SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    HowTo: Display extra info on click

    Hi there,

    Is it possible to preload some text on a web page and it's only displayed by clicking a button or a link?

    Below are the same results that I'm looking for.

    http://ntdev.bctel.ca/query.html
    http://ntdev.bctel.ca/query_detail.html

    My web server is Apache and I'm using CGI.PM.

    If anyone has any ideas please let me know. Thanks!
    BTW, I'm not sure if this could be done with Java Script but in any case, I can't use JS. Cus my client said this causes compability issues with some of their customers!

    Thanks in advance.

    Ken

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard Rick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    3,847
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The example you have given is just a link to another page

    When u click details it loads the 2nd page and clicking done returns you to the first page

    The reason it loads so quick is the pages are so simple and small.

    I know you say u can't use Javascript but is this along the lines of what you want:

    Code:
    <a href="#" onClick="javascript:alert('Infomation here');">Details</a>
    This is a simple trick and works with alot browsers (I think)

    Sorry if I missed to point of your post completly, if I did ignore me!!

    Rick
    Rick

  3. #3
    Alt+F4= User Control ;-) rabmurdy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Ecosse
    Posts
    398
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    All that is done there is two seperate pages with anchors to the text, nothing special in that.

    Are you trying to Click on something and change the text in a table on the same page?

    Rab
    "If something is too hard,give it up. The moral my boy is too never try anything"
    "Just because I don't care doesn't mean I don't understand"

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard Rick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    3,847
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by rabmurdy
    Are you trying to Click on something and change the text in a table on the same page?
    Surely you would have to use DHTML / Javascript or something do that, and he pointed out that he can't use that.

    Rick
    Rick

  5. #5
    Alt+F4= User Control ;-) rabmurdy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Ecosse
    Posts
    398
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No but you could do it with an iframe or layers.

    Rab
    "If something is too hard,give it up. The moral my boy is too never try anything"
    "Just because I don't care doesn't mean I don't understand"

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard Rick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    3,847
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh ok, I just assumed that if he is dealing with browsers that can't render even simple javascript, they wouldn't be able to render more recent features like a layer, div, iFrame etc...

    Rick
    Rick

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry if I haven't made it clear. I didn't mean to separate the information in 2 pages. Rather, it's the result that I'm trying to illustrate.

    I guess what I'm trying to do looks similar to a directory listing on a web page. E.g. when you click the + sign and it expands with the directories below it. So in my case, I want the user to click on the "detail" in order to see the detail info of that particular entry.

    Now you guys mentioned, DHTML, DIV, etc.. Are all these client side scripting? If so, how compatible is it with most browsers? E.g. Linux, MAC, PC.

    Can you guys give me some examples of how to do this? Like a web site or an good reference link!

    I really hope that I can do this so that I don't need to create 2 pages for this and perform extra queries to the DB.

    Thx!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •