SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678
Results 176 to 184 of 184
  1. #176
    because you gotta have beer! firegryphon3207's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Roxbury/Boston
    Posts
    479
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a question about something mentioned in the article.
    Note: an eZ publish Windows installer exists -- it also installs Apache, PHP and MySQL. However, we'll do things little differently, so that we can re-use the install process on our live LAMP virtual server.
    How much of a diffrence would it make if I would be uploading it to a windows environment remotely? (ie a NT server)

    eZpublish was "recommended" to me on another forum and I never could figure it out until I read your article (a referal from a post here at sitepoint ) so I originally set it up using the windows installer. So far I haven't had any problems but I haven't gotten that far into it either. If it would cause problems later then it might behoove (sp?) me to go back and uninstall and then re-install it according to your directions, but if it isn't going to make much of a diffrence in working with it.......
    Alone we can do so little; together we can do so much.
    -----------------------------------------------------
    tinyplanet.org <--a nifty spot.

  2. #177
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello there,

    I don't know if anyone reads this anymore or if it is so out of date that I'm being really slow not to have caught up, but anyway, I've been trying to install ezpublish and I've got to the 'Magic Moment' stage and when I try to access index.php etc I get the following error message:

    -----------------

    Warning: Access denied for user: 'MySql_User@127.0.0.1' (Using password: YES) in c:\phpdev5\www\public\ezpublish_2_2_9\classes\ezmysqldb.php on line 53

    Warning: Access denied for user: 'MySql_User@127.0.0.1' (Using password: YES) in c:\phpdev5\www\public\ezpublish_2_2_9\classes\ezmysqldb.php on line 58

    Warning: Access denied for user: 'MySql_User@127.0.0.1' (Using password: YES) in c:\phpdev5\www\public\ezpublish_2_2_9\classes\ezmysqldb.php on line 58

    Warning: Access denied for user: 'MySql_User@127.0.0.1' (Using password: YES) in c:\phpdev5\www\public\ezpublish_2_2_9\classes\ezmysqldb.php on line 58

    Warning: Access denied for user: 'MySql_User@127.0.0.1' (Using password: YES) in c:\phpdev5\www\public\ezpublish_2_2_9\classes\ezmysqldb.php on line 58

    Couldn't connect to database
    Please try again later or inform the system administrator.

    ---------------------------

    What can I do to solve the problem? I am using php 4.2.1 and Apache 1.3.26 with ezpublish 2.2.9

    Hope you can help!!!! Thanks,

    kemi

  3. #178
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Bavaria
    Posts
    29
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    kemi,

    First off, I would try making sure that your database connection information is correct.

    Try building a test script (test.php or similar) in your web documents root that looks something like this:
    PHP Code:
    <?php
    $db 
    = @mysql_connect("localhost","YOURUSERNAME","YOURPASSWORD");
    mysql_select_db("DATABASENAME"$db);

    if(
    $db) {echo "connected";}
    else {echo 
    "no connection";}
    ?>
    Use the same info as you are using in your site.ini for eZPublish. Upload the test script, CHMOD to 777, and run it. This will at least confirm whether your connection information (path, db name, username, password) are correct. If not, you may need to contact your host for assistance.

    Hope this helps - please let us know how this works out.

    Bob

  4. #179
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello again,

    I'm not a very advanced user of all this stuff so I don't have a clue what you mean when you talk about 'CHMOD to 777'. So anyway, I created a test php file with the script you provided and when I ran it I got the following message:

    ----------------------

    Warning: mysql_select_db(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in c:\phpdev5\www\test2.php on line 3
    no connection

    -----------------------

    So something is still wrong I'm thinking.... can you help?

    kemi

  5. #180
    We like music. weirdbeardmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Channel Islands Girth: Footlong
    Posts
    5,882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    CHMOD changes the properties of the file - who can access it, execute it and so forth. In your FTP program you should have the ability to CHMOD the file. In my FTP program I just need to right click the file, select CHMOD, and then enter 777 (or full permissions).
    I swear to drunk I'm not God.
    Matt's debating is not a crime
    Hint: Don't buy a stupid dwarf Clicky

  6. #181
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the explanation. Ok, I'm 'connected' using riderhaus' instructions. What does this mean and what do I do next?

  7. #182
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Would you believeeee it - it's working.... 'touch wood'!!!!!

  8. #183
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Bavaria
    Posts
    29
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Kemi,

    Does this mean that you have been able to successfully apply the database properties to your eZP site.ini as well? If so, glad it worked out.

    weirdbeardmt -- thx for the assist.

    Bob

  9. #184
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Help again!!!

    Trying to login to index_admin.php and I'm getting error404, and url http://localhost/user/login/login/

    In my php.ini file Register Globals are set to on but when I run <?phpinfo();?> it tells me that Register Globals are off? How is this happening????


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •