SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Database Driven Website - Upgrading AMP

    I want to upgrade my AMP stack.
    How do I get rid of what I have now without leaving anything behind?

    Thanks,


    db

  2. #2
    Founder of Primal Skill Ltd. feketegy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    482
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is a far too broad question to ask.
    If you want a decent answer then be more specific.

    1. What kind of architecture are you using besides (AMP) which I think is Apache-MySQL-PHP ?
    2. Are you using Linux as the server or something else?
    3. Why do you want to upgrade? (performance, security, etc.)

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have Apache-MySQL-PHP ( AMP) installed on my
    windows xp machine. I use it as a dev system and
    to learn various things.

    The versions I've got right now are:
    Apache v 2.2; PHP v 5.3; MySql v 5.1

    I just want to upgrade to the latest versions.
    Not sure if it's worth while or not but it will be nice
    to know how to go about doing it!

    db

  4. #4
    Founder of Primal Skill Ltd. feketegy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    482
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It seems pretty up to date. PHP 5.3.8 is the latest stable release. Apache 2.2 and MySQL 5.1 are fine too.

    For development purposes try using XAMPP

    Or better yet, create a virtual machine (using Virtualbox for example) with a Linux installation and install everything there, this way it won't affect your computer and you can replicate / replace / create different versions of the virtual image anytime.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Great thanks for the info. I thinink I will leave it as is then and look into
    XAMP and Virtualbox. Also looking into getting dedicated dev computer

    Thanks a lot,

    db

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Another question...
    Can I install XAMP with the AMP install I have now
    or do I have to remove one?

    Thanks,

    db

  7. #7
    #titanic {float:none} silver trophy
    molona's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    from Madrid to Heaven
    Posts
    8,216
    Mentioned
    236 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dbluez View Post
    Another question...
    Can I install XAMP with the AMP install I have now
    or do I have to remove one?

    Thanks,

    db
    You will have a conflict there because XAMP will install Apache, MySQL and PHP in its own path and will not respect what's being installed already. It is likely that since you already have a versiion of Apache running, it will use port 8080 instead of 80 which will likely be occupied by the first installation.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks molona. I will keep the installation
    I've got.

    Regards

    db


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •