SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Use of <div> tag in NS 4.xx results in extra padding. Workaround?

    Is there anyway to remove the padding or the extra line spaces that result around the <div> tag in Netscape 4.xx??

    I tried setting the margin and padding to 0px, but that doesn't seem to work.

    Thanks for your help!
    Keomed.com Webmaster
    www.keomed.com

  2. #2
    morphine for a wooden leg randem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    .chicago.il.us
    Posts
    957
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Honestly, I say give up on it.

    NS4 is beyond obsolete. NS6 has been out for a couple years, and NS7 is out officially now. How long are you going to try to support v4, which was horribly inept in handling CSS?

    You're not still testing IE4, are you?
    ----Adopt-a-Sig----
    Your message here!

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, I do know that it's quite obsolete. Nevertheless, I run a e-commerce site and we still do have some NS4 users.

    Any suggestions regarding my question?
    Thanks
    Keomed.com Webmaster
    www.keomed.com

  4. #4
    Super Ninja Monkey Travis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Sioux City, Iowa
    Posts
    691
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    sounds like you are using <div> in the wrong place if you are complaining about line breaks and such. the code is display: inline; btw.
    Travis Watkins - Hyperactive Coder
    My Blog: Realist Anew
    Projects: Alacarte - Gnome Menu Editor

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Trav, could you please explain it in more detail?
    What do you mean by "display, inline"?
    Thanks!
    Keomed.com Webmaster
    www.keomed.com

  6. #6
    Super Ninja Monkey Travis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Sioux City, Iowa
    Posts
    691
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Code:
    div#main {
        display: inline;
        }

    That will make <div id="main"> an inline element and it won't have any padding or line breaks.
    Travis Watkins - Hyperactive Coder
    My Blog: Realist Anew
    Projects: Alacarte - Gnome Menu Editor


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •