SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard nofel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,766
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question border collapse help.

    Hi, i m working on my website. i want to remove the inner border so that every picture isn't surrounded by a 4 border. if i remove border of right side. the last picture right border also goes. i don't want it go. i tired border-collapse but still there is gap. what should i do?
    All those who wander aren't lost.

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,195
    Mentioned
    456 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    To me, it's not really clear where you do and don't want borders. Could you post an image of what you want?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard nofel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,766
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    see the left of previous one and right on next one? i just one it one. one border in common dividing the both pics
    All those who wander aren't lost.

  4. #4
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,195
    Mentioned
    456 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    OK, I see. But you've changed the design now. Do you still want the borders? It looks better like it is now.

  5. #5
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,621
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well I honestly don't see where in the live link ...so I'm sorry.

    But if you want the last image to have the border stay, I'd attach a class to taht and then specify in the CSS you want hte borders to remain.
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    Willing to do it cheap to build portfolio!

  6. #6
    Community Advisor silver trophybronze trophy
    dresden_phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,801
    Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    I'll assume that you still want a border between pictures, but you don't want a "double border". I also could not see your markup, so I will make the assumption that you are working with only IMG tags.. move my code to the appropriate tag and it should work for you.

    Lets say you had this mark up:
    Code:
    <div class="images"><img src="img.jpg"><img src="img.jpg"><img src="img.jpg"><img src="img.jpg"></div>
    You could use this CSS:
    Code:
    .images img{border:1px dashed #000;}
    .images img+img{border-left:none}
    This essentially "collapses" the adjacent borders into each other. Well not really, but that's what the effect looks like.

    Of course IE<7 is going to be a problem. If you need old IE support, you will have to do it this way:
    Code:
    <div class="images"><img src="img.jpg" class="first-img"><img src="img.jpg"><img src="img.jpg"><img src="img.jpg"></div>
    Code:
    .images img{border:1px dashed #000;border-left:none}
    .images .first-img{border:1px dashed #000;}
    Hope that helps

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard nofel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,766
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry for late reply. i wasn't around. i have a issue. if u see the top navigation and click on some page the navigation doesn't work (clickable) :/
    All those who wander aren't lost.

  8. #8
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,195
    Mentioned
    456 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by nofel View Post
    Sorry for late reply. i wasn't around. i have a issue. if u see the top navigation and click on some page the navigation doesn't work (clickable) :/
    This is a separate issue, so you are better off starting a new thread, or at least making some comment about the help offered above!

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard nofel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,766
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Pardon my bad manners. well i used the css3 drop shadow etc, but thanks for letting me know. doesn't matter for IE.but now i got some serious issue
    help pls?
    All those who wander aren't lost.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •