SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard DoubleDee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,928
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Prevent URL from showing up as Hyperlink?!

    What tag do I use at SitePoint so that when I have a URL in my thread - for demonstration purposes only - that it doesn't get turned into a hyperlink?

    Thanks,


    Debbie

  2. #2
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,374
    Mentioned
    268 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    You need to "Go advanced" and then in the "additional options" list below the text box, uncheck "Automatically parse links in text".

  3. #3
    Mouse catcher silver trophy Stevie D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,892
    Mentioned
    123 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Other options without going into 'Advanced' are to
    (1) not include http or www
    (2) wrap it in [noparse]...[/noparse] tags
    (3) change the colour of some part of it (change it to black and no-one will notice!)

    Any one of those will do the trick.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard DoubleDee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,928
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevie D View Post
    Other options without going into 'Advanced' are to
    (1) not include http or www
    (2) wrap it in [noparse]...[/noparse] tags
    (3) change the colour of some part of it (change it to black and no-one will notice!)

    Any one of those will do the trick.
    It would be NICE if you guys had a button in the toolbar that did that!!! *hint* (Maybe I only need to do that on 1 of 5 links in a post? So using the checkbox thingy that Technobear mentioned would be helpful.)


    Also, it would be nice if SitePoint would advertize this more, so that people don't fill SitePoint up with un-needed links when they don't mean to...

    Thanks,


    Debbie

  5. #5
    Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    16,862
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I usually just insert bold tags into the middle of the link as that just means positioning the cursor insode the text and hitting the B button and doesn't require going into advanced mode. In between ht and tp and between w and ww works best.
    Stephen J Chapman

    javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard DoubleDee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,928
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by felgall View Post
    I usually just insert bold tags into the middle of the link as that just means positioning the cursor insode the text and hitting the B button and doesn't require going into advanced mode. In between ht and tp and between w and ww works best.
    Cool tip.

    www.MySite.com

    Yep! It works!


    Debbie


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •