SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    2 Menu Lists on 1 Page > Issues

    I am working on a website and having issues with the menu. I am using 2 menu lists on the same page and the second menu is using the first menu css. How would I go about making the second menu use it's own css?


    Website:
    fragranceloft.net/design/demo/index2.html


    CSS:
    fragranceloft.net/design/demo/menu.css


    If you scroll all the way to the bottom and start scrolling up to the big gap that is the css for the second menu.


    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,085
    Mentioned
    255 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Sorry - I don't understand what you mean by "I am using two menu lists". I can see only one menu bar, at the top of the page. It consists of several different styles of dropdown menu. Which two lists are you referring to?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you got to mens cologne dropdown, there is a vertical tabs menu. The tabs are using the css for the first menu. The tabs need to use the tabs menu css.

  4. #4
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,085
    Mentioned
    255 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Firebug is showing that the second menu is using a mixture of rules from #menu and #vtab. Which of the vtab rules are not working?

    Given that the validator is showing 310 xhtml errors for this menu bar, I can't say I'm entirely surprised things are not working as you expect.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    "Given that the validator is showing 310 xhtml errors for this menu bar, I can't say I'm entirely surprised things are not working as you expect. "

    Since this is one of my businesses, I don't care about errors, as long as it works across most browsers. There really is not point in making it error free. Sure it helps with SEO however this is Javascript which search engines have a hard time with anyways.

    I think I found the issue, will reply back if not .

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, so I have most of it figured out however this last part im not seeing in Firebug.

    http://fragranceloft.net/design/demo/index2.html

    Hover over "Mens Cologne"

    See the text ex: S to U, the font is purple. I need those fonts to be white while the rest remains as it is.

    Thanks!

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just added other menu links and have another issue.

    The dropdown does not show the selected brand category except for 1 dropdown.

  8. #8
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,085
    Mentioned
    255 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by zactive View Post
    Ok, so I have most of it figured out however this last part im not seeing in Firebug.

    http://fragranceloft.net/design/demo/index2.html

    Hover over "Mens Cologne"

    See the text ex: S to U, the font is purple. I need those fonts to be white while the rest remains as it is.

    Thanks!
    Sorry - your menu is no longer working at all. The only link I can see is for women's perfume.

  9. #9
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,085
    Mentioned
    255 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Did you find a fix, as the menu seems to be working now? All the drop-downs seem to be OK, and they're all showing black text on a grey background.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Pretty much, Thanks!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •