Hybrid View

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ASP Classic > ASP.net discussion

Hi All

Please don't think I'm a troll for this kind of msg.

Believe it or not, I was a day-to-day dev/lover of ASP classic some 5 or so
    years ago, but work took me away from the whole web/asp scene. Fate (and my
    job) has brought me back and it seems like I've been kept in stasis and the
    four horsemen of the ASP apocolypse have been in and ravaged the world of
    ASP classic.

ASP code seemed to be everywhere on google, but now everything has been
    taken over by .net or something else. Its like somebody has put ASP classic
    in a cupboard and we're not allowed to talk about it! The forums seem to have
    taken a battering as well.

I've been a good lad and had a look at ASP.net (honestly I've never even
    seen it until this week!) and all I can see is that they've forced us to use
    an IDE and dumbed classic down. I know the last statement might seem a bit
    strong, but all of this binding of controls, master pages, block login page
    modules, etc are all well and good for the new user so that they can
    virtually drag and drop a solution into a portion of their web site, but the
    reason most of us coded via notepad was so that we had ultimate control over
    how things looked and how they worked. Working a the code level enabled us
    to make our code text very lean (MS Word HTML what a joke!) and we could use
    numerous techonolgies (eg CSS, ASP, DOM, Javascript, ASP, COM, etc) in our
    pages without any constraints but our brains. MS don't know how I work so
    their 'in a box' modules will no doubt limit me rather than make thnigs
    easier. Am I on my own on this??

The master pages thing is a classic as it talks about making common 'chunks'
    for your pages, but the implementation (code wise) is way more confusing
    than the simple include file method that we all used and we could stick