.2.3 module (not the CGI). I have Win98SE

    My command is this:
    Apache.exe -w -f "C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\conf\httpd.conf" -d "C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\."

    The error is this:
    Syntax error on line 978 of C:/Program Files/Apache Group/Apache2/conf/httpd.conf:
    Cannot load F:/php/sapi/php4apache.dll into server: One of the library files
    needed to run this application cannot be found.

    Line 978 and on reads:
    LoadModule php4_module "f:/php/sapi/php4apache.dll"
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .phtml
    AddType application/x-httpd-php-source .phps

    I have php4ts.dll in both the system and system32 directories (just in case). I tried backslashes instead which lets apache load but php won't work.

    I tried copying everything to my c: drive and updating the LoadModule line to point to C instead of F. Same error.

    I even tried the command like this:
    Apache.exe -w -f "C:\Progra~1\Apache~1\Apache2\conf\httpd.conf" -d "C:\Progra~1\Apache~1\Apache2\."

    Same error.

    I tried the LoadModule line without quotes: Same error.

    Any idea what I can try next?

    Thanks

    John

  2. #2
    jigga jigga what? slider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Utah (USA)
    Posts
    309
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I believe there's a separate SAPI file for Apache2. php4apache2.dll
    $slider = 'n00b';

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    apache sapi

    Hi

    Having read your response, I just checked.

    There are now 2 php4apache.dll files on my pc:
    C:\php\sapi\php4apache.dll and F:\php\sapi\php4apache.dll

    There are no sapi directories under the apache directory.
    apache only has mod_isapi files.


    Any other ideas?

    John

  4. #4
    We like music. weirdbeardmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Channel Islands Girth: Footlong
    Posts
    5,882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Moved to a better forum
    I swear to drunk I'm not God.
    Matt's debating is not a crime
    Hint: Don't buy a stupid dwarf Clicky

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    I give up

    I don't know if it was an apache or a php problem with the dll's, but I want it to work, so I just uninstalled apache 2.0.43 and installed apache 1.3.27. Works now.

    Thanks for your help.

    John

  6. #6
    We like music. weirdbeardmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Channel Islands Girth: Footlong
    Posts
    5,882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: I give up

    Originally posted by jmrSudbury
    I don't know if it was an apache or a php problem with the dll's, but I want it to work, so I just uninstalled apache 2.0.43 and installed apache 1.3.27. Works now.

    Thanks for your help.

    John
    Often the best solution...
    I swear to drunk I'm not God.
    Matt's debating is not a crime
    Hint: Don't buy a stupid dwarf Clicky

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    88
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: apache sapi

    Originally posted by jmrSudbury
    Hi

    There are no sapi directories under the apache directory.
    apache only has mod_isapi files.

    John
    The sapi directory is under your php directory.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Had the same problem answer is here (at least for me, but I'll bet it will be for you). Get the right dll and it works ! A nasty trap that cost me a few days. Too stuborn to give up.
    http://www.sitepointforums.com/showt...threadid=75691
    Paul


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •