SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 32

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    BRIGHTON,UK
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Red face cant see web yet 5-10mins

    I run two sites on my pc C:/windowsxp and Z:/ronuk.org they can both seen from the net but RONUK i find is taking 5-10mins appear ive just started a new web site web ronuk and heres the code

    index1.html
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
    "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

    <html>
    <head>
    <title>A new page</title>

    <link rel="stylesheet" href="style1.css" type="text/css">
    </head>

    <body>

    <!--This is a comment. Comments are not displayed in the browser-->
    <p></p>

    <div class="img">
    <a target="_blank" href="---.html"><img src="IMAGES/HEAD.jpg" alt="head" width="780" height="160" /></a>

    </body>
    </html>

    style1.css
    /*position of banner*/
    div.img
    {
    margin: 0px;
    border: 0px solid #0000ff;
    height: auto;
    width: auto;
    float: center;
    text-align: center;
    }

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard rguy84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    1,659
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you mean it takes ten minutes to load the page or updates don't show for a few?
    Ryan B | My Blog | Twitter

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    BRIGHTON,UK
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    it takes 10MINS to load the page ronuk not windowsxp its only since i put the header in but thats only 5kb

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast NuttySkunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you have a URL where we can view this?

    What is your internet connection speed and are other website loading slowly?

    Is this local or on a live server?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    BRIGHTON,UK
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes www.ronuk.org
    50mb
    if you take the header out it loads instanly

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    BRIGHTON,UK
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

  7. #7
    dooby dooby doo silver trophybronze trophy
    spikeZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    13,806
    Mentioned
    158 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Loads instantly for me.

    (UK, Sky Broadband. Win7)
    Mike Swiffin - Community Team Advisor
    Only a woman can read between the lines of a one word answer.....

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    BRIGHTON,UK
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    what with the banner (turquoise color)with 5 pictures as well?

  9. #9
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,343
    Mentioned
    179 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    None of those links load for me. This sounds more like a server management question than an html/css one.

  10. #10
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,567
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nothing is loading for me either.
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  11. #11
    Non-Member bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Keene, NH
    Posts
    3,760
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    "Server not found"... but I suspect I know why it's 1) not there and 2) slow... whois reveals:
    Name Server:NS3.NO-IP.COM
    Name Server:NS2.NO-IP.COM
    Name Server:NS1.NO-IP.COM
    Name Server:NS4.NO-IP.COM
    Name Server:NS5.NO-IP.COM

    I know no-ip well, it's generally used to host websites on dynamic IP addresses (slow) on home connections (slower).

  12. #12
    dooby dooby doo silver trophybronze trophy
    spikeZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    13,806
    Mentioned
    158 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    I must have been really lucky then
    Mike Swiffin - Community Team Advisor
    Only a woman can read between the lines of a one word answer.....

  13. #13
    Under Construction silver trophybronze trophy AussieJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    776
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by spikeZ View Post
    I must have been really lucky then
    I seem to be seeing those pages fine as well, load instantly. Page with the image loaded fine as well.
    var details = {
    . . web: "afterlight.com.au",
    . . photos: "jvdl.id.au",
    . . psa: "usethelatestversion.com"
    }

  14. #14
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    BRIGHTON,UK
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi so why cant i see it?

  15. #15
    Under Construction silver trophybronze trophy AussieJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    776
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Could be anything from DNS issues on your side, to routing problems, to problems with your server.

    I just tried to access it again from work and can't see the site from here.

    Like Paul suggested, this is more along the lines of a server management issue rather than a HTML/CSS - so asking this question in the Server Management forum might get you some better answers :-)
    var details = {
    . . web: "afterlight.com.au",
    . . photos: "jvdl.id.au",
    . . psa: "usethelatestversion.com"
    }

  16. #16
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    BRIGHTON,UK
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ive found out its the d-link dir 615 v1, is there a switch some were that i can progran on or something?

  17. #17
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    BRIGHTON,UK
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why does it work on this www.ronuk.org/index.html ?

  18. #18
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    BRIGHTON,UK
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    And why does my original pages load without the graphics

  19. #19
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    BRIGHTON,UK
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Cant see web yet 5-10mins even longer

    I run two sites on my pc C:/windowsxp and Z:/ronuk.org they can both seen from the net but RONUK i find is taking 5-10mins appear ive just started a new web site web ronuk and heres the code

    index1.html
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
    "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

    <html>
    <head>
    <title>A new page</title>

    <link rel="stylesheet" href="style1.css" type="text/css">
    </head>

    <body>

    <!--This is a comment. Comments are not displayed in the browser-->
    <p></p>

    <div class="img">
    <a target="_blank" href="---.html"><img src="IMAGES/HEAD.jpg" alt="head" width="780" height="160" /></a>

    </body>
    </html>

    style1.css
    /*position of banner*/
    div.img
    {
    margin: 0px;
    border: 0px solid #0000ff;
    height: auto;
    width: auto;
    float: center;
    text-align: center;
    }

    or this www.ronuk.org/index1.html


    This sounds more like a server management question than an html/css one. from paul
    Can anyone throw any light on this i still cant see anything from the net but i can from my desktop? yet u can see it all and its perectly all right

  20. #20
    SitePoint Zealot RyanKing1809's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    170
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    seems to be working for me.

  21. #21
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    BRIGHTON,UK
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes your on the right side of the web , but from my side is where i have the trouble seeing the web i go to upload some images and they for ever and i mean forever , that what my trouble is .Rem there being hosted on my pc.
    Ive just found out something ,if i shut the browser it then open it again its there instantly, does that help?

  22. #22
    Community Advisor silver trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,551
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Why not use standard web hosting instead of a home pc?

    Cheaper
    Faster
    More secure
    More reliable
    Technical support

  23. #23
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    BRIGHTON,UK
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Coz I want to now its going to work first.

  24. #24
    SitePoint Enthusiast ideamine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Queen of Arabian Sea
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you behind any firewall?

  25. #25
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    BRIGHTON,UK
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ive uninstall it rebooted ,no good.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •