SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

float or decimal ??

I'm new to databases so would someone mind please explaining in simple (thats simple) terms the difference between Float and Decimal.

FLOAT: Floating point numbers (single precision)
    DECIMAL:Floating point numbers represented as strings.

Thanks.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Decimal is better to use for money columns (for example)
    Let's say you have a table "numbers" with columns
    f, float(10,2) and d, decimal(10,2)
    and then...
    insert into numbers set d=123456789*0.02, f=123456789*0.02
    What are the values of f and d?
    f = 2469135.75 (incorrect), d = 2469135.78 (correct)

The decimal column takes up more space (one byte for each position), but it's char/int behaviour gives you the correct value
    The float column takes up less space (four bytes), but doesn't give you the correct value, since the value 0.02 used in the calculation isn't the real number 0.02 (dec), it's the binary approximation of 0.02 (dec) - something like 0.00110011... (bin), i.e. 1/8 + 1/16 + 1/128 + 1/256 ...

That's my 246913578 cents worth

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thankyou,nice and clear.
    Can you set decimal columns as null,if so do you have to state that its null or is it:

cash decimal(10,2),

AND......can you go to say 4,6,8 after the point,like so:

cash decimal (10,6),

Thanks

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    From the MySql docs:
    "DECIMAL[(M[,D])] [UNSIGNED] [ZEROFILL]
    ...the actual range for a given DECIMAL column may be constrained by the choice of M and D"

e.g. you can't change a decimal(10,2) column to decimal(10,6), you must change it to a decimal(14,6), otherwise a value like 123456,12 will be changed to 99999,999999

Yes, a decimal column can be null (setting default to 0 is a good idea)