SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi. Please review my gaming site. I'm new to making webpages and I'd like to hear what you think about it(and be as critical as possible-I know its not the best design ever and if you could give me a few pointers that would be great).
    http://members.xoom.com/eboygaming/main.htm

Thanx in advance

[This message has been edited by wluke (edited August 07, 2000).]

Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ~~~ This Site is Approved ~~~

Slow Loading especially for the low graphic content on the main page. The background graphic is distracting and the words are totally unnecessary. If you really want people to feel welcome put it where they can read it.

Your excluding about 85% of your potential market by designing for 1024 X 768 resolution.

Get an Access Denied Error on the Utilities link.

------------------
    Wayne Luke - Sitepoint Forums Administrator
    Digital Magician Magazine - MetaQuark Creations (Coming Soon)
    sitepoint@digitalmagician.com

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

This critique is only for the first page...

Firstly I would try and get off a free host that has banners or pop-ups, also because XOOM puts your site into a frame it can cause problems with some browsers and can hinder listings on search engines. Try http://www.ukonline.co.uk/ , I don't think you need to be in the UK to use them.

You must change the layout so that it can be seen in 800x600 without having to scroll horizontally. There is plenty of empty space so it shouldn't be a problem.

I'm not keen on the background image. I would bin it and instead use the loadtime that it was taking up to have a decent title logo.

The side navigation bar: