SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Trouble setting up php on Windows ME running apache v 1.3x

    I am working with "Build Your Own Database Driven Website Using PHP & MySQL" and am joining what seems to be a long list of folks that have had trouble setting up a development server. Have downloaded Apache v 1.3x, MySQL, and PHP4. Tried initially to use Apache 2, but could not get it to work on my Windows ME puter. Uninstalled it and loaded the version 1.3 and got it to work fine.

    Loaded MySQL just fine, or at least I think so, Have a traffic light icon on my toolbar and am able to un-hide it.

    Am having a devil of a time getting the php portion to work. I have found many many many how-to versions on the web, but have not been successful with any of them. My problem is in understanding what files need to be where so that Apache knows where all the bits and pices of the php module is. Everytime I change the LoadModule to what I think is correct, I get an error.

    I am very confused at this point as I have been trying to get this setup for the past 2 days. I would really appreciate it if someone out their in the land of knowledge and experience could point me in the right direction. I can uninstall and begin again, as I am sure at this point between all the how-to tutorials I have a wacked out mess.

    I tried initially to set it up Kevin Yank's way in the book, when that failed I began my quest - but am still spinning my wheels. I want very much to get this set up and start learning PHP.

    Thanks for reading. I love Sitepoint!

  2. #2
    if($awake){code();} PHP John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Along the Wasatch Fault line.
    Posts
    1,771
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In what directories do you have everything installed?
    John

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reply to John

    This is where everything is living:

    Apache: C:Program Files\Apache Group\Apache
    (contains content of Apache 1.3x and copies of php4apache.dll and php4ts.dll)

    PHP4: C:PHP\php-4.2.3-Win32\
    (contains content of unzipped PHP4)

    MySQL: C:mysql\ (contains content of unzipped mysql)


    C:WINDOWS\SYSTEM\
    (contains copies of php4apache.dll and php4ts.dll)

    C:WINDOWS\ (contains php.ini)

    Thank you for your response!

    Beverly (Seattle)

  4. #4
    We like music. weirdbeardmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Channel Islands Girth: Footlong
    Posts
    5,882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What exactly is the problem?
    I swear to drunk I'm not God.
    Matt's debating is not a crime
    Hint: Don't buy a stupid dwarf Clicky

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Easy WAMP Install

    I found Apache 2 easy to install on ME - here are some notes that may help.

    Installing Apache
    1. Unzip to C:\ and accept the defaults when running win32.exe.
    Important! If you had a previous version of Apache installed then upon a new installation the config files are NOT overwritten. In other words, even after you uninstall Apache, the config file remains. Copy the httpd.default as httpd.conf. (Located in Program Files\Apache...\conf folder) This will be the one to edit later.
    (this is somewhere in the manual - don't remember where).
    2. Edit the httpd.conf file - Server Name localhost ( or if you have set up a DNS name, you can use your puter name)

    Installing PHP
    1. Unzip to folder C:\php4win
    2. Create & name a folder for your phpfiles as C:\whatever name you want
    3.Edit C:\php4win\php.ini: doc_root = "C:\whatever"
    extension_dir = "C:\php4win"
    4. Move php.ini to C:\windows directory;
    Also move php4ts.dll to windows directory.
    5. Go back to the httpd.conf file and edit it to recognize the php folder you created:
    DocumentRoot "C:/whatever"
    <Directory "C:/whatever">
    6. Find the section that starts with:
    AddType application/x-tar .tgz
    and add the following:

    scriptAlias/php4/ "c:/php4win/"
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php3
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php4
    Action application/x-httpd-php "/php4/php.exe"

    & save the changes.

    Install MySQL - just unzip & accept the defaults.

    Good Luck!

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you for your response. I appreciate your help - but I can not seem to get the test php script to work. I don't usually give up on things like this, but I am stumped and have spent way too much time on this. It should not be this difficult - so it must be me.

    I now have two problems:

    1.)Apache says that access is forbidden.

    2.)The test script of todays date in Kevin's book, page 22,
    does not return the date and when I view the source it shows the php script.

    So on it goes. Maybe I should take a class instead.


  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    links to classes

    Sometimes it's the little details that get you - here's a few links that may help.

    As for Apache - search your drive of any old remnets of an Apache installation and remove them. Make a new http.conf file by copying the .default and edit that one. I know you already uncommented the ServerName localhost line? (remove #)
    See Using Apache with Microsoft Windows.
    http://httpd.apache.org/docs-2.0/platform/windows.html

    If you save your php files (with .php extension, as all file types) in your doc_root folder it should work with Apache. Check to see that you moved (not copied) php.ini & php4ts.dll to your windows system folder. Leaving a copy behind can cause problems.
    For more info look here:
    http://www.net-language.com/workshop...sp?workshop=21

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ursar-

    Thank you for the links and support. Starting a-new I used the net-language tutorial and got the apache and php apps to work! Yea! I think that part of my problem may have been that I was "copying" rather than "moving" the php.ini over to C:/Windows.

    I tried the test for the mysql database and ran into some problems. I will post on the mySql forum for some help there.

    Thank you again, you saved my brain and Kevin's book from being fried.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •